Look 586 Frames

DESCRIPTION

• Carbon Type - VHM (Very High Modulus)
• Fork - HSC6, Meets the new standard EN14781 safety requirements
• Lugs - None - Single Piece Construction
• Bottom Bracket - BSA 68mm width
• Ft Derailleur - Braze On
• Seatpost - Integrated E-Post
• Headset - Integrated 1-1/8" upper and 1-1/4" lower Sealed bearings
• Dropouts - Compressed carbon, replaceable aluminium derailleur hanger
• Weight - 940g (Small with uncut seat tube)
• Weight of fork 340g

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-9 of 9  
[Jun 02, 2011]
bmxhacksaw
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Sexy, light, fast, comfortable.

Weakness:

The motor sucks

I found a 585 R-Light Limited Edition new in the box on eBay. It came equipped with SRAM Red and Zipp 303 carbon tubular wheels. After receiving the bike and opening box I was surprised to find that it came with Look Keo Carbon Ti pedals and that there wasn't a skimpy part on the bike. The E-post is the top of the line model with titanium hardware. The shifter cables are Gore Ride on, the seat is a 125g Selle Italia SLR Carbino. The completed bike (size M) weighs in at 14.04 lbs./6.3kg with pedals and water bottle cages. The front end is very stiff and it feels like all of your power is getting transmitted to the rear wheel. My only beef with the bike is that the Red cassette is noisy and the LOOK bar tape is plasticy.

[Mar 26, 2011]
mrtim
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Comfortable, clean lines and trusted manufacture history.

Very solid front end makes it controlled when descending on rougher chip&seal roads.

Headfit headset is a nice feature, has been reliable on the 595 I have used for around 20k kms

Weakness:

Soft in the bb area (175lb/6ft). Some cable noise within the top tube for the rear brake. The ISP is a good feature but it limits resale.
Frame geos are similiar to the 595 but less sloping on the top tube which makes for a more traditional look. Odd appearance when your used to seeing a 595.

Tried the 586 having come from 595. Other rides include steel colnago, alu colnago & alu/carbon deda trainer.

Generally the 586 is solid up front but soft under acceleration in back. The frame construction has limitations on out and out stiffness which become apparent when climbing out of the saddle or putting in big efforts on the flat or in sprints.

Seems to be a long ride / recreational type of frame rather than something you'd take racing where you didn't want to be loosing energy with the bb moving all over the place. Doesn't fit into the line up of the Look frames very well IMO as that is what the 585 is marketed as doing..

I read a write up of the 586 before buying which said the front end was mis-matched to the rear - solid front end but dithering in the rear. Coming from a 595, I would have to agree - the back end is just too soft when read into the stiffness offered by the headtube & fork. I guess if your >70kg you might not notice the lack of stiffness in the bb.

Similar Products Used:

595 Origin.

[Apr 26, 2010]
xyz58
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

power transfer, cornering, climbing, comfort on long rides over rough road

Weakness:

None for me so far. Will report back if I experience any disappointments.

58 yrs old, 5'11, 157 lbs. Do a few road races, a lot of club rides and a few organized metric & full centuries. Have been on a Litespeed Tuscany (Dura Ace conventional, Ksyzium SL) for 4 1/2 years and about 25k miles. The Litespeed is a great bike but I had the itch to try a different ride. Considered several brands but kept commng back to Look, probably because we have a great local dealer. Considered the Look 595, opted for the 586 based on recommendation of LBS (ex pro) and recommndation of a friend & very strong climber who recently switched to the 586. The 586 saw 238 miles in 4 rides with about 10k of climbing in it's 1st 8 days. Rides were our normal routes & conditions - rough chip seal, a short fast flat route, a 60 mi fast flat ride with a lot 90 degree turns, the "wall" with 1.5 mi of steep 12% plus grade, long 4% -8% climbs, tricky conering descents, and a 98 mile Century with lots of rollers & some rough road. My comments are relative to the Litespeed & certainly very subjective since I have no experience with carbon frames other than short test rides: The Look 586 is very comfortable & smooth, great road feel. Plenty stiff for me with good horizontal compliance on rough roads. Solid road feel without excessive vibration, not "twitchie" but solid, positive control. The 586 power transfer is very responsive on climbs and the rare out of saddle sprints this old body can do. For me, this bike is perfect for getting out of he saddle and hammering over the top of rollers and powering through long climbs. The cornering is unbelievable, the 586 tracks so easily and feels really safe on corners that used to have me on the brakes and fighing to hold a line - no more getting dropped on fast cornerig descents. Only reservation about this bike build is the compact, I'll give it a couple months and perhaps switch back to a convenional. I've heard SRAM has a 53 x 36 and will research as an option. Hed wheels may be adding to the cornering & smooth road feel, I'll eventualy put on the Ksyzuim's for a comparison. The Look (black & white) is a nice clean bike with exceptional "fit & finish" but my wife's Orbea Dive still got all the comments on the Century ride. Appeaance is a plus but I wanted road feel, cornering & the feel of speed & responsive power transfer -the Look 586 exceeds my expectations in these areas.

Similar Products Used:

A few test rides but no significant mileage on other carbon frames, 25k on Ti, many miles on Al.

[Apr 06, 2010]
gernika
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

smooth, responsive, stable, light, looks great

Weakness:

on rough road, the internally routed brake cable rattles (minor compared to strengths)

After spending many-an-hour reading reviews on Look bicycles, I finally pulled the trigger on the 586. Couldn't be happier! My primary criteria for a new bike was:

1. stable on descents
2. comfortable on long rides
3. good climber

This bike fits the bill on all three. For those who are cautious on steep descents, the 586 will help your confidence. Every mile of a long ride is pleasurable and there's a bit of sadness at the end because the ride is over. Being light and stiff, it's a great climbing machine. Performance aside, it does have a high wow factor in the looks department; I've gotten several compliments on the road.

Two thumbs up!!!

Similar Products Used:

specialized roubaix

[Jan 04, 2010]
tk2
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Stiff, Fast, Light, Beautiful....
The integrated seat mast system is unique. It gives you the benefit of integration with some flexibility to raise and lower the saddle with spacers.

Weakness:

There are lighter frames out there and probably stiffer ones. If you are a true crit specialist you may want a bone shattering stiff frame, but if you are looking for a frame that will perform across multiple disciplines and perform well, this is the one.

I bought the 2009 look team frame just over a year ago. I built it up with mostly new components 7900 Dura ace drive train and Zipp Cranks. However, I did use some of my existing components such as the zipp 303 wheels. During the last year I have put this machine through a little bit of everything (some of it not by choice). It has seen Rain, Snow, Dirt and Wind and it has also been used on all types of terrain...hills, mountains, flats, rollers and crits. The bottom line is that I absolutely love this frame. My strengths are more in the mountains and I enjoy longer road races. This frame fits the bill perfectly for me. It is stiff and light yet just forgiving enough for a 5-6 hour (or longer) race.

The bottom bracket area is a bit deceiving when you first look at it. Compared to the trend of other frames the bottom bracket area seems small. Many other frame manufacturers tout the beefiness of their bottom bracket areas and corresponding stiffness. While the bottom bracket area on the Look seems small it feels very stiff and responsive. Part of that feel may be due to the Zipp Cranks as they are also very stiff and responsive, but that is another story.

The frame is beautifully constructed. One thing that drew me to this frame was that it is one piece (non-lugged). I know some love lugged frames and Look makes some good ones, but lugged carbon frames just seem like the manufacturer didn't know how to use carbon effectively so they lugged it like they would do with other materials. From a distance the tubing looks fairly simple, but up close you can see that every tube is highly manipulated. This results in elegant, yet simple styling.

Similar Products Used:

Treks, Orbeas, Giants, Cannondales

[Dec 13, 2008]
Jim
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Solidity when sprinting and climbing. Comfortable (this is a BIG deal to this old man with spinal problems). Light weight (weighs less than my Litespeed Ghisallo did fully built with the same components and wheels.

Weakness:

Cut seat mast makes the resale more difficult for sure, but when I can't ride anymore I'll hang it on the wall.

I'm 69 years old and have ridden for 60 years...raced in the 50's until '87. Owned numerous top bikes, including Litespeed Ghisallo and Ultimate, Colnago Super, Schwinn Paramount, Kestrel 4000, Mercian, Raleigh Pro are a few.
I like the 586 best of any bike I've owned. It's smooth, comfortable, stable and with the wild paint job (Mondrian model) the prettiest bike also.

[Oct 10, 2008]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Beautiful proportions, all the parts seem in balance, no really oversized tubes and none too slim. Integrated post solution is well thought out. Close inspection reveals a host of subtle tube shapes, which might be missed from a distance.

Weakness:

The only aspect which might have been executed better is the cable guides on the head tube which are functional but plain (and also very small, so don't really detract from the visual appearance).

looks good from a few yards, looks great close up!

[Feb 24, 2008]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

Well, I've owned and ridden A LOT of nice bikes (being in the "industry" myself...so opp's came along). My last bike was the 2007 Orbea Orca which was a lot noiser (vibrations/sounds) on the road then even the 2006 Orca, but there was an immediate dampening and ride quality improvement when I got on the Look 586 (again, same parts were swapped over from Orca to the Look). I could tell the longer rides would be a joy on this steed. The acceleration was noticably improved on the Look over the Orbea, but that may have had something to do with the larger frame choice on the Look (with the bars being a little higher...better leverage perhaps). The bike with parts still created around a 15.5 lbs bike...very close to the Orca weight. Oh...and I think the Look "looks" faster and anything that makes me look faster...well, I'm all for that. The straighter chain stays also create a more ideal platform for the Polar CS600 power output system...easy install compared to the Orca. The 586 is supposed to equate to a softer bottom bracket area ("flexier"). Not noticable at all.

Weakness:

Aside from me, right? I'm not a big fan of a continuous cable housing being routed through the frame...that's a lot of extra material/weight (well, "a lot" might be a severe term, but you know what I mean). Of course the resale is where the true weakness may come. It is pretty much cut to a person with a VERY similar inseam to mine...the person has to be my height or shorter...it'll be a tough sale when that time comes along.

This is the first time I've written a review for a bike, usually not having enough of an impression either way to feel my review could possibly be beneficial to anyone. This review is also more of a comparison to bicycles I've owned vs. the Look 586, but I'll try to keep it simple and honest. I purchased the frameset (Medium...red/carbon) and just swapped over the parts from my 2007 Orbea Orca. No problems were encountered and all parts were in great shape, but I took A LOT of time measuring my Orca and re-measuring the seat tube of the 586 before that hacksaw went to town on my frame...scary feeling...a little sickening...but had to be done. Like many people, I could have went for the small frame or the medium...my Orca was a smaller choice and I really wanted to be stretched out a little more. Good choice I feel.

Similar Products Used:

Orbea Orca 2006 (Look is just as smooth and a little lighter).
Orbea Orca 2007 (Looks is way smoother, a little heavier...barely)
Trek Madone (Look blows it away on road quality of ride...so does the Orbeas)

[Feb 05, 2008]
nrspeed
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

The next few rides were mostly long climbs with varying steep sections. These rides confirmed what I originally thought, that the 586 is made to climb. Short steep climbs and long slow grinders- both come naturally for the 586. I would put money down today on the next 5 Tours if Alberto Contador rode the 586. His explosive out of the saddle climbing and efficient seated climbing is what this bike is made for. Simply put, the 586 is exceptionally nimble and just wants to go upwards as fast as possible.

Instead of marketing a comfortable race bike (like my prior S Works Roubaix), a super stiff bike (Cervelo or Extreme Power), Look should simply market this frame as a climber’s dream. I cannot say whether the 586 is x% stiffer, x% more complaint or x% comfortable than the other bikes I have ridden, but I can easily say it climbs the best- both seated and standing.

When deciding on a new frame (assuming it fits), application often competes with the type of rider you are, ie. What are you going to use the bike for? vs. I excel at sprinting?

For me, herein lies the quandary. My body type and strengths prefer the solidity that the lugged 595 has to offer. When pounding up a riser or jumping to catch the last wheel in an echelon after taking too long of a pull, the 595 would be my weapon of choice. Yet, my spirit and mind love the brutal rhythm of climbing long ponderosa lined climbs at maximum sustained intensity. After a few rides, I am convinced that there is no better frame than the 586 for that application. For me, the decision is pretty easy since the overwhelming majority of my rides are Colorado climbs. I regularly feast on long slugfests with varying gradients, despite my more portly build. My best rides include steep climbs, fast descents and all out sprints for the city limits sign. Thus, the 586 has earned a heralded place in my stable for the indefinite future.

Weakness:

The 586 Does not have the same solidity as the 595 origin exhibits when hammering in the drops. The 595 origin feels like the best steel frames but with a lot less weight.

I finally have had enough time in the saddle of the 586 to give a proper ride report. Having owned a 595 origin and still ride a 585 ultra, I can make a few comparisons between these models.

The frame is very beautiful to look at, although I really prefer the overall aesthetics of the all white team 595 over the all black carbon. Every tube on the 586 is highly shaped but very subtly so. The build up was not tricky at all and well within my intermediate wrenching skills. The headset was pre-installed and pre-adjusted a little tight. Cutting the seatpost was not a bid deal except I did have to sand it down so it was flush on all sides. The metal used for the saw guide was very soft and I cut into the guide on one side. A 32 tooth hacksaw blade did the job well. There were ample spacers for seat height adjustment and I found a huge variance in thickness of an SLR gel flow saddle and a standard SLR saddle. Once set up, I found the overall bike to look very clean for an integrated seatpost model. I also liked that the 586 lacks some of the more radical and gimmicky curves found in other manufacturer’s line ups.
My first real ride on the 586 was 50 miles on the flats. It was a bitter cold and windy day. After the initial excitement wore off and the fatigue started to set in, I realized I was a little uninspired by the difference in the other Look models. Sure I was comfortable over the loose stuff (more so than the 595 and 585 ultra) and I enjoyed the newness of the ride. Being a prior 595 owner, I am accustomed to the awesome efficient connectedness I feel when riding a Look ISP. (Tthe 585 Ultra feels best with the Look Ergopost, but not as “connected” to the drivetrain as the 595.) But, I couldn’t help but think the 586 was just a lighter, less solid 595….that was until I spontaneously decided to take a different way home.

A quick turn up Left Hand Canyon was the prelude for the sting in the tail- a short steep climb up Olde Stage road. From the first time I stood up to accelerate on the steep slope, I could tell I was aboard a nimble beast. The front end was so solid, yet light, it reminded me of the 595 on the South Beach diet. The frame just wanted me to aggressively climb. Unfortunately, my body couldn’t comply so I stayed seated most of the time. The rear end stayed clamped to the ground, even through sand and debris, such that I wondered if the 586 had longer chainstays than the 585/595 (It doesn’t. 40.5cm for all three). Seated, the bike stayed super efficient, much like the 595. Over the top of the climb, I wished I hadn’t spent so much time on the flats so I would have had more in reserve to push the frame over the climb.

On the few corners of the descent, the 586 handled much like the other Look’s I have, which share the same 73 degree steering angle. On the way back down, I can typically spin out a 50x11 but usually just coast since there are some really rough spots in the road. On this ride however, I purposefully sought out those pot holes. The bumps were not as comfortable as I anticipated on the 586, which may have been due to the numbness in my hands from the cold, not the elasticity of the frame. Subsequent rides over the same bumps also confirmed that the front end of the bike doesn’t give much to smooth out the ride – it’s the rear that is more compliant in this department. On the flip side, the less complaint front end does inspire confidence in the corners and out of the saddle sprints. When I arrived at home, I was completely satisfied that this was one mean climbing machine. I promised myself to lose some weight by summertime and put in a real climbing test next time out.

Similar Products Used:

Look 595, Look 585 Ultra, Specialized Roubaix SW, Trek Madone 110, Cervelo P2C, Time VX, Trek 5900 etc.

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.