Felt SR91 Hybrid Bike

DESCRIPTION

Frame Material: Felt Speedbike design, 7005 alloy
Frame Angles: Unspecified
Sizes: 47cm, 50cm, 53cm, 56cm, 59cm, 62cm
Colors: Silver
Fork: Felt
Rear Shock: Not applicable
Brake Levers: Shimano
Handlebar: alloy 6061
Stem: aluminum 2 bolt
Headset: Aheadset
Front Der: Shimano
Crankset: FSA RPM Alloy, 30/42/52 teeth
Rear Der: Shimano Tiagra
Pedals: Alloy w/rubber tread
Tires: 700 or 650 x 25c Felt w/Kevlar belt

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-6 of 6  
[Sep 29, 2014]
mikey2wheels
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Appearance average/neutral, but not unpleasing. Labels are not excessive. Ride comfy - comes with an adjustable tension 27.5 suspension seat and a gel seat, leather wrapped. Road bike geometry with hybrid concepts. Very upgradeable bike. Frame is strong and has the capability to be loaded down for touring. Basic break design, average performance. combined shifter and break set. average weight for any road bike, at about 24.5 lbs. Race bikes from 1992 were about 20 lbs. This bike could easily be converted to a fast lightweight commuter. Bar extensions and Aerobars would be a nice way to get additional ride positions. good feel, fast pedaling, thoughtful design. is a Taiwan made bike, so there were cheaper bikes with similar performance. Nowadays, these kinds of bikes are common, but dont come with the suspension seat.

Weakness:

Low quality front derailer. questionable brakes design for high speed. although its lighter than other hybrids, it is not at roadbike competition level. Frame yes- components no.

This bike is currently 8-10 years old and out of production so it is surprisingly good for its lower pricepoint. Id expect a bike like this to sell for about 200 or so depending on its care and maintenance. Light wheels, Race seat, carbon seatpost, change to a compact crank, add aero bars and this bike could be sub 18-19 lbs and be decently fast commute bike. Not a bike recommended for Cyclocross conversion.

Similar Products Used:

Gravity FB Flatbar, Cannondale SC2000 1991, GT Zaskar Pro carbon 2013, 2008 Trek Fuel EX7, Marin Eldridge Grade 2006,

[May 25, 2008]
Anonymous
Commuter

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

road bike speed,basically a road bike with a straight handled bar

Weakness:

components! for a decent frame they seem to have insulted it with cheap components and cheap rear cassette that is heavy,nice rims should have used alloyed nipples, crank and chainrings are cheap,so I see as the biggest weakness would be components!

the dealer told me that the bike was last year's model sr 91 47cm the date today is 5/24/08
a good bike over all ,I seriously wish that the bike came with better components. the components that the bike came with is cheesy,and cheap.but then I can't complain for the price I paid. I enjoy this bike greatly I do about 300 miles a week in commuting. good responsiveness, I cut off an inch 1/2 on both sides of the bar ends so I would have been easier time racing in between traffic.which made the bike more narrow for squeezing in between tight spots,did not affect control.

Similar Products Used:

I wouldn't say similar these are the different bikes I have used
Cannondale R500
Cannondale 400
Bianchi ersos
Bianchi

[Nov 17, 2006]
Anonymous
Commuter

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Nice appearance; light & responsive. I have fallen several times on this bike, but it hasnt' broken yet : )

Weakness:

Might want to change flat pedals out for clipped pedals.

I really like this bike. I use it to commute daily and it is a pleasure to ride. The seat is narrow but not really that uncomfortable. It has a stiff spring-like mechanism in the seat pole (?) for shock absorption. some ppl don't like that, but i think its fine. After 6 mos, i changed the flat pedals for clipped pedals. I am not a serious road biker, so the flat handle bars are nice for someone like me. My commute is very hilly so i appreciate its light efficient design.

Similar Products Used:

None, really. A Bianchi Avenue hybrid, but that's not a fair comparison.

[Jul 28, 2006]
sean Finnie
Commuter

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

smooth, fast ride

Weakness:

If used for commmuter, but wider tires. 700X32 are great

This bike is great!!! Very smooth and fast. Design is great and comes with great comps.

[Sep 11, 2004]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Not a standard hybrid. Just a road bike with flat bars. Road, not comfort, geometry. Nice tires. Good equipment for the money.

Weakness:

Sora FD. Wish the Felt line came with Campy.

I was almost set on getting the Giant Cypress SX when I stumbled across this Felt and it was like love at first site and after I rode it there was no way I was walking away without it. I had not heard much about Felt before but after some research I've found them to be one the best manufacturers period. Being an '04 model the LBS knocked quite a bit off the price tag.

Similar Products Used:

Cypress SX, Cannondale Adventure, others

[Aug 06, 2004]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Lightweight at 24.5lbs. Nice roadbike frame geometry (it uses the same 7005 double butted frame as the Felt road line). It's a very fast and responsive ride and has nice road gearing for those longer rides. The brakes are very crisp and strong, the saddle is more comfortable than most while not being a huge sofa style. All in all, it's a great deal for the $$. Should I decide to race someday I'll upgrade, but till then, this bike will work great.

Weakness:

Shimano Sora front derailleur is a disappointment though it shifts cleanly and easily. Other bikes in this class (Fuji and Giant) use the 105 line of derailleurs.

This is a great bike for the money. I've ridden a performance hybrid style bike (road bike with flat handlebars) for years and needed to replace it after it was stolen. I shopped around and compared it to the Specialized Sirrus, the Giant Cypress SX, the Fuji Silhouette and the Trek 7500fx. I liked this bike's combination of components, appearance and price best of all of them. The Trek was too much like a comfort cruiser, the Sirrus entry level was too entry level, and used MTB gearing, the Giant Cypress was a close second, but I don't care for the twist grip style shifters it uses. The Fuji Silhouette was a great bike as well, but cost a bit more at $660. It's not the best bike for the serious roadie, but then I'm not a serious roadie. I use it to go on longish (10-30mile) rides with my wife around town and in the parks, and can also ride hard with my triathelete friends and keep up due to its road bike characteristics.

Similar Products Used:

Miyata hybrid (1990's), Giant Cypress SX, Specialized Sirrus, Sirrus Elite, Fuji Silhouette.

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.