Giant Cypress DX Hybrid Bike

DESCRIPTION

Frame Material: Aluxx aluminum
Frame Angles: Unspecified
Sizes: 15", 17", 19", 21", 23", womens 14", womens 17", womens 19"
Colors: Blue/Silver, Green/Silver, Silver/Charcoal
Fork: SR Suntour, 75mm travel
Rear Shock: Not applicable
Brake Levers: aluminum linear-pull
Handlebar: steel, rise
Stem: aluminum, adjustable
Headset: 1 1/8" integrated steel
Front Der: Shimano C102
Crankset: Giant, 28/38/48 teeth
Rear Der: Shimano Acera
Pedals: platform
Tires: 700 x 40c Cross Comfort

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 18  
[Jun 22, 2021]
joyf


OVERALL
RATING
5
Strength:

This is the best bike I have ever owned. It has the best balance between comfort and sporty handling. The higher handle bars provide a more comfortable ride, but unlike other higher handle bar bikes this bike actually steers very sharp and confidently. I have rode other high handle bar bikes and found their steering hindered. Not this bike. I recommend this bike above all others for the leisure rider. Also came with a very comfortable seat.

Weakness:

The only con I can come up with is I wish there was more colors to choose. Mine is black with green writing. Not the best for visability.

Purchased:
New  
[May 26, 2021]
shemikasoraya9081


OVERALL
RATING
5
Strength:

The full suspension gives me the option to go off on unpaved bike paths. I highly recommend this bike to anyone looking for a great comfort hybrid bike. Newport Beach Concrete And Masonry

Weakness:

Definitely nothing weakness found at this time.

Purchased:
New  
[Jul 01, 2019]
mikestudiosixtyeight


OVERALL
RATING
5
Strength:

Smooth! Lightweight. Comfortable. This by far is the best bike I have ever owned. I can’t say enough about this bike. I love the colour and design. Very happy. It doesn’t take a lot of energy to ride.

Weakness:

None as of yet

Price Paid:
250
Purchased:
Used  
Model Year:
2016
[Dec 25, 2018]
BikingGator


OVERALL
RATING
5
Strength:

This is the best bike I have ever owned. A great bike for exercise and recreational riding. I'm 70 years old with arthritic knees. This bike is very comfortable and riding it is therapy for my knees. I'm 6'2", weigh 185 lbs. and the large model Cypress fits me great. Before purchasing the Giant i rode the Cannondale Adventure 2, Electra Townie, Trek Verve 2, and Specialized Alibi. The Giant Cypress DX was the most comfortable and fit me the best. My bike trips are 20+ miles and average 15+ mph. It handles great and I really like the disk breaks, adjustable handle bars, trigger shifter and lockout front suspension. The full suspension gives me the option to go off on unpaved bike paths. I highly recommend this bike to anyone looking for a great comfort hybrid bike. Plus, I've received several complements on how great the bike looks.

Weakness:

My Cypress with fenders weighs 34 pounds, which is on the heavy side. However, the 24 speed gears and easy handling makes up for the weight of the bike.

Price Paid:
$525
Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
2019
[Sep 02, 2018]
fritchy


OVERALL
RATING
5
Strength:

This bike is very comfortable with a higher seating position, yet handles great. Many "comfort" bikes handle poorly. This bike handles more like a road bike. I find it really the best of both worlds. Also, it is much lighter than most hybrids at this price point. Probably due to only being a 7 speed. It has less gears which add weight. And it has also been very reliable so far.

Weakness:

I wish it had a lever shifter instead of twist.

Price Paid:
309.00
Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
2017
[Jul 22, 2018]
norcalval


OVERALL
RATING
5
Strength:

This is one of the best hybird bikes i have ever owned. I have owned a few like a dozen different kinds. The Cypress is hands down the most comfortable bike i have ever ridden. And its fast on the road . luv this bike

Weakness:

The tires get caught in the road transition sometimes.

Price Paid:
100
Purchased:
Used  
Model Year:
2016
[Jul 13, 2016]
Jason S

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Shifts are quick and crisp

Weakness:

Brakes are the cantilever type and could be better, but they’re certainly adequate to stop

seat hurts my tailbone after long rides

Purchased this bicycle used off of a guy on craigslist and it is by far the best bike I’ve ever owned. I’m not sure what year this bike is (maybe 2010) but it rides very smoothly. It has Shimano Alivio ‘rapid fire’ shifters, rear derailleur and a Shimano C101 front derailleur and shifts are quick and crisp. I never have any issues changing gears, sometimes I hear a little clicking while peddling in certain gears but I’ve never lost the chain. Brakes are the cantilever type and could be better, but they’re certainly adequate to stop. The seat hurts my tailbone after long rides, but this is a bicycle saddle not a lazy boy.


The only mechanical issue I’ve had so far was the valve stem in the inner tube leaking but I believe it’s from years of sitting.

[Jun 05, 2015]
Speaks
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Excellent recreational bike. I use to ride a road bike and do the 100 mile rides, but now that I am older I went for a more relaxing bike. This one is Great ! Easy to ride, aesthetically pleasing to look at, and the gears shift smoothly. Excellent purchase for me.

Weakness:

Not a speed bike.

For recreational riding, you won't go wrong buying this bike.

[May 15, 2010]
Lucy
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Easy re-positioning of handlebars and seat. good looking, well made, good handle grips.

Weakness:

I have had a few difficult to fix punctures in the "puncture resistant" tyres, but all is well at the moment.

An excellent bike, easy to ride, 24 gears make light work of all gradients. makes for easy long journeys, nothing major gone wrong yet, best bike i've had.

[Apr 11, 2010]
bikermomma
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

The 24 gear shifting allows for tons of options for hilly areas. The shocks have been a huge blessing due to my back issues. I love that the handle bars are adjustable and the grips are wide-it allows to various placements on my longer rides.

I am a 37 year old woman, 230 pounds, who hasn't ridden a bike in over 20 years. I have major back issues and searched many bikes for a great form of exercise. I wanted a bike for the pleasure of the ride, not focusing on building speed at this point. I am so pleased with my purchase. In the past month I have easily put over 150 miles on this bike. Today, I did a 45 mile ride with no problems at all. This is a solid ride -smooth and comfortable. I would strongly recommend this bike for "newer" riders or those who just love to ride. BTW, I think I'm hooked...addicted:)

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.