Marin Fairfax Hybrid Bike

DESCRIPTION

Frame Material: 7000 aluminum
Frame Angles: Unspecified
Sizes: 13.5", 15.5", 17.5", 19", 20.5"
Colors: Brushed
Fork: Unspecified
Rear Shock: Not applicable
Brake Levers: forged alloy 3 finger
Handlebar: Double butted alloy, 1" rise
Stem: forged and CNC 4 bolt road
Headset: 1 1/8" threadless WTB Momentum Comp ST
Front Der: Shimano T-400
Crankset: Suntour CR-410, 28/38/48 teeth
Rear Der: Shimano Deore
Pedals: resin with alloy cage
Tires: 700 x 35c City tread

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-9 of 9  
[Mar 03, 2021]
apurcell


OVERALL
RATING
4
Strength:

Solid bike for the price. cant beat it. Does everything I need it to. Disc brakes are good. Handlebars are perfect and like the tires.

Weakness:

Shifting not smooth when pedaling. But not a huge issue for me.

Price Paid:
459.00
Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
2020
[Jul 15, 2008]
J Tauber
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Frame, ride, carbon fork, good all around bike.

Weakness:

Others commented on rear flats w/ stock tires. only 1 flat in 2k mi, mostly paved surface.

Love this bike for the $$$. Weekend warrior. I echo what the other reviews say, great ride, had to swap chain, cassette, brake pads after 2k mi. Only 1 flat in rear tire in 2 years, no spoke issue. Highly recommend.

Similar Products Used:

bridgestone mb

[Apr 04, 2008]
Malcolm Stewart
Commuter

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Light weight

Weakness:

Wheels, tires, rear spokes were undersized as I don't believe I am OVERsized:)

I have used this bike the last three years for my commute -- 45 km/day. It has a smooth comfortable ride which is perfect for commuting. Within the first year I had to upgrade my spokes as the ones that came with the bike kept breaking (haven't had a problem since). Upgraded tires for improved flat protection. Shifters broke down in third year of owners ship so I upgraded those as well. All in all this bike has been excellent value for the money.

[Feb 21, 2007]
ACaparzo
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Cost
Durability
Comfortable

Weakness:

Drivetrain
Brakes
Seat post shock

Amazing bike for the price paid. Excels at commuting to campus and holds its own on the road. The carbon fiber fork makes for a much smoother ride. It has definitely made me ride more often and become fitter.

My complaints lie with the powertrain, brakes, and seat post. The powertrain/shifting took many trips to the bike shop to dial in and get it to shift smoothly. The brakes are weak and make a lot of noise when any little amount of dirt gets in them. The seat post has a built-in shock that is fairly useless, in fact I think it is detrimental to the ride comfort (it will randomly bump even if I am on a flat, smooth surface). If I am going over anything bumpy I will be standing up anyways.

[Nov 19, 2006]
mozgj
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Rides great when new.
Lightweight and extremely well-built frame, carbon fork.
Can be equipped with wide full-length fenders.

Weakness:

Cheap drivetrain parts won't last long.
Wheels too heavy.

This bike is really a mixed bag. For its price, you get a great frame (the same as high-end models minus carbon seat stays) and a light carbon fork; but almost everything else is cheap and has to be gradually replaced if you are going to ride a lot. So, if you're a tech freak like me who thinks it's fun to install a lot of shiny new parts, this bike is a great buy. If you don't like upgrading, consider buying a more expensive model like Mill Valley, or at least replace the chain, pedals and brake pads (IG-31 chains tend to wear out after 1000 miles, and stock brake pads totally lose grip on wet roads).

Similar Products Used:

Nopsa Picnic touring bike

[Aug 16, 2006]
Eric
Commuter

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Excellent bike for the price. Good brakes, carbon fork, smooth shifting, and a rigid frame.

Weakness:

Tires lack flat protection and stem too low and flat to force the rider to lean forward more so than necessary for commuting.

I use this primarily for commuting to work. It is fast and nimble. It has carbon fiber front fork, which provides good ride comfort, despite the use of all aluminum frame. The bike has pretty good components and the front brake has a modulator to prevent locking. The roads I ride are not even with many potholes and I frequently encounter loose dirt and sand, but the bike handles all these with ease. There is no loose cable and the wheel has not needed truing. By contrast, I had a Specialized Cirrus once and its cable and wheel need work constantly. However this bike does have weakness for my ride. Within a month, I had flat tire twice in the rear by riding over the same surface as before. I was told that this is because it uses regular commuting tires that do not have any flat protection. My Specialized Cirrus uses the basic Nimbus tires (700x28), which has flat protection under the thread (but not at the side wall) and which never had problems with flat. I thus decided to switch tires. The Nimbus must be heavier than the original tires and it provides protection at a small expense of performance as now you need more effort to peddle. Another thing that I have changed is the stem. I am 5’ 8” with a 31” inseam so I usually ride bike with an 18” frame. For the Fairfax, it only has 17.5 and 20 at REI so I chose the 17.5. The bike has a MTB style of handlebar that is a tad too low so I have to lean forward more than I like for daily commute. So I switched to a different stem with I believe has a 6° angle and now it is much better. With this set up, I ride in all kinds of weather, even when it is raining hard. The bike never loses traction and it can hop on and off the curb occasionally without any obvious harm to the bike, and I am thus very happy with it.

Similar Products Used:

Specilized Cirrus (basic model)

[Apr 12, 2005]
Anonymous
Commuter

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

Good fit. Fairly light. Fast. Okay components.

Weakness:

Rear braze ons are WAY too low- interfere with the smallest cog if a screw head or lock nut is on the wheel size of the braze on. This is STUPID- in particular because I have a kid seat that fits my blackburn rack, which I'm not going to use if I don't have a locknut ensuring the bolt won't loosen up. It feels like false advertising to even have the rear braze ons.

I like this bike. I've been commuting on a mountain bike with slicks that gave up the ghost. My weekend bike is an old Ciocc. In looking for a commute bike I realized I liked the feel of a road bike, but wanted the durability, flat bar and braze ons of a commute/mountain bike. At first the riding position on this bike was too upright, but flipping the stem and lowering the stem made all the difference. Initially it felt like the Trek 7500fx in terms of riding position, but the stem alterations let me stretch out just the right amount. It's also a more comfy ride than the trek, fuji, or rocky mountain- I'm assuming because of the carbon fork. HOWEVER, since I got this as a commuter and it has brazeons in the front and the back I assumed I could use them. But, in the back if anything (lock nut, screw head) is on the wheel side of the frame near the cogset then it hits the smallest cog!?!? I had to adjust the rear derailer to not let me in that cog. Also the paint is really wimpy- I've already wrapped the top and down tube in tape to 1) protect the frame and 2) make it look crappy/less desireable.

Similar Products Used:

Test rode the Rocky Mountain RC30, Trek 7500FX, Specialized Sirrus Elite, Fuji Silhouette

[Mar 06, 2005]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

The magnificent light-weight frame and carbon fork, elegant look

Weakness:

Enter-level bike components with heavy weigh and low quality

The 2005 year model is more better than previous. Now the frame is tripple-butted and the light carbon fork is installed. But other components are heavy and low quality - Shimano Sora (I think it's so because Marin don't want to increase the cost), however, the weight of my bicycle is only 10.3 kg! By upgrading some components to Ultegra-DuraAce level I want to reduce the weight to about 7-8kg. For example, the wheels weigh almost 4kg - it's not good :( The carbon rigid fork absorbs vibrations very well. This road-hybrid bicycle is the best choise for people who like high-speed cycle-riding, but don't want to buy the classical road-bike.

Similar Products Used:

The enter-level hybrid based on Nishiki frame

[Jun 09, 2004]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Decent components, good riding position

Weakness:

Frame made in china, I guess this is unavoidable at this price range,my next will be USA made.

This is a great hybrid. I was deciding between this bike and the Trek 7300FX. Marin sale made the difference. A great bike to "get back into cycling". Has a more agressive body position than the average hybrid. Has essentials like Aheadset, rigid fork ,toe clips and decent components. My only complaint is the lack of hand positions, inherent in all hybrids. Some bar ends or a cow horn bar will solve that. Will upgrade soon to clipless and handlebar/barends.

Similar Products Used:

Trek 8000 mtb, Bridgestone mtb

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.