Marin Point Reyes Hybrid Bike

DESCRIPTION

Frame Material: 7005 aluminum
Frame Angles: Unspecified
Sizes: 13", 15", 17", 18.5", 20"
Colors: Brush Matte Gunmetal
Fork: Unspecified
Rear Shock: Not applicable
Brake Levers: Hayes HFX-9 Hydraulic Disc / Alloy Levers
Handlebar: Double butted alloy, 1" rise
Stem: 3D Forged 4 bolt threadless 7 degree rise
Headset: 1 1/8" threadless WTB Momentum Comp AL
Front Der: Shimano T-400
Crankset: TruVativ Firex A3 Trek, 28/38/44 teeth
Rear Der: Shimano Deore XT
Pedals: BMX Platform
Tires: 26 x 1.50" WTB Slickosaurus

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-7 of 7  
[May 30, 2011]
Russell Binckes
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Handles all the potholes and tracks on the back roads and trails.

Weakness:

None

I love this bike, it has served me well over the past 4 years. I have racked up a few thousand miles on it since then. I enjoy cycling the back roads, these are quieter, and have more hills; so this gives me a better workout. These kind of roads are great for exercise.

[Feb 28, 2008]
Anonymous
Commuter

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Light and fast. Rigid carbon fork strong enough to endure the job when you have to get out of the road.

Weakness:

Amateurish seat post.

After waiting a couple of years for a chance to go there, bought it in CA only to bring it home to Santiago, Chile, where there's no Marin dealers at all. And that's a shame, since Santiago is a mostly flat city to ride through, tailor-made for a stealthy-looking, sporty-light, awesome-fast, rugged city bike like this one. I'm talking about a 5 to 15 miles daily commuting, because if you're thinking to tour around for hour-lasting rides, you'll probably need a longer tee than the one included in this model. And hey, girls seem to just love it!

Similar Products Used:

The old singlespeed of my childhood years.

[Apr 05, 2007]
jlfunder
Commuter

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

ineffably sweet ride. responsive. crisp. totally naked fun.

Weakness:

A few too many stickers on the frame.

Well after months of trial rides I finally got my commuter bike. Ordered it through REI for their '100% satisfaction' policy, but no way am I taking it back. I was skeptical of the downgraded components from the 2006 model, but except for occasional slight squeaks from the Hayes brakes it is very compatible package (and it is $200 cheaper than last year). Those hippies in Marin county must know what they are doing. I wake up really looking forward to my 4-mile commute over monster Pittsburgh hills and through insane Oakland traffic. In Frick park it ate up rocks mud and gravel like a true mtn bike. I finished off a 25 mile Sunday shakedown ride without even a sore rear. The short frame and long stem give a good weight distribution without excessively stretching your body or putting your head below your butt. The carbon fork doesn’t seem to flex but I don’t feel beaten up like after a ride on a Cannondale. The LX shifters are great on my arthritic thumbs, just brush them and you shift. Mostly it is smooth and swift. I ride two gears higher than what I needed with my 2 year-old hybrid bike-with less exertion! Car doors, curbs, potholes- it knows what to do before you even tell it. Not twitchy at speed but very maneuverable. Plain gray with no bells and whistles. Just a bike. But a great one. I think I am in love.

Similar Products Used:

Cannondale Bad Boy, Scott SUB20, Novaro Buzz,

[Dec 14, 2005]
Anonymous
Commuter

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Brakes, frame, tires, shifter, seat.

Weakness:

I could use one more gear going downhill. A different hand position would be interesting.

Agile, fast and tough. I ride a 14 mile commute on some rough, fast la streets and it really works for me. The frame is stiff, brakes are strong and progressive, xt is the bomb and slicasourous tires rock!

Similar Products Used:

I had one other hybrid, a 92(?) trek 750 with drop bars that I rather liked.

[Dec 08, 2004]
Anonymous
Commuter

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Frame, handling, brakes

Weakness:

no suspension, gearing too high at the bottom end

Great bike - use it to do the 16 mile round trip to and from work through everything Los Angeles roads can throw at me! Frame is great - strong, extremely light and responsive. Balance and weight distribution are also top notch. The brakes are superb although they work best once you've got a bit of temperature into them. The Shimano Nexave gearing is also very impressive, silky smooth and responsive. Minor gripes are the cheap plastic handlbar end stoppers quickly worked themselves loose and are gone which was annoying after shelling out a grand on a top-of-the-range machine. Just detracted from the otherwise very good build quality. The gearing at the bottom end is a little high - it certainly requires a bit more effort than other bikes I've ridden to get up certain hills - but this is a trade-off for when you get to the other end and have a good deal of pedalling in reserve even when you're at high speed. This is a no-nonsense bike - it's light, fast, responsive and has phenomenal stopping power. Keep in mind that to acheive this it is also completely 'bare bones'. There's no front or rear suspension, no comfy soft saddle, no saddle suspension, no refelectors - nothing. Bear this in mind as you'll not do a faster, more responsive street ride in your life - but the complete lack of 'creature comforts' mean you really will feel those potholes, drain covers and bumps.

[Oct 13, 2004]
Anonymous
Commuter

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Brakes, weight, frame, components, ride.

Weakness:

Handlebar, rapid fire shifters

I got this bike to replace a 1995 rigid Trek 8000 which was stolen. Out of the box, this bike was not exactly how I wanted it, but with a few changes, I'm really starting to bond with it. The handlebar with 1" rise is just plain annoying, and was swapped for a flat carbon fibre bar first off. I have never had good luck with rapid fire shifters, so say nothing of the chain rub, so I got a pair of Paul's Thumbies and Dura Ace 9 speed bar end shifters and now the bike really feels like MY bike. The handling is precise and controllable. The bike is not a bit twitchy at high speed or when being punished on potholes, curbs and speed bumps. The Hayes disc brakes are a little finicky, but after a few minute adjustments, they seem to be in just the right spot. I have had to do emergency stops/manuevers and the balance/braking are superb. The other day I was towing my kids (100 pounds) in a Burley D'lite trailer (thanks to the alternative hitch) downhill in the rain at speeds in excess of 30 MPH. Stops were sure and controlled. Bottom line is the brakes are strong. My wife rode the bike and was freaked out by the stopping power (too little effort, said she). Since I installed the Dura Ace shifters, gears changes are instantaneous and precise. The XT rear deraileur works fine. I have not had any problems with the WTB slickasaurus tires in dry or sloppy conditions, and have yet to have a flat--500 miles so far. I'm considering flipping the stem to get a more aero riding position, but my gut may not like it. At the moment, a flat bar and the stock stem seem to be working nicely. The Point Reyes is not perfect but with a few choice mods, it is quickly making me forget about my old bike.

Similar Products Used:

Cannondale Road Warrior, Bad Boy, Novarra Buzz, Kona Dr. Dew, Marin Novato, Marin Muirwoods, Specialized Sirrus

[May 11, 2004]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

frame(light 23 lbs) components (XT) brakes(hayes nine hyd. disc) tires

Weakness:

none

Doing 3-400 miles/month, this bike is smooth as buttah! Velvet like shifting, slickasaurus are great. Geometry is A+. 5star

Similar Products Used:

Marin hawk hill and another bike I cannot think of

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.