Trek 7.1 FX Hybrid Bike

DESCRIPTION

We call it a fitness bike, but this is Trek's most popular bike for a reason. Roadies, commuters, fitness freaks, errand runners, Sunday riders—everyone loves the FX.

  • Frame: FX Alpha White Aluminum
  • Tires: Bontrager H2, 700x35c
  • Shifters: Shimano EF50 trigger, 7 speed
  • Crank: Shimano M151 48/38/28 w/chainguard
  • Cassette: Shimano 14-34, 7 speed
  • USER REVIEWS

    Showing 1-6 of 6  
    [Sep 10, 2021]
    boorish1973


    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Price value, Handling, shifts smoothly, seat is decent, comfortable riding position (aggressive but still somewhat upright), nice components, brakes well. -- Concrete Pavers

    Weakness:

    None so far

    Purchased:
    New  
    [Feb 14, 2021]
    FreakyZekie


    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    I wanted a bit of a road bike feel in the nimble handling and a comfort bike feel in a more upright, though fitness oriented riding position. I have had an older fx model Trek and let's face it, the frames and components on new bikes today have been cheapened way down while the prices have gone way up. This bike resolves that trend. Its got a reasonable pricetag for its category and a very light frame and decent components. It has 21 speeds, trigger shifters, beefy tires for bike path riding, quality enough double walled rims, and a much lighter frame than the Verve, which I seriously considered. You can add a rack front and rear and add fenders. You can add an adjustable stem or swap to a more upright stem if you want to sit more upright. I find the saddle and grips to be somewhat comfortable as well. The pedals are standard fair but always get swapped out and I have moved on from clipless to lightweight bmx platform style years ago. It is a sharp looking ride in a dark gloss gray black they call "lithium". I think it is just beautiful and stealth looking. Of the competition out there now in the new fitness hybrid line up, I think this one is tops. I love this bike!

    Weakness:

    The components are serviceable and adequate to get the shifting and braking done. The crank arms look budget compared to older Treks, as does the handlebar. Think back to the way Bontrager bits looked 10 to 15 years ago on Treks and you can see the cheapening down. The frame is not on a par with the old "superlight aluminum" of yore but it doesn't feel tank like. I easily lift it into my SUV. With the bike shortage due to the pandemic these issues are negligible. I am more than pleased with the quality of this bike and am looking forward to the spring thaw so I can get it out on the rail trails. Meanwhile I am enjoying just looking at its beautiful lines right here in my living room and dreaming of sweet spring rides to come. Highly recommend this to anyone looking for a really versatile ride choice.

    Price Paid:
    500
    Purchased:
    New  
    Model Year:
    2021
    [Dec 09, 2020]
    wayanbayan


    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    I really don’t know how to troubleshoot that to be completely honest because I have never experienced that when I was using my Gmail account. I think this bug stems from the fact that you guys are not using Gmail at all and are stuck in your ways when using those lower tier email platforms. I would suggest that you guys ditch your old email accounts and make a new one with Gmail so that you won’t have to deal with this sort of problem anymore. Also, it will help you play the battle cats official a bit faster because they don’t require Gmail users to submit their passwords anymore every time they access among us on windows.

    Weakness:

    Always the bridesmaid.

    Price Paid:
    1234
    Purchased:
    New  
    Model Year:
    1234
    [Oct 15, 2020]
    yonatan


    OVERALL
    RATING
    2
    Strength:

    I ride and do basic maintenance for two FX 1 bikes (previously FX 7.1) since 2017. Mainly used for urban commuting on bike paths and a short tarmac path. The frame is strong. before commuting on the Trek FX 1, my commuting experience includes 30 years of commuting on a 10spd Raleigh. Never broke or bent an axle.

    Weakness:

    Avoid. It is a cheap bike, and by cheap, I do not refer to the price tag: 1. The stock Wellgo pedals are not suitable for urban rides. By the time the metal frame of the pedal meets a curb it is bent and no longer be bent back and screwed into the cheap plastic pedal skeleton - replaced by Wellgo MG-1pedals. 2. The Bontrager tires lack even the basic puncture protection - Replaced with Schwalbe Marathon Racer tires. 3. The Bontrager AT-750wheel are built by a machine. Upon purchase the spokes are not equally tension-ed and tend to break. On top of this, the rear wheel axle - Hollow one to accommodate quick release - literally cracked and broke 3 times. I weigh 170lbs. and my son 130lbs, and the bike is spec-ed 300lbs. We do not jump curbs and we do try to avoid potholes. Maybe this has something to do with the freewheel setup. 4. The square tapered VP (68mm/121.5mm) bottom bracket is of low quality. 5. The chain is Z-series KMC which quickly wears out the drive train (especially the Sunrace 7spd FreeWheel) - replaced by KMC X series, Shimano 7spd freewheel & a Shimano 361 crankset. BTW. my FX 1 did not come stocked with a Shimano crankset! it was a "SMA" crankset. 6. One should really use a Shimano aluminum-rim-friendly brake pads rather than the stock Tektro pads.

    Price Paid:
    450$
    Purchased:
    New  
    Model Year:
    2017
    [Jul 19, 2011]
    Henry Jesfen
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Price value, Handling, shifts smoothly, seat is decent, comfortable riding position (aggressive but still somewhat upright), nice components, brakes well

    Weakness:

    Not the fastest bike in the world, but fast enough that you'll leave all the Walmart bikes in the dust! (I ride circles around my brother's mongoose)

    I love my Trek 7.1FX, the bike does everything that I need it to do, smooth ride on the trail, fast on the streets, great for commuting; however, I use it predominantly on the bike paths and it flys! This is a great entry bike at an entry level price!

    Similar Products Used:

    n/a... This is my first bicycle

    [Jul 17, 2010]
    MICHAEL LOTT
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    GOOD ON DIRT ROADS AND PAVEMENT . ENJOYABLE TO RIDE .

    Weakness:

    SLOWER THAN A ROAD BIKE BUT STILL FAST ENOUGH FOR ME .

    LOVE THIS BIKE . HAVEN'T RODE MUCH IN 10 YEARS . I TRY TO RIDE EVERY DAY . BOUGHT IT MOSTLY FOR TRYING TO KEEP MY BLOOD PRESSURE ,WEIGHT , AND DIABETES IN CHECK . THE MORE I RIDE THE STRONGER AND MORE EASIER IT SEEMS TO TAKE ON HILLS AND LONGER RIDES . 10 TO 45 MILES . GREAT BIKE .

    Similar Products Used:

    12 SPEED I BOUGHT 24 YEARS AGO .

    Roadbikereview Newsletter

    Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

    THE SITE

    ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

    VISIT US AT

    © Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.