Trek 7300 Hybrid Bike

DESCRIPTION

Frame Material: aluminum
Frame Angles: 71.5 head, 73.5 seat
Sizes: 15", 17.5", 20", 22.5", 25", womens 15", womens 17.5", womens 20"
Colors: Dark Blue/Ball-Burnished, Green/Silver
Fork: InSync Odesa 168, 45mm travel
Rear Shock: Not applicable
Brake Levers: aluminum linear-pull
Handlebar: Bontrager Bar-Keeper
Stem: adjustable rise
Headset: 1 1/8" threadless aluminum
Front Der: Shimano Nexave T301
Crankset: Shimano FC-T303, 28/38/48 teeth
Rear Der: SRAM X.7
Pedals: resin
Tires: 700 x 35c Bontrager Invert HC

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 19  
[Jul 14, 2021]
elcomicguy


OVERALL
RATING
3
Strength:

Bought a 7300 in 2000 to train for and ride on an Arthritis run in Oct. 2001 from San Francisco to San Diego. Training put 2500 miles on it with no problem. I still own it and after some R&R am giving it to my son.

Weakness:

I made it to just north of Malibu, cruising about 15 mph when the bolt holding the seat to the mounting sheared off and I went down like a ton of bricks. Luckily I bailed to the right into gravel rather than into traffic. We had an emergency vehicle for adjustments and hauling and they got my machine working again (with only 8 gears) enough to finish what was mostly flat road. I dont know if the bolt was defective or not proper grade, but it was original. I do remember at end of the first days ride, my knee was hurting so bad I was wondering if I could finish this. I spoke to someone about it and advised me to see about a seat adjustment, which I did and my problems were solved. After so long I just realized this could have been the cause....overtightened??

Price Paid:
520
Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
2000
[May 25, 2021]
johnsjvi95


OVERALL
RATING
5
Strength:

Never encountered trouble for 3 years of using this. I love the high-pressure thinner wheels the coasting ability is insane. Masonry Contractor

Weakness:

Nothing to complain about.

Purchased:
New  
[Jan 30, 2021]
JWard


OVERALL
RATING
4
Strength:

Very durable bike on trails with comfort along city streets. I've had the bike since 2004 and very pleased.

Weakness:

Heavy bike due to the aluminum frame and the twist shifters need replacing over the years. The front shock absorbers have limited distance vs. mountain bikes but do the job on bike trails.

Price Paid:
750
Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
2003
[May 06, 2020]
vlad79x


OVERALL
RATING
5
Strength:

Durability, comfort, ease of maintenance. I have this bike since 1998, ride it to work on weekdays (about 25 miles/day) and some easy road rides on weekends all year. Also sometimes i use it to pull a trailer (when travelling). Though through the years I had changed many parts, some original ones are still on (front derailer, brake levers, SRAM twist shifter and of course the lifetime warranty bikeframe). The endurance is pleasing.

Weakness:

Not as good as specialized bikes for their respective roles, and a bit on the heavy side.

Price Paid:
450
Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
1995
[Aug 12, 2019]
eddietheartist


OVERALL
RATING
4
Strength:

This bike is like a Timex watch I have hanging on my handlebar, It takes a licking and keeps on ticking. I’ve had a couple specialized good bikes of course but this one just has something special. I used it as my commuter bike in Fort Lauderdale for two years in the city and recreational riding in the evening because I hate driving in heavy traffic in cars. They just don’t quit I have beaten this bike to death and I can get on it and ride 20 miles without blinking. I’m sure there are other bikes out there that are better quality and may handle better blah blah blah but for commuting and traveling and using it as your main source of transportation I couldn’t imagine a better bike. And I love the high-pressure thinner wheels the coasting ability is insane.

Weakness:

It’s hard to give this point that I’m going to speak of as a weakness because it’s kind of like asking for your cake and eating it too. But my last wonderful point was the fender high pressure tires and that’s the only thing that has a drawback in certain areas because when I hit construction zones or have to jump off the sidewalk or jump off the highway and run through some dirt or hit rough terrain I do have an issue and hop off and walk it across sometimes, BUT If I did have the larger knobby tires then of course I couldn’t write the raving review in reference to the coasting and speed!

Price Paid:
650
Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
2009
[Jul 09, 2019]
njfrankb


OVERALL
RATING
5
Strength:

I’ve had this bike for years. I needed a bike that could do it all and this is it. I put a basket on it to cruise to the beach on the boardwalk and strip it down for 30 mile road runs. I can’t say enough about it’s versatility. I love the height and upright seating it affords Stem, bars etc have great adjustment potential. Suspension is not bad. I beat this thing up and it comes back season after season.

Weakness:

Maybe a little heavy but maybe not for all it can do.

Price Paid:
400
Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
2010
[Jan 20, 2019]
LawrieScholar


OVERALL
RATING
5
Strength:

An excellent commuter bike. Suitable as a hybrid, I’ve taken it on bike trails here in Austin, and it’s held up well. It has a rather unique (in my experience) shock absorbing set of forks, where the top piece of the forks has a pneumatic shock absorber. I’m overweight, 5’8” & 195 lbs., so it fully compresses when I mount it.

Weakness:

I am not sure but I don’t think the shock-absorbing forks are adjustable.

Price Paid:
525
Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
2008
[Nov 02, 2016]

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Handles uneven road surfaces well. Comfortable to ride. Corners well at high speed. Three front sprockets gives you plenty of peddling space.

Weakness:

Can't compete with performance of a true road bike.

I had this bike since 1997. The cables and front derailleur did rust out but I attributed that to wear and tear. If you can work the gears effectively and it's an easy ride on rolling hills. I am keeping this bike but I want to upgrade to an Emonda for more precision performance on the road given the peddling effort.



Similar Products Used:

Trek mountain bike

[Apr 25, 2016]
Thaddeus Deus

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Light weight. Durable. Shimano derailleur, good quality.

Weakness:

Narrow tires not good for transit streetcar tracks.
Not good for heavy duty off road mountain biking.

Decent light weight, good quality. But only reasonably good for town and off road.
Wary of street car tracks. And not equipped for back trails. Needs wider and heavy treads.

[Aug 21, 2015]
Jim

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Durable bike, very comfortable to ride.

Weakness:

Original twist shifters

I have owned two of these 7300s. Four if you count the wife's bikes too. No real trouble out of any of them (the original two were donated to our daughter and son in law). All 4 are still in use today. I replaced the original twist shifters with SRAM paddle shifters and have never looked back. I am a road bike rider and I use this for training. I do this simply because, the bike is a bit heavier than a road bike and the ride position provides a bit for wind resistance than the posture on a road bike. That means, you have to push a bit harder. That said, the bike performs very well for the price paid and I could not be happier. It fits my needs better than anticipated. Overall, I think this is a great product at a great price.

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.