Trek 7300 FX Hybrid Bike

DESCRIPTION

Frame Material: aluminum
Frame Angles: 71.5 head, 73.5 seat
Sizes: 15", 17.5", 20", 22.5"
Colors: Black
Fork: Trek
Rear Shock: Not applicable
Brake Levers: aluminum linear-pull
Handlebar: Bontrager Sport
Stem: Bontrager Sport
Headset: 1 1/8" threadless Aheadset
Front Der: Shimano Nexave T301
Crankset: Shimano FC-T303, 28/38/48 teeth
Rear Der: Shimano Deore
Pedals: aluminum cage w/clips & straps
Tires: 700 x 35c Bontrager Invert HC

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 22  
[May 26, 2021]
sumnerzzupa74


OVERALL
RATING
5
Strength:

A great choice of mine. I am comfortable using this going to Encinitas Roofing Pros because of its lightweight and fast for a hybrid.

Weakness:

The seat is a thin and a little bit hard

Purchased:
New  
[May 29, 2014]
Mark Beckett
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

My first real bike Trek 7300fx. Was given it second hand not sure what year model it is(maybe 2006/7). My friend did three trips through Africa averaging about 2000km per trip before he gave the bike to me. He pulled a trailer with it carrying about 30kgs of goods. I have cycled some long trips with it through Malawi. Carrying about 15kgs. Its fast/ strong Great on the uphills.

Weakness:

Our roads are potholed in Africa. Still kept the Trek 7300fx but got a mountain bike as well.

Good bike overall.Its a nice touring bike. Simple to work on maintenance wise.Spares hard to come buy in Malawi have to order from South Africa. Best bike on the tar road. Its strong enough for off road but not comfortable. I going to keep it for some long cycles. I think I would choose this bike if one day I did a Cape to Cairo cycle.It can carry a nice load.

Similar Products Used:

Rocky

[Mar 27, 2010]
Felipe
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

Confident riding. Fast sprinting. Accelerate fast. Acceptable original components.

Weakness:

Poor wheelset and tires (Bontrager Invert Hardcase - very durable, not flats, but not fast). Don´t holds high velocity, requiring a bit cycling power to keep velocity (whe higher than 25 mph)

"Fast" bike, even a little heavy. Position is good for biking, even OEM saddle is not bad but not ergonomics.
I spent a fews rides and minutes to find the perfect positon. Fowarding the bars, rotating it, pointing down the saddle nose, inverting the stem... and OK!!! just enjoying a lot now!
Seems good at high speeds, but it feels every pothole available. (upgrade fork and seatpost, solving a little bit the problem). Acceptable OEM equipment. At climbs, the small front gear ring in the crankset(48/28 and 28) is not very usefull, but is always there, if required. The cassete uses 11-34 teeths, which 34 size is good for clibing, but not usefull with 28 front gear... it forces the rear derailleur to engage it. I exchaged for a 9 spd cassete (11-28) and rides happy.

Similar Products Used:

none

[Jul 07, 2009]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Solid construction, nice handling. In lower gears, hills are very doable.

Weakness:

On long rides, my thumbs get tired from downshifting.

I bought this bike because I wanted to ride with a club, but wasn't ready for a real road bike. That was over 4500 miles ago; I had my bike outfitted with road tires and later added bar ends and Look clipless pedals. I really love to ride! My bike is comfortable and quick, and pretty light for an aluminum frame (about 26 lbs). If you see one of these used, grab it; it's a great bike.

[Dec 02, 2008]
Thomas N
Commuter

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5

yes thats correct i paid $65.00 for a 2006 7300fx. i am new to trek products but i am pleased so far. i live in ann arbor and it is a very bicycle friendly town.
if any one has some input on up-grades for my 7300 i would love some advice

[Oct 01, 2008]
William Jones
Commuter

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Lightweight and fast for a hybrid

Weakness:

maybe it's me but the seat is thin and hard

actually a 2009 FX 7.3. Very lightweight but strong, this bike is faster than any other hybrid I test rode. The seat is a bit uncomfortable and I wish the handlebars were set a little higher so I could carry a little more weight on the seat and sit a little more upright, but it is still pretty comfy. Maybe I'll try installing handlebar ends.

[Jul 13, 2008]
SJE
Commuter

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5

I'm 5'1", and although the 7300 is a bit big for me, I LOVE MY BIKE. It's a smooth, stable lightweight ride. I ride to work and back every day, and ride for pleasure on my days off. I use this bike to carry groceries in attached panniers, and the bike is still stable, even with a 10 lb bag of cat litter on one side, and a 10 lb bag of groceries on the other. I would not trade this for anything. LOVE!

[Jun 16, 2008]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5

im very hard on bikes and this one can take everything i put it threw iv had more $ bikes and hey dont take half the abuse i put this none threw never had one problem with this bike if somone offerd me a $1000 i be hard pressed to take it....

[Oct 26, 2007]
Rahul
Commuter

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Light weight, Flat handle bar (good for those with weak backs) Comfortable for long rides. Shifts easily and cleanly.

Weakness:

Shocks transmit freely through the frame. The seat maybe a little uncomfortable to begin, but get used to soon. Snazzy elliptical (weird) frame means typical accessories like bike lock holder cannot be clamped on.

Excellent commuter bike. I got lucky in the sense that the tires on this bike were thinner (much similar to a road bike) than on same other Trek 7.3 FX's
Put on a rear bike rack and a kick stand (both from my older bike) and new fenders coz I live in Seattle.

Similar Products Used:

Rayleigh hybrid, Schwinn MTB

[Aug 22, 2007]
Token
Commuter

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Light, strong, solid and fast. I crank pretty hard on hills and in traffic and the FX seems to be taking it easily.

Weakness:

Bumps and rough surfaces seemed more pronounced than with my old bike. The stock seat feels uncomfortable, but may just need adjustment. No kickstand, no place for my old lock holder on the jazzy elliptical frame tubes.

Broke my old hybrid commuter after 6 years of use. The 7.3FX is stronger and lighter, is geared faster for better hill climbs and descents. It's also a great-looking bike [I have the metallic black] and the design seems better thought out and refined than my old bike.

Similar Products Used:

6yo Renegade Hybrid bike [economy bike]

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.