BMC Street Fire SSX Road Bike

DESCRIPTION

  • Frame: Easton Ultralite
  • Fork: Easton EC70 AL Carbon, 11D8"

  • USER REVIEWS

    Showing 1-10 of 14  
    [Sep 21, 2010]
    Timugen Manayon
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    so light, racing geometry frame, excellent in every corners. very fast response when u make a sprint. all around bike. climbs and sprinting.

    Weakness:

    heavy seat post but its easy to upgrade, i changed it to bontrager race x lite carbon.

    I love this frame so much, this is my weapon of all when it comes on race day. very fast on climbs, descent & on flat road.
    I really like the paint job so much it looks very expensive. the best bike I've ever ride...

    Similar Products Used:

    specialized s-works road. scott expert.

    [Feb 14, 2009]
    Anonymous
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Quality paint job, stiff yet quite absorbent of road chatter considering it is aluminum (Easton Ultralite). Seat post crosslock very unique and stands out in the peloton. Beautiful high quality welds. FAST, snappy acceleration and holds its line at high speeds and in descents. Responds well with each pedal stroke when climbing.

    Weakness:

    Watch out in sizing as they tend to run small. I am 5'11" with 34 inch inseam and luckily the large fits me well.Stock Easton EA50 seatpost is heavy - replace it with a carbon one to help with the ride quality. Jury is still out on stock Easton EC70 fork.

    I generally will buy a frame and customize it with my choice of components. I have not (and still have not) gone to full carbon rigs. I always remembered my Fuji being the lightest and fastest of all my bikes, so when the clearance price of the 2007 BMC Streetfire surfaced, I took the plunge. I have ridden it for just 500 miles in three months, but so far I have not been disappointed. My prior bike was a matte black 2006 FELT F55 and it was a fine bike. However, the welds were not as refined as those on the BMC or TREK. The BMC chainstays are "beefy" and overall the Swiss design (and Taiwanese manufacturing - surprise!!) are first rate. No, the bike does not come with a Floyd Landis testosterone kit. Basically, you get a LOT of frame for the money!!!!

    Similar Products Used:

    2006 FELT F55,2007 Pake C'Mute 2004 TREK 2200, 2004 Guru Racelite, 2002 Bianchi Eros,2001 Fuji Roubaix, 2000 Giant Kronos

    [Sep 02, 2008]
    Anonymous
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Stiff, responsive, great attention to detail. Solid build. I love the oversized rectangular chain stays. The paint is nice and thick. So much it was a squeeze on the rear brake nut. A Great all around bike.

    Weakness:

    The rider.
    Heavy if you are a weight weenie.

    What a bike. I have been riding a Raleigh Technium for about a year and it was handed down to me. It was a good bike but what a difference there is having a bike sized for you. The price is the frame/fork/seatpost/headset only. I love the red black color scheme of the team red. From my limited experience I have to say this bike is quick, responsive, stiff yet it doesn't beat you to death. You step on the pedals and it goes. I know there are a lot of carbon geeks out there who cry about weight but in my opinion I just like the aluminum better. The weight is not bad. People complaining that this bike is heavy at just under 18 lbs should try riding my old 23 pounder! All in all an amazing bike!

    Similar Products Used:

    Raleigh Technium. Giant, Cervelo (test rides)

    [Aug 11, 2008]
    mkubota
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    -Feels stiff and fast
    -Beautiful and unique design
    -Stable/predictable handling
    -Cheap(ish)

    Weakness:

    -A bit heavier than carbon
    -Fork is pretty heavy

    (Price is for the frame only) This was to be my commuter bike so I was looking for something reasonably cheap and durable- didn't have to be superlight weight. The build is '07 Campy Centaur (all), FSA SL-K post, FSA stem/bar, Campy Vento wheels, Michelin Pro2/Krylion F/R. I think it comes in just under 18lbs for size S. Compared to my 15lb carbon bike, this bike isn't quite as snappy or quick especially up hills or grades. But it is remarkably smooth, stable and stiff. You do feel every pedal stroke. And I'm a fly weight at 125lbs soaking wet so it's not like I'm bending frames. The fork weighs over 500gms in case you're counting; so if you want to lighten this bike that would be the first place to start. (You could ebay the EC70, buy an EC90SL and still come in under $1k.) The bike doesn't turn on a dime, but is very predictable and easy to control. Riding with no hands is also easy on this bike. The paint job is decent, and if you get the red-black color it looks like a nice cheap knock-off of the Pro Machine. I think the 'trickle down' technology of this bike from it's more expensive siblings is quite apparent- from the 'T' shaped top tube, to the wide tapering down tube, to the bottom bracket-wide chain stays. While I was building this bike I couldn't stop thinking how amazing the aluminum shapes are on this frame. I know it's what they always say, but the pictures really do NOT do this frame justice. The attention to detail in the two-bolt seatpost binder is a nice touch.

    [May 13, 2008]
    Anonymous
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Frame - it's a gem.
    Fulcrum wheels - great for the price.

    Weakness:

    FSA cranks - I'm not a fan... Carbon Pro is actually "Carbon cover over alu.." - and it cracked and split.
    Seatpost - change it to carbon.

    The SSX rides really well, stiff and relatively light for the price. Like the guy in the store said "you get a lot of bike for the money". I changed the seatpost to full carbon and it smoothed things out quite a bit. If you are looking for a really good quality bike for solid mileage without paying $2000+ then go for the SSX, you won't be disappointed.

    [Oct 06, 2007]
    Raceoftruth
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Stiffness
    Great handling
    Great workmanship and quality

    Weakness:

    -Heavy with its stock components, around 22lbs for a full bike

    This bike is an absolute bargain. It has the stiffness and handling of bikes twice its price. I've raced on it for a full season and it excels at tight cornering and sprints.

    It's a very well made frame and has held up well to several quite serious crashes in races. Much better than the rider at least.

    On long rides it can be a bit rough though, transmitting a lot of road buzz. Also, the stock EC70 fork does flex a bit under heavy load.

    The geometry may also not suit everyone as some of the smaller frames are hard to set up because of the relatively long top tube and short seat tube.

    It is still a fantastic bike for racing and hard riding, and is a very beautiful and rare nike

    Similar Products Used:

    All the BMCs, Cervelos, Looks and Cannondales due to my job at my LBS

    [Jul 13, 2007]
    paalrekxs
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Strength:

    fast and not very heavy

    Weakness:

    cleaning around the seat post

    This bike is great. I got some ksyrium elite wheels on it. it is very stiff and fast.

    Similar Products Used:

    nothing

    [Jun 01, 2007]
    echo3mike
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    super stiff and fast. acceleration is phenominal and handling is quick.for the money you cannot beat it. ideal for college students on a budget that need a great bike for racing.

    Weakness:

    as it comes the seatpost and fork are heavy, however a look carbon fork and thompson seatpost have taken care of that.

    all around solid bike. these bikes were used for a developemental team in the southeast kind've as a springboard onto the pro scene and the guys loved them and stood on podiums in europe.

    Similar Products Used:

    felt f80, felt f2c, look 595.

    [Apr 19, 2007]
    Anonymous
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    LIGHT, STIFF, POWER TRANSFER IS EXCELLENT

    Weakness:

    NONE OTHER THAT THE NOT SO GREAT SEATPOST, BUT THAT IS AN EASY FIX.

    I BOUGHT THIS BIKE, AS MANY OTHERS DID, FOR THE GREAT PRICE. THE FRAME SET (FRAME, FORK, SEATPOST AND HEADSET)WAS ONLY $800!!!! I WAITED A WHILE TO DO A REVIEW ON THIS BIKE SO THAT I COULD PROPERLY EVALUATE IT. I GOT THIS TO REPLACE MY LOOK CARBON BIKE. I KNOW IT SOUNDS STRANGE, BUT THE ACCELERATION, STIFFNESS, AND POWER TRANSFER ON THIS FRAME ARE PHENOMINAL!! THE LLOK JUST DID NOT COMPARE, AND I PROBABLY WILL NEVER GO BACK TO CARBON. THE SEATPOST IS NOT THE GREATEST BY FAR, HOWEVER THAT IS AN EASY FIX.AS FAR AS SOME OF THE OTHER COMMENTS GO SUCH AS THE FORK NOT BEING STIFF ENOUGH, I HAVE NOT NOTICED ANY FLEX IN IT. I ONLY WEIGH 140 LBS., BUT I AM A VERY BIG SPRINTER AND PUT OUT ALOT OF POWER. ALL IN ALL THIS IS BY FAR THE BEST BIKE I HAVE EVER OWNED.

    Similar Products Used:

    LEMOND ZURICH, LOOK KG 451, GT'S, VARIOUS TREKS

    [Mar 28, 2007]
    flat ark
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    SUPER STIFF, LOOKS AWESOME, FITS PERFECT, AMAZING IN THE CORNERS AND ON THE CLIMBS.
    You can't touch this kind of performance with carbon for less than double the price.

    Weakness:

    Frame, fork, and seatpost are a little on the heavy side. I don't think that it is so much the frame as the latter two.

    I have only taken a handful of rides on this bike, but compared to my last bike (Specialized Tarmac) this thing is rock solid. Although the Tarmac was a sweet riding bike, I felt that it had too much flex for my style of riding. Yes the ride is a little rougher than my Tarmac was, but I am happy to sacrifice the smoothness of the carbon for the performance that I get with the SUPER STIFF Streetfire SSX.

    Similar Products Used:

    Specialized Tarmac, Specialized Allez,
    GT Rage

    Roadbikereview Newsletter

    Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

    THE SITE

    ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

    VISIT US AT

    © Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.