Cannondale R500 Triple Road Bike

DESCRIPTION

Frame Material: 6061 T6 aluminum
Frame Angles: 73.0 head, 73.5 seat
Sizes: 48cm, 50cm, 52cm, 54cm, 56cm, 58cm, 60cm, 63cm
Colors: Black, Topaz
Fork: Cannondale Ultra Slice Si
Rear Shock: Not applicable
Brake Levers: Shimano 105 STI Dual Control
Handlebar: Cinelli Altera
Stem: Cannondale 3-D Forged
Headset: 1 1/8" threadless Cane Creek S-2
Front Der: Shimano Tiagra
Crankset: TruVativ Touro A1, 30/42/52 teeth
Rear Der: Shimano 105 SS
Pedals: Wellgo road w/clips and straps
Tires: 700 x 23c Hutchinson Flash

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 22  
[Jun 10, 2021]
crystalbr8wn


OVERALL
RATING
5
Strength:

Very beautiful and techy. Concrete Contractors Newport News VA

Weakness:

No fault at all.

[Jun 09, 2021]
ztiler


OVERALL
RATING
4
Strength:

I like how ergonomic the pedal is and the bike's handle. I've been using the bike since 2015 and until now it is still in great condition. I even bring it when at work (Company that offers Cleaning Services Phoenix AZ).

Weakness:

So far, so good. No issues for me.

[Jun 03, 2021]
Dave0313


OVERALL
RATING
4
Strength:

Steers beautifully straight. Shock absorption is decent for an aluminum frame. Campy-like brakes are excellent. I fitted them with Dura-Ace pads.

Weakness:

Slightly stiff ride,

Price Paid:
500
Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
1981
[May 26, 2021]
daftdaft1996pondskater


OVERALL
RATING
5
Strength:

Cool design. Frame, fork, Cannondale quality, triple convenient for climbs. Hardscape Contractor

Weakness:

None so far.

Purchased:
New  
[May 26, 2021]
daftdaft1996pondskater


OVERALL
RATING
5
Strength:

Cool design. Frame, fork, Cannondale quality, triple convenient for climbs. Hardscape Contractor

Weakness:

None so far.

Purchased:
New  
[May 25, 2021]
rosendamanns2808


OVERALL
RATING
5
Strength:

I am comfortable to use it since day 1. I am able to keep up with and out sprint much stronger riders.I have wrecked once and besides some paint scuffs this bike just keeps going. Detroit Hood Cleaning

Weakness:

Wheels are heavy and hard to keep clean.

Purchased:
New  
[Jul 11, 2017]
Hang me out to dry
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Stiff and responsive. Gets you up hills. Great acceleration.

Weakness:

Lil heavy these days. Downtubes (though indexed). Felt a bit stretched out on the bike. 7 speed.

1993 Canny:

For my first road bike, this decades old frame was excellent. In fact if the bike was an 8 speed (and maybe a size smaller), I'd have kept it. The fact that it's becoming increasingly difficult to find 7 speed cassettes at bike shops around me is a bit of a problem, too.

If you can find this bike for $200, and you want to get into road racing, this bike is excellent value for the money.

Similar Products Used:

Trek R500

[Jun 27, 2013]
Adam

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Stiff frame, eats up hills.

Weakness:

Funky shifter, needs other upgrades.

This is an all and all great frame. After new bars (Randonneur World Championship), a new bottom bracket, and new saddle I feel tuned in. Takes hills like a goat. Hope you like to work on bikes because this one needs a lot of wrenching. RSX brake levers are awesome but the RSX derailers suck. Mine came with Mavic wheels and believe these are the best wheels I've ever rode on.

[Apr 19, 2011]
BlueGrassBlazer
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Strength and reliability,.

Weakness:

Heavy and a bone shaker. RSX shifters not very responsive

Old '97 R500 T with RSX shifters and rear derailleur and a 105 front. All aluminum bone shaker with Mavic CXP10 rims. The bike is a tank. I've hit pot holes and pounded that bike for 14 years and the wheels are true and only needed occasional tune ups. I finally lost the stem and went with a much more forgiving, upright stem, went with a Brooks b17 saddle and 25 tires. All these finally smoothed out the ride and made it much more comfortable. The gears are starting to go so I'm looking for a new bike with more upright geometry but this has been a real workhorse and will be relegated to a winter trainer bike.
Great bike!

[Aug 03, 2010]
erik
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

stiff frame, light, sexy, great power transfer

Weakness:

dents easily (2.8 aluminium) paint chips easily

overall its a good bike for the money, but good thing it didnt come with crappy rsx but it came with slightly older 105 circa late 90's. but for a cannondale from 1996 its really good. all i had to do is put some new sti shifters (why did the previous owner put downtube shifters on it when it came with sti?)

Similar Products Used:

1993 diamondback expert tg and 1994 trek 2300

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.