Cervelo Dual Road Bike

DESCRIPTION

Frame Material: TrueAero Smart Wall
Frame Angles: Unspecified
Sizes: 48cm, 51cm, 54cm, 56cm, 58cm, 61cm
Colors: Red/Black
Fork: Aero Carbon
Rear Shock: Unspecified
Brake Levers: Dia-Compe 188
Handlebar: Cervelo Basebar
Stem: 3T T.H.E.
Headset: 1" integrated Cane Creek IS integrated
Front Der: Shimano Ultegra
Crankset: FSA Gossamer, 39/53 teeth
Rear Der: Shimano Ultegra
Pedals: Unspecified
Tires: Vittoria Rubino Pro

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-9 of 9  
[Dec 27, 2020]
BikeRiderExpert


OVERALL
RATING
5
Strength:

Exceptional bike my number 1 rider.

Weakness:

I would eventually upgrade it to an 11 speed DI2

Price Paid:
1500
Model Year:
2006
[Jan 05, 2013]
Gary
Triathlete

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Great components, stiff aero frame. Bombproof stock wheels.

Weakness:

Only able to take one bottle holder. Brake levers are not the best.

I've had the Dual for nearly five years now. I am occasionally tempted to buy something fancier, but then the rational side of my brain reminds me that even if I spent three times as much as I did on this bike, the gains would be minimal if any. I have won a number of local sprints on this bike and blow past people on bikes costing many times more in every race I do. The components are great; the ultegra derailleurs always shift smoothly and work well with the FSA Gossamer crank. The Easton wheels that came with the bike, while not the lightest, are still true even after 5 years of riding on rough roads. The only thing I don't really like is only having being able to fit a bottle on the seat tube and not on the down tube. This means if you go further than Olympic distance you need to buy a behind the seat bottle holder. The profile design cockpit is comfortable.

This is a true workhorse of a bike that will not let you down. If you have the engine you will go fast on it too!

[Jun 29, 2011]
Kris
Triathlete

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

This bike over achieves what you pay for it. Excellent components, carbon fibre fork, aero frame, Vision bars. Don't feel the need to jump to pricier offerings but can invest in some race wheels instead. Brake leavers are basic but the lightest available. A bike made for the triathlete who would rather invest $$$ in other areas of their training. I paid in Canadian dollars. Nothing "entry-level" about this bike. A good long-term bike to have in the stable.

Weakness:

None really. Easton wheels are basic but do the job. What you save on the price tag vs. what you get, you can put the money against a good set of race wheels.

Fantastic bike, loved every minute on this ride. I put this bike through Ironman Canada training last year and it was a real work-horse. Very comfortable to ride for long hours, stiff frame to really help transfer power to pedals. Great value. The high-end Dura-ace components shift effortlessly. Love blowing by the P4's on this!

[May 18, 2011]
Steven Nail
Triathlete

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Good component spec for the price. Nice aero frame.

Weakness:

A little bit on the heavy side. The brakes are not the greatest.

I have been very pleased with this bike. You get the same aero characteristics of the more expensive bikes without the price. The 10 speed Ultegra components make for smooth error free shifting. The Vision aero bars also comfy and can be adjusted to be very aero as well. I have put about 4K miles on it in two years and it is still like new. I just need to upgrade to some race wheels.

Similar Products Used:

Leader triathlon custom build.

[Dec 16, 2008]
beston
Triathlete

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Ride Quality.
Price.
Specs

Weakness:

It's not quite as aerodynamic as some carbon frames, but it's still pretty aero!

I love this bike.
It's the most comfortable bike I've owned. I've got another road bike with a lot more carbon in it and it does not feel as comfortable as my Dual.

Spec-wise, it's got all the good components where you need it(D/A or Ultegra). The brake levers and the calipers are cheaper, but they work fine. I have had no issues with the FSA crank either. Absolutely NO flex here.

The stock Easton wheels have stood up very well for training and racing.

The vittoria Diamante Light tires are fast, has had no punctures, but wears out a little prematurely (2000Km)

There are great deals to be had on this bike. I've seen them at bike shows for $1100. If you get a chance to buy one at a cheap price... do it!

Similar Products Used:

Specialized Allez Expert

[Aug 04, 2007]
EconKid
Triathlete

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Great value for entry level bike; comfortable saddle; stiff; really fun to ride; looks great.

Weakness:

Haven't found any yet.

I got the Dual after researching all the intro level tri bikes (Felt, Specialized, Quintana Roo). I have the Ultegra that came in the yellow color. This is far and away the best tri bike for the money and I have loved it since I got it. Much better components and engineering than any of the comparably priced competition. I have found it to be stiff enough to hammer in races, but comfortable enough for long weekend rides. I changed the stock 53/11 FSA crankset to a Compact Shimano so I can ride it in the hills. Great on the flats, not surprisingly a little squirrley on very fast descents. I pass a lot of people during the tri bike legs on this bike. Upgrade worthy and I think the best entry-level tri bike out there.

Similar Products Used:

Felt S32, Quintana Roo Kilo

[Nov 30, 2006]
Anonymous
Triathlete

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Very strong frame, worthy of upgrades like race wheels, and possibly integrated aerobars. Decent wheelset for training.

Weakness:

Only one possibility: the one bottle cage mount, but this is not a problem unless you want to go longer than Olympic. The Ultegra model comes with the cervelo base bars, which aesthetically are not as pleasing as the Visiontech base bar, but really a matter of taste.

Great bike, I opted for the Ultegra bike, which was produced in limited amounts for the 2006 year and came in the sleek yellow color (cervelo.com). I was elated the first time I hopped on this thing and gave it a go. It responds very nicely, very stiff, no flex. Each push you put on the pedals delivers equal power to the road to get you moving. I've done 3 sprint and 1 olympic distance triathlon and 1 40k time trial on it, and I love it.
I did alot of research before buying this bike. I narrowed it down to 2 bikes: the Dual and the Specialized Transition Elite. The Elite didn't have the Ultegra components and I prefer the Visiontech aerobars of the Dual.

Similar Products Used:

Giant TCR One road bike Ultegra.

[Oct 02, 2005]
Dave Riley
Triathlete

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

price quality of frame no skimping on components Nice wheelset no other bike even close to this one in bang for buck

Weakness:

You still have to train in order to accomplish goals. The bike, alas, is still human-powered.

I researched the products in my limited price range (1200-2200} amd this machine stood out like no other. The aero frame is better than bikes twice the Dual's cost. The components (Ultegra 9 speed)are several "categories" better than similarly priced competitors. Nice Ritchey wheelset. I even love the Selle Italia seat. Rides like a dream and has the ability make adjustments in seat angle for more aggressive positioning. I ride a 60 cm. Trek road bike but was fitted to a 58 cm. Cervelo. I just love the bike. I'm not real big on cosmetic stuff, but this bike does look pretty nice even though red is not my favorite color. If you're planning an Ironman or a long course event, you may want to consider a behind the seat bottle system because you can only install one bottle holder on the seat tube. Also, consider the type of course(s) you'll be riding. The stock cassette is 11-23 (I think). Before IM Lake Placid (with some moderate hills), I swapped for a 12-26 cassette. At age 52 I'm not ashamed to admit that I wanted the reassurance of a bail-out gear. Really didn't need to go to it, but I just wanted to be prepared. I've never met anyone that does not absolutely LOVE the bike.

Similar Products Used:

My first, and only tri bike. I have ridden QR Tequilo, Litespeed saber, Cervelo P2, Felt(?)

[Jul 29, 2004]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

The ride was pretty smooth, even compared to my Titanium road bike. That could be because of the wheels but seems ok for now. This bike is the best deal in the entry range. It's more than the Felt or the QR but it's components are way better. This is basically a 2200.00 bike from the other manufacturers for 1600 with a more aero frame. Good paint too.

Weakness:

I haven't found one yet, maybe the one bottle mount. i might go with the behind the seat deal for longer rides. It's probably good for the sprint distance, with just one bottle.

I bought the Dual after researching every other option. i wanted an intro Tri bike that was the best value. I thought the Dual was the best deal for the money. the other options were less money but i figured they weren't a bargain based on their frame design and component selection. The Dual is a few $$ more but the Ultegra Derailuers and FSA crank, Carbon strike aero bar, Ritchey wheels all added up to a better value. The Dual is a better design in terms of aerodynamics hands down. There is no competition in this price range. The next all important question, FIT. I ride a 59cm Litespeed Tuscany for a road bike. That works out to a 57.5cm top tube for my road bike plus a 90mm stem to fit me. I also use a laid back seatpost and the seat is pretty far back on it. The nose of my seat is a bout 10cm behind my BB. I researched the sizing options and I was surprised to find that the 56cm frame fit me so well. It's top tube size is 56cm, just slightly shorter than my road bike, in the relaxed seat post set up. It was a surprise that the size seems to fit. I have the seat set up a little forward on the rails. I imagine the fit will be a challenge if i want the forward seat post set up, since i have a 10cm stem on it now. Cervelo sizing is slightly different than Felt,QR,Litespeed etc. I hope my fitter did the right thing by putting me on the 56. I'm a pretty new Tri guy so we'll see how it goes. It feels good for now and i'm happy. I have gone 75 miles, so far so good

Similar Products Used:

This is it, my first Tri Bike. Other road stuff, Tuscany, Arenberg, Marin, Specialized. Bla

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.