Felt F2 Road Bike

DESCRIPTION

Frame
Felt Custom-Designed Modular Monocoque Frame, with Ultra-High Modulus Carbon Fiber
Fork
New Felt Custom-Designed Monocoque 1.2 Fork, with UHC (Ultra Hybrid Carbon)
Drivetrain Shimano Dura-Ace 20-Speed Group 53/39T Chainrings with Shimano cassette and chain
Wheelset Shimano Dura-Ace WH-7801SL Wheelset, Vittoria Diamante Pro-Light Tires
Components
Felt 1.2 Carbon/6061 Alloy Butted Composite Bar, Felt 1.1 3D-Forged Stem, Felt 1.1 Leather Saddle with Carbon Injected Base, Felt 1.1 Carbon Monocoque Seatpost, Shimano Dura Ace Brakeset

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 11  
[Oct 10, 2021]
Rabbit64


OVERALL
RATING
5
Strength:

Outstanding strength to weight ratio, power transfer is phenomenal and consistent. Just the perfect blend of twitchiness and predictable handling. Dura Ace components are top of the line performers as always. Very fast bike.

Weakness:

I can’t find any weaknesses.

Price Paid:
600
Purchased:
Used  
Model Year:
2007
[Aug 01, 2012]
First Time Road Biker
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Stability at fast speeds. Handling. Climbing. Looks. Fun Factor

Weakness:

My ridding can't keep up. ha.

Just bought this bike.. it's a blast.. I am in seattle, with plenty of hills.. and this thing climbs.. and on the downhill is very stable. I am no rider, but I was going down nikey hill at 86 km/hr.. without any wobbles or fear.. pretty good for someone that has never ridden before. It's light.. and get compliments when I ride (I have the red/ black bike)... good times.. I look forward to my rides on it!!! :)

[Jul 30, 2012]
Kenneth
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

DuraAce groupset. Light as a feather. Power transfer is amazing. This bike is far better than I, that's for sure. It just feels like it wants to go! Amazing, this bike jumps as soon as you apply power.

Weakness:

Seat was replaced with a Fizik Arione.

I did transition from a Trek 1.5 so to say this was an upgrade is an understatement. So take this review with a grain of salt but this bike is simply awesome. Stiff, responsive, steady as rock. I have zero complaints with this bike. Just an amazing buy.

Similar Products Used:

Trek 1.5

[Apr 15, 2009]
mnracerider17
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Climbing
Light
Stiff
Looks(who dosnt love nude carbon?!?!)
Comfortable

Weakness:

Saddle

Mine is actually the 2008 model but thats beside the point. This bike kicks ass! The F2 is incredible, its so comfortable, light, stiff, and it looks bad ass. The only problem I had was the seat was a bit uncomfortable at first but i came around to it eventually. I didnt have the Mavic SL wheelset on but it still rides like a bat out of hell. When you want to go, this thing will go. Also climbs great and Dura-Ace is always buttery smooth adding to the great ride. Five stars to Felt on this great bike.

[Aug 11, 2008]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Light
Stiff
Great groupo
Nice paint

Weakness:

Felt a bit of road buzz through handlebars on rougher mountain roads.

2008 bike. Not the one in the picture here.
This is my main bike now. I am satisfied with it for all around riding. I bought the B12 as a package deal so the two complement each other quite nicely.
Picked it up in Idaho and spent a couple of weeks climbing passes and circling alpine lakes and it performed very well.

Similar Products Used:

Giant TCR w/ full carobon, full DA and previous edition of Ksyrium SL

[Jun 10, 2008]
Bob Brozka
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Weight, responsiveness, rides smooth and perfectly true

Weakness:

Can be a little twitchy in tight turns, but I have a very short stem (80 mm). Vittoria Diamante Pro Light tires are indeed light but easily damaged and flatted.

Long story--abreviated: Ordered a Felt F3. It arriived at my LBS badly damaged. Felt said no more in my size, so they sent and F1 for only a few hundred $ more. But that arrived with a cracked frame!! So they took all the components off the F1 and put them on an F2 frame. This is a full-on racing machine. Plenty stiff but not harsh. The ride is so true and stable I can ride comfortably no hands at 35 mph. Looks as fast as it rides.

Similar Products Used:

Serrotta CSI

[May 10, 2008]
lakesrider
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Extremely light (sub 15 lbs), stiff, and ready to race right out of the box. The da groupo and frame are excellent

Weakness:

The Felt 1.2 carbon drop bars and the ritchey alloy stem are not a very stiff combination and will need to be switched out. I can feel them give when I am out of the saddle. Also, the saddle will eventually have to be replaced because it is rigid in the nose.

I have had the 2008 Felt F2 for a few months now and have very few complaints. The bike handles, climbs and excellerates excellently. For a bike in the 4-5k price range there are very few that come as well built as this bike. High modulus carbon fiber, full d.a components, and ksyrium sl wheels all in a package is virtually unbeatable. This is especially true when comparing it to similar Cervelo bikes in the same price range that come with sub-par components.

Similar Products Used:

Cervelo Soloist, R3, and Madone 6.5pro

[May 01, 2008]
Juanfco3
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Great frame and superb componests.

Weakness:

not to crazy about the saddle. I know its an SLR mold but I think i might swich to a fizik arione

Well it's a 2008 but that option was not available. So far great althow I have not had a chace to properly test its climing. Feather light frame and great componests. I will update further when I get more miles on the frame.

Similar Products Used:

Scott CR1

[Apr 22, 2008]
PuonPower
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

-Climbing
-Descending
-Lightweight
-Components
-Price
-And of course the looks.

Weakness:

-Very Few!
-Made in Taiwan, but better than China (what isn't made in China these days).

I have the 2008 model. The bike came out of the box ready to race. It is light, fast and it looks great. I use this bike for my training rides as well as racing. It is stiff in all the right places. It climbs and descends well and looks great too (nothing better than glossy carbon)! Little upgrades were required since it is full Dura Ace (except for the chain and cassette)and Kysrium SL wheels. The price is quite reasonable considering how well equipped it is. If you are looking for a well equipped road bike in the $4000-$5000 price range, definitely check out the Felt F2.

Similar Products Used:

Cannondale Synapse, Trek Madone, Cannondale SystemSix, Cannondale SuperSix, Fuji SL1, Specialized Tarmac S-Works, Orbea Orca, Cervelo R3 SL.

[Sep 29, 2007]
Chris Stoughton
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

I would say that one of the strengths of this bike is the component group. The Dura-ace components are excellent. Probably one of the best parts of the component group are the rims. They are the new Dura-ace tubless rims. I have since changed the tires that came with the bike over to the new Hutchinson tubless road tires. This was like going from old biasply tires to radials on a car. Totally different ride and everything they are saying about tubless tires is true. Better ride, better handling, and much less rolling resistance than you current clinchers. The first time you ride these rims with the tubeless tires will be the last time you want your old clinchers back.

Weakness:

The felt saddle is almost too minimalist for me. Other bikes in this price level come with better saddles. I will keep this saddle for a while, but I have a feeling that I will upgrade to another once spring time comes around.

I considered many bikes before I settled on the Felt F2. The Felt F2 has many things going for it. 1. The ride is excellent. It is fantastic over rough terrain. 2. When you put power to the pedals you feel like it is all being transmitted to making forward motion. 3. The Dura-ace component group is excellent. Enough said. 4. The Dura-ace tubeless rims are one of the best parts that comes with this bike, and I think Felt should do more touting of this particular specification. 5. The frame on this bike not only looks great, but it is compliant where it needs to be and stiff where it should be. A good mix overall. 6. The overall handling of the F2 is excellent. The front end is tight, the stiff front triangle and new fork has a lot to do with this.

In the end I got a smoking deal at a good dealership that was reducing year end inventory. I would suggest this bike highly. The F2 has a spec that competes with bikes that are $1500 to $2000 more than the Felt F2's MSRP. I can tell you that you will get more bike for your money, and those $6000 bikes don't ride any better than the Felt. In fact most of them ride on par and some were even worse than what I experienced on the F2.

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.