Felt F3 Road Bike

DESCRIPTION

The core of the F3’s incomparable ride quality is its proven UHC Performance Modular Monocoque Construction carbon fiber frame and fork. Even more impressive than the F3's incredible light weight are the superb ride characteristics. With a perfect balance of lightweight zing, powerful pedaling stiffness and comfy compliance, it’s clearly in a league of its own. A precise SRAM Red drivetrain and SRAM S27 wheels, complete this dream ride.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 11  
[Jun 02, 2013]
Loren
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Handles superbly ,slow and fast. Impressively stiff and soaks up the road vibration very well. Please note that many of the 2012 F3 frames had their forks replaced with Felt branded ENVE forks. Huge upgrade.

Weakness:

You cannot purchase this as a frameset only. I was able to buy a frame used and build it up the way I liked: Campagnolo, Cinelli and Mavic.

This was my first new road bike since 1983. I was starting to ride again and wanted to treat myself to a modern machine. The improvement over a steel frame is simply amazing. The superior road vibration absorption makes long rides so much less hard on my body. Also, the energy transfer from pedal stroke to moving the bicycle forward is very impressive. Hills taken in the saddle were actually pleasant. I also can speak strongly enough about the Cinelli Neo Morphe bars and Campagnolo components. Perfect performance, ease of use and comfort.

[Aug 04, 2012]
Lance
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

everything from the price to the ride, to the look.

Weakness:

none that I've been able to find so far.

handles like a dream and faster than I ever imagined. This bike responds to every to thing I throw it's way effortlessly. I can best describe this thing as a porn star constantly screaming to be rode harder and faster. This bike takes me up the hills rather than me having to push it, dives into corners like an indy car and accelerates with the slightest pedal stroke.

Similar Products Used:

Trek and Cannondale

[Nov 07, 2011]
Jeff Harmon
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

The best all-around bike I have owned in 23 years of cycling.

Weakness:

Somehow the top tube was scratched. Devastating.

Best bike I have ever owned - which is many. It looks cool in matte black. The mix of Sram Red with sensible sacrifices like rival brakes is still light and high performance. I planned on racing it for a year and moving on but couldn't let it go. I replaced the saddle, post, bars and wheels and my 58cm is sub 16 pounds.
I'm racking my brain to think of a negative but can't. It is a little flexy but just enough so that it is comfortable. I can still rip a sprint on this and frame flex is not really noticable.

Similar Products Used:

Countless road bikes.

[Jun 13, 2011]
Howard Coon
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5

2011 Felt F3 w/ SRAM Red group. Quick, light, stiff and comfortable. Awesome bike.

Similar Products Used:

Only other road bike I've owned is a 1999 Bianchi Giro, a great bike.

[Aug 09, 2009]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Stiffness, fit and finish, SRAM Red, crisp ride that lets you feel the road without beating you up.

Weakness:

Aluminum bars that came with it sucked, the carbon seatpost would be nice, but for the notches that don't allow infinite adjustment like a PRO seatpost, and the seat looks good, but feels only so so. I know it is a price point issue, but the crank, brakes and bottom bracket should really be standard Red. Right now stock is Rival brakes, S900 crank, midrange SRAM chain, and low end bottom bracket.

This review is for the 2009 F3. I outfitted the bike with all SRAM Red, PRO carbon seatpost, and Bontrager carbon bar. I can only say it is a great improvement over my 2007 Trek Madone 5.2.
The bike is lighter and feels more crisp on the road. It feels more responsive both in movements on the road, and when you put power to the wheel. The chainstays and bottom bracket are much larger and stiffer than the Trek so you can tell the difference when you stand up and crank out the watts. Cornering is secure and solid. There is no twitchiness to the bike if you have to jerk yourself back onto your line.
Climbing seems to have improved because of the rear stiffness. I know Felt does extensive wind tunnel testing on the bikes they make. This is only subjective, but with the hidden front cables and aero qualities of the bike, it seems a shade bit easier to cut through the headwinds now. I base this on feel, perceived exertion, heart rate and watts. I also wonder if the ceramic bearings in the bottom bracket make a difference as well.
The fit and finish of the bike are superb. The black frame with carbon weave peaking through the mat black paint here and there is really cool. There are red and white accents on the frame that are tastefully incorporated. I happened to have some Arundel mat carbon cages that match perfectly.
I came from Dura Ace 7800 to the SRAM Red. All I can say is, "Damn, it's good". It took one trip to my LBS to get the front derailleur dialed in and it has been a dream since. I learned the double tap gear shifting within the first ride. It is pretty intuitive...one click to go down, two clicks to go up. Also you can pull the shifter towards your hand for easy shifting in the drops. The rear shifts are solid and precise, braking seems better than the DA, and front shifting is about 95% on par with the DA. The difference is very subtle. Fit and finish on the SRAM Red is HOT. I have read a lot of reviews that talk about the noise coming from the Red drivetrain. I haven't had any noise issues.
I ditched the Ksyrium Equip wheels it came with for my Mavic OpenPros. So I cannot speak to their performance.

Similar Products Used:

2007 Trek Madone 5.2 SL.

[Jan 23, 2009]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Fast and stable
Build quality
Great looks (Yellow/Black Carbon)
Relatively light
Reliable
Puts a smile on my face
Braking

Weakness:

1. The rider
2. The original saddle and seatpost adjustment

Fantastic and well made bike. I made a few modifications over time. The one I had to make was changing the saddle. I was getting saddle sore on the felt seat on rides over 50km. I fitted a Selle Italia SLR saddle and no more pain. The SLR saddle is also lighter than the felt. I also plan the change the carbon seatpost as the felt seatpost is impossible to get the saddle at the exact angle I want. Other mods: fitted Dura-ace crank, BB and 12-27 cassette, KMC X10-SL gold chain, FSA ceramic bearing jockey wheels, Ritchey WCS 4-axis stem. Very well built bike! It rides like a dream. Very stable at high speed descents. The Mavic Ksyrium Equipe wheels roll very fast and excellent for training. I have hit lots of pot holes etc and they are still true. Great value bike! Well done felt!

Similar Products Used:

Custom steel frame road racer

[Jan 02, 2009]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Price.

Weakness:

Me

Wanted to get 3K mi on this bike before I wrote a review. My opinion remains the same as the day I took my first ride. Great bike!!! Rode some friends bikes, (Specilized Roubaix, Giant TCR) and they even had to admit the F3 seemed to have a little more pop(they have been riding a lot longer than me). While the other 2 bikes seemed to ride smoother, more effort was required to get the same results, but all 3 bikes were basically in the same class. Where the F3 beat them was in the price. There was no comparasion.

Similar Products Used:

1st true road bike, Rode Giant FCR1 for 1 1/2 yrs prior.

[Apr 26, 2008]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

has proven to be a solid bikefor 2 yrs of hard riding

Weakness:

needs a chain stay protector my chain came off the small chain ring and did some damage

love to ride this bike cant say it performs well in one area its a good all around ( not perfect) can take a beating too rode it alot . not the lightest carbon bike though. not going to sell it either.

[Oct 31, 2007]
Anonymous
Triathlete

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Component group and full carbon frame. The bike absorbs bumps well and you can almost feel it being dampened via the full carbon frame. I also like the blade spokes. The geometry makes for a comfortable ride at any speed.

Weakness:

Putting it down.

First off, I am absolutely convinced that this is the best value out there today. If you are doing your research that will be apparent immediately.

The bike is extremely light and loaded with top shelf components. The bike eats hills alive and tears through the flats. I was considering looking for a compact crank set (Felt had some in 2006) because of some of the huge climbs around Pittsburgh, but I have not found a hill I could not tackle effectively. Coming down the hills is when this bike turns into a freight train and you can do nothing but hold on and go fast. Through corners the bike is stable and when I want that extra "pop" the bike responds and leaps forward.

I have participated in triathalon's (borrowing a friend's bike) and raced mountain bikes, and being new to road bikes I did not know what to expect. Upon riding other bikes and borrowing bikes for weekends to see what I like, I could not put this bike down when I tested it. This bike makes me think I can go win the tour, and just knowing that I paid an amazing price for it is icing on the cake.

Similar Products Used:

Tested bikes from specialized (Robaix comp compact, Allez Expert), Giant, Trek.

[Oct 04, 2007]
DP
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Great for climbing, sprinting, open road riding. I can truly tell a difference in each of these "arenas", especially on climbs - the power transfer is great.

Great component set and light frame.

Total bike is only 17 lbs and is upgradeable in terms of wheelset, saddle, etc. Can easily be modified to enter the ultra-light arena of around 14 pounds.

Weakness:

Maybe the saddle - probably needs more "breaking in".

Wheel set seems a little heavy ("snap" during sprints can feel slightly sluggish), but this is an easy upgrade.

Other than that, no weaknesses to report at this time...

Awesome bike - unbeatable components, weight, etc. for the price. Amazing power transfer - vertically compliant but torsionally stiff.

Tested bikes that were in the 4,000 and 5,000 range - the Felt beat them all in my opinion. Rode Cannondale, Giant, Specialized, Bianchi, Trek (probably others I am forgetting).

I felt (pun slightly intended) that the overall value of components and frame was the best.

Similar Products Used:

Own both a KHS Flite and Motobecane - both great bikes for their purpose.

Tested those bikes listed above...

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.