Felt F4 Road Bike

DESCRIPTION

Frame
Felt Custom-Designed Modular Monocoque Frame, with Ultra-High Modulus Carbon Fiber
Fork
New Felt Custom-Designed High Modulus Carbon Fiber 1.3 Fork with Carbon Steerer
Drivetrain Shimano Dura-Ace Rear Derailleur /Ultegra 20-speed shifters and Front Derailleur, Shimano Ultegra Crankset with 53/39T Chainrings, Shimano cassette and chain
Wheelset
Shimano WHR-561 Wheelset, Vittoria Rubino Pro Slick Tires
Components
Felt 1.3 6061 Butted Alloy Bar, Felt 1.2 3D-Forged Stem, Felt 1.1 Saddle with Carbon Injected Base, Felt 1.1 Carbon Monocoque Design Seatpost, Shimano SLR Brakeset

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 12  
[Feb 12, 2021]
DishHunter


OVERALL
RATING
5
Strength:

Fast Af. Great bike 10+yrs later

Weakness:

Carbon fiber frame deteriorating on surface a little.

Price Paid:
650
Purchased:
Used  
Model Year:
2008
[Dec 23, 2012]
jake
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Corners well, climbs well. Very stiff. Stock saddle is surprisingly comfortable.

Weakness:

I would have put in a crankset that took advantage of the BB30 as opposed to an Ultegra crankset.

I got this bike as part of the Felt sponsorship in early 2011. It is very well spec'd with full Ultegra and Kysrium wheels. I also have one of the first production runs that had to get the fork swapped for an Enve fork.There are lots of nice little details on the build such as custom headset cap, orange headset bolt, orange cable detail... There was clearly a lot of work that went into the design of this bike.

Similar Products Used:

Tarmac S-Works

[Feb 21, 2012]
srenkin
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Stiffness, refined handling and light weight. Ultegra group shifts with absolute precision. Ksyrium wheels have remained true after 3 months of riding. Surprisingly comfortable saddle. Great colors/graphics. Aggressive price point.

Weakness:

Should come with 11-28 cassette instead of 11-25. White bar tape shows dirt quickly.

The 2011-2012 F series from Felt has a completely different frame than the older models. This review is for a 2011 F4, equipped with Shimano Ultegra and a Mavic Ksyrium Equipe wheelset, purchased in December 2011. MSRP $2,999. Had a devil of a time finding one - they were sold out locally. Coming from an alloy/carbon frame 2006 Felt F55, I was looking for similar frame geometry and the Shimano Ultegra group. I tried bikes from Giant, Specialized and Colnago. None had the same combination of stiffness and compliance that the Felt offered. The seat tube angle, wheelbase, and shorter head tube give the F-series nimble but confident handling. At 16 lbs, the bike seems to propel itself. In short, this bike is simply a joy to ride - and the black/white/orange color scheme is quite striking as well.

Similar Products Used:

Felt F55

[Sep 08, 2009]
Jeffrey J Schieberl
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Light, Fast, Great Climber, All ultegra for only two grand.

Weakness:

None so far

Incredible bike for the money! I was riding a 20 year old hand built Holland made from cromemoly. thought it was a good ride till I rode my new Felt F4. I will never go back!

[Aug 09, 2009]
CHARLES
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

CORNERS WELL, APPEARENCE, FEEL, OVERALL RIDE

Weakness:

HANDLEBARS - I CHANGED TO SPECIALIZED CARBON, WHEEL SET-I WOULD LIKE TO UPGRADE HERE TOO - IT CAME WITH MAVIC AKSIUM

I HAVE A 2008 FELT F-4 DOUBLE. BEST BIKE I HAVE EVER BEEN ON. THE RIDE IS STIFF, CONTROLABLE, AND YET FAST. THE ONLY PROBLEM I HAD WERE THE HANDLEBARS WHICH I UPGRADED TO SPECIALIZED CARBON BARS. THE BIKE IS UNBELIEVABLE FOR THE VALUE, EVEN AT THE LISTED PRICE. I HAVE RECENTLY TESTED A TARMAC PRO, WHICH WAS AWESOME ITSELF, BUT NOT AS SMOOTH AS THE FELT. THIS REALLY IS AN AWESOME BIK, I WOULD RECOMEND THIS BIKE TO ANYONE OF ANY LEVEL

Similar Products Used:

SPECIALIZED TARMAC PRO

[Aug 19, 2008]
Fritz
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Great components for the price tag.
Frame is stiff and responsive. Looks so sexy!

Weakness:

The wheels are a bit heavy..

This was my first CF bike. From the first day I loved it. The bike is fast and responsive.

Similar Products Used:

Trek 1200, Raleigh

[Jun 29, 2008]
Anonymous
Triathlete

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

lightweight, good component set (especially on the '08 model) sleek looks, all carbon fiber for <2500

Weakness:

uncomfortable seat, and it's so dear to me that i'm always worrying about it

i have thus far been really pleased with this bike. i can't claim to be an expert rider by any means, but i enjoy riding and am working toward being a competitive triathlete. i've put about 1100 miles on it so far without issue. it climbs pretty well from what i can tell, though without a compact crankset i find it difficult to keep cadence on steeper hills. regardless, this thing flies and is very lightweight, which is nice. My biggest gripe is the seat, which i find uncomfortable for longer rides, and causes soreness and chafing. perhaps i haven't adjusted it right, but i've tried several setups and haven't found a solution yet.

Similar Products Used:

bridgestone road bike from the early 80's

[Mar 05, 2008]
2wheelsonly
Triathlete

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Stability, smooth shifting, and IMHO a sexy bike.

Weakness:

The seats a little hard, but that's what padded shorts are for.

Bike is actually a 2008 with most Ultegra SL parts. I rode my brother's bike for a few weeks (a 2006 Giant TCR Limited) and I just knew I had to have CF bike. I borrowed his bike to do a local triathalon, but fell in love with road biking as a result where I had to get my own. After doing some research, I thought the F4 offered the most bang for the buck. Since Felt upgraded the 08 model to Ultegra SL, I knew it was the bike for me.

Compared to the Giant, it feels a lot more stable in the turns probably because of the slightly longer wheelbase. Also, the shifters are noticeably more smooth.

I added Ultegra pedals as the only addition to the bike (in addition to CF bottle holders). So far, I'm loving the bike and should do very well for this upcoming triathalon.

Similar Products Used:

2006 Giant TCR Limited (stock)

[Aug 05, 2007]
tony lema
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Great components, carbon fiber, beautiful, fast, light (17.5), and is just so fun to ride.

Weakness:

I don't know of any, yet. I am worried about the longevity of carbon fiber frame, but I am used to Mountain bikes and don't like carbon on dirt bikes.

I am another MTB racer that wanted a road bike for trainning, and road riding seemed fun. Although I do not have a big frame of reference for road bikes, I can tell you this thing is a ton of fun. It's light, stiff, but not uncomfortable. I enjoy the easy shifting, and when I rolled into my LBS and they were knocking a 1,000 duckets off this ride, I just could not pass it up. Great components and it is a work of art, if this bike can hold up to all the miles I am going to put on it, then it was a steal. I really feel the instant power transfer when I get out of the saddle with this thing, and I ride cobbled roads and think the bike rides sweet. Can't wait to try and race with some of you roadies.

Similar Products Used:

test road a madone 5.2 ( didn't like it ), and a Klein ( it was OK ).

[Jun 13, 2007]
Paul Bayne
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Light and Stiff, but compliant on rough stuff. Component mix well though out for a club racer.

Weakness:

Wheels are heavy but stiff. Good for training. Get some race wheels and easily knock a pound or more off the bike.

I bought this bike mostly to train for MTB racing but also for some criterium racing. This thing is fast. Not flexy like some carbon bikes. It feels very stable when descending at high speeds (40mph+) and solid when climbing hard. Great for 60min crits and 4 hours endurance rides. A wheel upgrade is must for racing.

Similar Products Used:

Steel Road Bikes 105 and Ultegra level

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.