Felt F70 Road Bike

DESCRIPTION

Frame Material: Felt F-Lite 7005 double-butted
Frame Angles: 74.0 head, 73.5 seat
Sizes: 50cm, 52cm, 54cm, 56cm, 58cm, 60cm, 63cm
Colors: Blue
Fork: Felt
Rear Shock: Not applicable
Brake Levers: Shimano 105
Handlebar: Felt alloy 6061 ergo
Stem: Felt 6061 forged alloy
Headset: 1 1/8" OS Aheadset
Front Der: Shimano 105
Crankset: FSA Gossamer, 30/42/53 teeth
Rear Der: Shimano 105
Pedals: Alloy Clipless
Tires: 700 x 23c Continental Sport 1000

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 20  
[Aug 26, 2011]
jamesajjr72
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

-48cm Frame Great geometry for a guy 5'6
-Very comfortable to 2
miles and maintain confort well over over 80 miles
-A lot of bike for the price compared to similar bike in this price range.

Weakness:

-Tires were cheap so I swapped them for Cont. Gatorskins. Handlebars way to big for a 48cm frame. Cheap SPD pedals were replaced with Speedplay Zeros
-Saddle and seat post had to go!

I would like to commend Felt for designing an excellent reasonable price bike. I kind of took this bike from my wife because she didn't ride it much. In comparision to the other bikes in my shed I found this bike to be the best. It's a 48cm so I had to make some adjustments. I swapped seat post replacing it with a Thompson elite seat post and had to further the reach by adding a 110mm stem and removing the original 80mm stem. the measurements are exact to my other road bikes just on a smaller frame. I was kinda skiddish with the 650c wheels, but I found them more responsive that my 700c wheels on my other bikes. This bike is really fast and love the lightness for climbing and giving all that I got on the flats. I put about 600 miles on it in the last 3 months and don't plan on giving it back to my Wife no time soon. The ride is pretty stiff but not near harsh. The carbon seatstays absorb like sponges, but do not take away from the road feel. I also changed the handlebars to FSA wing because the original bars were way to cumbersome for such a small bike. The bike fit like a glove and I find myself more ambitious to ride it everyday if I can. It is by far underestimated, this bike delivers. Look out Crit Wars!

Similar Products Used:

My other Bikes in the shed!
Cervelo P2C
Specialized Allez Elite
Specialized Transition

[Aug 14, 2007]
David Quiros
Triathlete

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Frame (aluminum & carbon).

The crankset is solid

The wheels are strong (and relatively lightweight)

Weakness:

Saddle = crap & gives I bet gives men Erectile Disfunction.

Pedals will screw up your knees DO NOT USE.

Components are a bit low - stock back cassette wore out fast.

Bottom bracket tends to loosen.
Frame geometry: has a rather long top-tube requiring those with shorter than average torsos to suffer.

Good for a beginner getting into cycling or triathlon. Despite the Shimano 105 components, will still yield good performances at an intermediately high level of competition, as the frame is relatively light with carbon fork and seat stays.

Similar Products Used:

First road bike, no other products tested.

[Jun 24, 2007]
Ian Cartwright
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Value for money, spec, weight, nice looking bike.

Weakness:

60cm frame is very flexy - bike squirms under aggressive climbing/acceleration
(I am quite big so can't complain for money).

Buckled rear wheel when only use was a turbo trainer! No problems with wheelset after true + retention at LBS.

Crack appeared on wishbone seat stay. Felt have inspected and apparently this is only cosmetic - they put a sticker over it. I hope they're right.

Pedals binned immediatly - made of cheese.

1st road bike bought after braking wrist falling off my mountain bike - needed some way of maintaining fitness while out of action.

Never thought I'd say this, but I really enjoy road biking.

Awesome bike for the money. Good looking, Light + decent kit. Really pleased with the purchase

[Jun 18, 2007]
trotski
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

light for the price, firm flex means you can take off.

Weakness:

a bit of mucking about with front 105 gears.

i'm a skinny road runner - no bike legs - who bought this to avoid embarrassing myself in a fun race, but can make this light firm frame go like a train. absolutely flies on the flat, is light enough to accelerate up the hills (even with two rings) and I only get a sore bum after about 70-80 miles.

[Mar 18, 2007]
The jackal
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Value, durable, sweet looks

Weakness:

Hard to say, you get what you pay for. I would have upgraded the 550s to something with less flex to make the ride more efficient

Solid all around performer. I logged about 2k on this bike w/o any problems. The frame was stiff and responsive, maybe a bit harsh, but fast and fun to ride. I had a triple version and had no problems in NC or NH, plenty of gears. This bike was mistaken for a more expensive bike on several occasions where I took full advantage of the oogling from tourists and casual bike riders.

Similar Products Used:

First bike

[Feb 01, 2007]
george kraushaar
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Very clean, beefy, straightforward frame design compared with the swoopy, curved seattubes and stays on many comparable frames. The frame is fast and stable.
-Good component choice for the money. The 105 shifters are techno "snick, snick" compared to the heavy and solid ratcheting of my old Campy bike.

Weakness:

Rather cheap wheelset
Even though this bike is a triple, the 11-23 cluster isn't low enough for the Smoky Mountains unless I get out of the saddle.
Hubs were too tight, cluster loose, crankarms loose, and shifter wires stretched out when bike left shop.

-Superlite alloy frame with carbon
wishbone seatstays. The same frameset
used on more expensive Felt bikes
-carbon fork and seatpost
-105 levers, derailleurs
-tektro brakes
-CA(?)wheelset
-FSA Gossamer triple crank

I had grown weary of my problematic Bianchi Veloce triple and was looking to move into something more carefree. I had almost committed to an 07 Specialized Allez Elite when I found this NOS 05 F-70 in a shop. I loved the yellow/black color scheme and the fast, no-nonsense frame design. I've ridden her about 500 miles now and am impressed with the stiffness and stable nature of the bike. I live in mountain country and appreciate how this bike climbs when I'm out of the saddle (a welcome change from the Bianchi which was no fun in this regard). The wheels are the weakest link in the chain and I'll probably change them out first, but so far no problems.

Similar Products Used:

Bianchi Veloce
Speckialized Allez Elite

[Nov 26, 2006]
HardCharger
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Bullet-proof, very well crafted ride with many high-end features. Cool graphics & color scheme.

Triple crankset (not offered in the later years) is nice for climbing when you're tired. Carbon seat stays are great for taking the edge of the stiff aluminum frame.

Really like the integral threadless head set & internal brake cable routing. Makes the bike look trick. Brakes work well once properly adjusted for placement & toe in.

Weakness:

Stock pedals are sexy but cheap & are not at the same level of the bike. Probably to keep costs down & because most riders will replace these at time of purchase or soon after anyway.

Upshifts with the front derailleur not exacting with more than normal chain rub but I'm still learning the nuances with this type of index shifting.

Rear derailleur rubs on the spokes when hammering uphill in the lowest gear. Still trying to figure this out...

Rims don't stay true but this probably because they're still not broken in yet.

Really trick bike for the price point, even though I bought mine used in Nov '06. I do all my own maintenance so I've gone over everything from the headset to the rear derailluer. Very well-made with many touches usually found on higher-end bikes.

This is my first index shifting road bike & I really can't believe the advances that have been made in road bike technology. I guess I really never paid attention to the road bike market much until now.

The Shimano 105 gruppo on this bike works well. Crisp rear shifting & the cassette is almost silent. Everything on this machine works as a complete unit. No after thoughts or misfit add-ons.

The F-70 is a solid bike. It's light for the price point & it handles the less than perfect tarmack really well. So far it hasn't let me down I've taken some hard hits on this already & I thought for sure I'd have pinch flats, both front & back. To my surprise no flats but I did flare the rear rim edges & put a slight flat spot on it.

I've put about 100 miles on this bike & I can't believe how fun it is. I'm a hardcore off-road rider (dirt bikes, quads & mtn bikes) & an avid surfer so the pavement doesn't usually interest me much...until now! I can't wait to put more miles on this rig.

Similar Products Used:

None like this rig before!
'91 Specialized Stumjumper FS w/XT Rapid Fire shifters & rear derailleur
'86 Trek 310 Elance (just sold to make room for the F-70)

[Aug 25, 2006]
Matthew Isard
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Carbon rear stays that take a hell of the shock out of your riding, which makes it very comfortable on anything up to 80 miles. The bike comes complete with a 105 groupset and a FSA crank which has all held together really well.

Weakness:

If you don't like yellow your stuck

An Excellent all round bike for the person who is wanting to start riding, races or who wants to cross train. There has been nothing on this bike that rusts and so makes for an excellent all year bike.

The bike climbs very well and accelerates on the sharp ascents efficiently.

Similar Products Used:

Speciallized Allez -hhhmmmmm

[Aug 04, 2006]
Kennedy
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Solid 105 components
High quality 7005 AL frame
Price

Weakness:

I am told that the wheels are heavy.
The saddle isnt the best.

I agree with the others. This is a very solid and dependable road bike. Comfortable geometry for my size. Stable. Stiff. I think it accellerates well. The 2004 I have does not have carbon seat stays, so its probably a bit "harder" ride. The 105 components are generally smooth and responsive. I'm a Clydesdale, so weight really isn't a factor, but I don't think its particularly heavy. The 7005 aluminum is apparently the same as on the higher quality/lower numbered frames. I'll probably change the saddle soon, but to me, that not a quality issue.

I rode just about everything I could sit my cheeks on inlcuding some higher end used Cannondales and Bianchis with Ultegra and Duraace gruppos. This literally just felt right (no pun intended). And getting it used, the price was right for my first real road bike.

The prior owner removed the so-called granny gear, but I need to put it back on, because I struggle on some of the hills here in Atlanta with a double chainring.

I fully expect my next bike to be a newer Felt.

[Mar 22, 2006]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

price, stiffness, handling.

Weakness:

standard wheels are soft and very heavy.

I got into road riding 2 yrs ago after moving to CA. This bike was an impulse purchase, as I knew nothing about bikes. Turns out Felts were voted one of the the best bikes for the $$ that year. The bike is bombproof and very stiff, just what I need for long and steep ascends/descends.
I had ~7,000 miles on it before it got stolen.

Similar Products Used:

none

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.