Giant Defy Advanced 2 Road Bike

DESCRIPTION

Designed to meet the dual demands of hard, fast races and long, grueling rides.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-9 of 9  
[May 03, 2015]
rob
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

comfortable great value

Weakness:

none

I am new to cycling so I wanted a bike i could do longer rides on, i have just spend 3 hours in the saddle and feel like i could go for another 3 hours. The best thing about the defy is that I just want to ride it, even after a hard day at work I get home see the bike and can't get on it quick enough. i am no expert so can't comment on stiffness acceleration and so forth, what i do know is that it makes me want to ride further and faster.. i looked around at some other bikes but they all seemed to have some sort ofr gimmick to make the more comfortable or faster. the giant is what you see is what you get no gimmicks.

[Oct 12, 2014]
Jeff
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Excellent frame, very compliant ride, comfort, full shimano groupo

Weakness:

Rims, tires

2015 Advanced Defy 2. I've had the bike for a couple of months now and really love its incredible how much more comfortable it rides than my alloy bike. My only gripe would be with the wheels, they came way out of true, luckily my bike store trued them for free. The rims came with rim strips that constantly gave me flats until I figured it out and replaced with rim tape. The tires it comes with are sticky in turns but have a steel bead and way a ton. I'm assuming disc brakes will eventually take over so this will probably future proof the bike somewhat. Anyways its a great all around bike but some high quality rims and tires would really move it up to the next level.

[Dec 02, 2012]
Eric Rockwell

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Very stable on quick,curvey descents.Excellent build quality. This bike is THE endurance road bike. Not a race bike, but doesn't claim to be. Very comfortable for long rides and poor pavement.

Weakness:

Lighter and stiffer would be nice, but then the ride wouln't be the same.

IMPORTANT; Giant basicly changed the numbering system when Shimano came out with Di, so this is an Ultegra bike for 2012 and 2013 whereas, you had to buy the D-A #1 for Ultegra in 2011. Giant also lightened the frame for 2012 and the price stayed the same for 2012/[email protected] $3050. I am 56 and don't have the speed of my youth. I really like the stability of this bike at speed. It doesn't climb as well as a Scott CR1 but it is more stable if you hit some rough pavement in the middle of a descent and I don't bounce like I did when I was younger. The SL3/4 Roubaix is probably another good pick now that they made the frame stiffer after the sluggish SL2, but I can't see paying $1 more for the relatively pricey Specialized. Giant hasn't cheaped out on any parts to get this bike at this price point, all Ultegra, even the chain. If I can still move 20 years from now, I'll be able to ride this bike for as long as the Lord gives me breath.

[May 24, 2012]
darwinosx
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Very strong, stiff but comfortable frame. Excellent value. Quality components with no skimping or downgrades like some other companies.

Weakness:

An endurance bike should have 25c tires not 23's. 18/24 spoke wheels aren't strong enough for bigger riders.

This is a review of the 2012 Giant Defy Advanced 2.
I'm 52 and have been riding high end road bikes for 35+ years. Most recently titanium in the form of a Moots Vamoots and prior to that a Litespeed Vortex. I haven't had a carbon bike since the Trek 2500 in 1988. I also looked at several versions of the Specialized Roubaix and the Cannondale Synapse as i was looking for a higher head tube and slightly relaxed angles. The Synapse was out of the running immediately. It focuses on comfort above all else and I wanted a stiff but comfortable frame. Cannondale also cheaps out on some components in this price range and was more expensive than the Giant.
I also rode the Specialized SL2, SL 3 and SL 3 Pro. Specialized needs to retire the SL 2 and stop milking it. Maybe next year they will and have the SL 3 and SL 3 Pro instead plus the SL 4. The SL 2 did not give me what I wanted from a carbon frame at all. Not that stiff and not that comfortable plus it is hundreds more than the Giant. The SL 3 was better but you have to go to the SL 3 Pro to get the same stiffness and comfort as the Giant frame. They are also much more expensive. I really expected I would be getting a Roubaix but the Giant blows it away.
Retail on this bike is $3050 which is a great deal compared to similar frame and speed bikes. It is also full Ultegra not some lower specced or cheesy components that others sneak on their bikes. You can can see that since Giant builds their own frames they are able to offer a better frame and components at a lower price than the others. I bought it for $2595! Amazing deal.
The huge head and down tube provide great stiffness and a connected direct feeling that provide amazing handling and stiffness. But it is also a comfortable bike. Really a joy to ride and and encourages hard riding. Fantastic up hills.
I replaced the stock Giant wheels with Velocity Deep V rims with Ultegra hubs that I had built up. It comes with DT Swiss designed hubs and wheels but 18/24 spoke is probably not strong enough for a big guy like me. It also comes with Giant 23c tires that I think are made by Kenda that I replaced with Continental GP4000s 25c tires. Great grippy tires and very strong wheels. I sold the Giant wheels on Craigslist to someone who can better use them. I think they are very nice wheels that can also be run tubeless but at 6' 3" and 260 lbs they made me nervous.
So great ride, very responsive, on first ride I was swooping down steep and twisty descents with confidence. Loving this bike!

Similar Products Used:

Moots, Litespeed, Klein, Cannondale, Trek, Fuso, Serrota, and others.

[May 18, 2012]
Ian
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Quality bike for the money.

Weakness:

none

Purchased the Advanced 2 (2012) model which is equipped with the ultegra groupset. Ihave previously owned a 2004 TCR Advanced , KHS, and Merida road bikes. I purchased the bike for it's comfortable carbon frame geometry and quality components It is everything I thought it would be,. whether you want to do a crit or a long ride. Climbing is made easier with the compact cranks which I was a bit dubious about at first but found the 50/34 chainring combo excellent. There are a good range of frame sizes to choose from as well. Giant gives you alot of bike for the dollars.

[Jun 18, 2011]
jfjurick
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Cornering and handling for an endurance frame was the best of the three frames tested. The fitout with full Shimano 105 (no downgraded brakes or parts), DTSwiss R1800 wheels and Fizik Aliante saddle is a great value in this category.

Weakness:

The perception of an aluminum steerer tube is a slight negative, but then when I put 32 oz of water in the bottles, I'm pretty sure there is no measureable downside to the slight added weight of the aluminum over a carbon steerer tube.

I'd test ridden the Giant Defy Advanced, the Specialized Roubaix and the Cannondale Synapse Carbon. Of the three, the Giant exhibited the characteristics most similar to my older Trek Racing frame, in that its cornering and handling were precise. The Synapse did not possess the handling capability of either bike and the Roubaix SL2 seemed outdated with the bottom bracket technology of bearing cups and I didn't really see myself riding cobbles anytime soon. The Giant was really a racing frame with the advantages of a taller head tube with more comfortable geometry and a more compliant ride quality that is noticed when ridden over 50 miles. A good summary of the bike is its a racing bike with a less aggressive ride position, but a very aggressive performance standard. After almost 500 miles in the first month, the bike is everything I thought it would be.

Similar Products Used:

Tested the Specialized Roubaix SL2 and the Cannondale Synapse Carbon. Upgraded from a Trek carbon/aluminum 2100 series witha 105 Gruppo.

[Dec 23, 2010]
Mr. Versatile
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Climbing, accelerating, solid handling, comfort.

Weakness:

doesn't like to sprint

The Defy 2 is my 1st carbon bike. I've had aluminum bikes & steel bikes & have been adult riding/racing for 48 years. I read some favorable reviews & decided to try it out. It's a great bike. It handles, climbs & accelerates well. The last thing I wanted was a crit bike. This bike is very comfortable for medium to long distance rides. I've ridden a couple of centuries on it...very comfy. I have a '94 DeRosa steel bike that I bought new. The 2 bikes ride so similarly that is I was blindfolded I don't think I could tell the difference.
I got the bike with custom wheels & a Turbomatic seat. I traded the LBS for the stock equipment. I've since traded the stock 105 gruppo for an all Dura Ace gruppo, so I don't know if it'd still be coinsidered an Advanced 2 - probably more like a 1.5. I'm very, very pleased with this bike.

Similar Products Used:

No CF bikes, but others include DeRosa, Klein, Cannondale, Assenmacher custom frame, Schwinn Paramount, Falcon Team Pro,Panasonic, etc., etc.

[Aug 28, 2009]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

everything

Weakness:

nothing

hands down the winner in its cat.. fast enough for a crit., comfortable all day. the guys at the shop where i bought it know their stuff. helped choose and size the right bike for me.

Similar Products Used:

roubaix, synapse,tcr

[Aug 26, 2009]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

For the money, I think you get a very good value. The ride is comfortable, stable and predictable. The components operate smoothly.

Weakness:

None so far

I purchased a 2009 Defy Advanced 2 after test riding what seemed like enough bikes to make an educated choice. I am coming back to cycling after many years away. Never serious, just weekend rides of 20-40 miles. My most recent bike was an aluminum hybrid that I hated, purchased in the mid 90s during the craze. I'm a middle aged female, 5'9" and reasonably fit. Initially I went in search of a steel bike but found very little out there. The steel bikes I tried were ok (Masi, Surly & Bianchi) however the carbon frames were what most of the dealers were encouraging me to try. I tried out a Bianchi 928 C2C (my second top pick), Look 566 (3rd choice, very fast), Orbea Orca (too pricey though nice ride), Cervelo RS (too pricey and twitchy for my conservative riding style), Scott (don't recall the model), Trek Madone 5.2 (not comfortable, too much road chatter), Cannondale (too dead) and a Specialized Roubaix (too dull, not enough feel). I am a tennis player so most of what I was sensing I compare to what I get out of a tennis racket in terms of feel and feedback, power vs. control, flex, etc. What sold me on the Giant was the comfort, road feedback was closest to my old steel bikes from my youth and the value. The salesperson was GREAT and worked patiently with me, never making me feel like a female in a man's world (other salespeople- younger males- did not relate to me as a middle aged female). He didn't try to push anything on me or sway my decision, which I appreciated. I am gradually building up my mileage to where I can go for 30 miles at a stretch. The main issue has been getting comfortable in the saddle- a whole other issue not germaine to this discussion- rather than my legs getting tired. On downhills and turns I feel the bike is stable and I don't fear losing control which was not true on some of the other bikes with more extreme frames/aggressive riding position. I just switched to clipless pedals which are GREAT and a whole new world for me as a first timer. My one complaint is that Giant is such a BIG manufacturer that the bike is not unusual or unique. They did a nice job on the graphics, subtle and not too flashy.

Similar Products Used:

First carbon bike I've owned.
Cannondale H600-aluminum hybrid
Steel Road Bike- Londoner- bought in 1984

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.