Giant OCR 3 Road Bike

DESCRIPTION

The ALUXX Butted Aluminum frame makes the OCR series affordable and ersatile enough for touring, charity rides, serious commuting, and spirited enough for entry level racing.

  • frame: ALUXX butted aluminum, Compact Road Design
  • fork: formulaOne Composite w/aluminum steerer

  • USER REVIEWS

    Showing 1-10 of 84  
    [Jun 12, 2021]
    Mbonisi M


    OVERALL
    RATING
    1
    Strength:

    Hi everyone, if I may ask can this bike used by a Man or it is designed for Woman because I saw one that I want to buy? I want to use it on my weekend training. Thanks in advance 🙏🙏

    Weakness:

    Note sure yet

    Price Paid:
    3000
    Purchased:
    Used  
    [May 25, 2021]
    rosendamanns2808


    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Theits aerodynamics and agressive geometry are excellent. I never regret of purchasing this. Higly recommended to use for Concrete Driveways service.

    Weakness:

    Can't find any weakness.

    Purchased:
    New  
    [Feb 05, 2021]
    Bravosixx


    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    It's obvious that is a pretty fast bike because of its aerodynamics and agressive geometry and i believed in it, i tried it for a month and very durable.

    Weakness:

    The thing is this is not comportable at long rides for me because of my body position to mantain aerodynamics so i get tired of a long rides using it

    Purchased:
    Used  
    [May 07, 2020]
    jnparker


    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Really light bike, great up hills, (with the extra gears) and it’s a highly enjoyable ride. Had my bike for 8 years now and it’s an excellent bike, looks great and I’d be happy to stick to Giant going forward.

    Weakness:

    None really to be honest. The whole bike is aluminium which is fine, however a carbon fork would have been preferable to provide a smoother ride. I could easily buy a fork and solve the problem.

    Price Paid:
    500
    Purchased:
    Used  
    Model Year:
    2012
    [Mar 08, 2020]
    shel


    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    It just fits! As a woman it is hard to find a good bike that fits. I have had this bike since 2002/3 ; even though I have a nice carbon fiber bike, this is still my favorite.

    Weakness:

    A little heavy.

    Purchased:
    New  
    [Jul 10, 2018]
    mendynx


    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    I bought the bike used, and have ridden over 2500 miles, and often on long rides without any problems, and little maintenance. I was thinking of buying a new bike, but decided to do major maintenance on it instead. Love it!

    Weakness:

    It is my first ride, so I don't have any other bike to compare with.

    Price Paid:
    $350.00
    Purchased:
    Used  
    Model Year:
    2008
    [May 11, 2018]
    Jcho713


    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Great bike. Bought it used for 350. Works great.

    Weakness:

    Beginner cyclist. It hurts my arms when riding the bike. Is that normal?

    Price Paid:
    300
    Purchased:
    Used  
    Model Year:
    2013
    [Jul 14, 2016]
    Zachariah
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    3
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Strength:

    ~ Carbon fork
    ~ Compliant ride
    ~ Beefy, ALUXX tubing
    ~ Frame/fork capable of lightweight(sub-20lbs) build

    Weakness:

    ~ Huge, 30.9 seatpost
    ~ Tiagra OEM gruppo

    Ok, I'm writing this review on behalf of my newbie cyclist girlfriend. The 2008 Giant OCR3 was her very first bike. While still building her cardio fitness - took it upon myself to upgrade the wheels and tires, effectively dropping nearly 2 pounds of rotating weight for her. She said the upgrades helped immensely. She also never got used to the drop bars and STI shifters - so I turned her bike into a flat bar, Gripshift bike with a shorter stem. Again, she loves the idea of simply turning a dial to shift. She can do 50-mile flat beach rides, without feeling beat up now....because her bike(48cm) now weighs 17 pounds!

    Similar Products Used:

    None

    [Nov 08, 2015]
    Elijah Harris Jr.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Nice bike when I have to I ride in the dirt very nice. It's my baby !!!

    Weakness:

    Non. Keep up on fixing very good bike !!!!

    Thanks all for a nice bike and a smiley face !!!!!

    [Aug 28, 2015]
    Dave
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Strength:

    Light Weight, Brackets for Disc & Caliper Brakes and Bungs for mounting racks if needed.

    Weakness:

    The components Giant used for this bike weren't great.

    Really not a bad bike. It's even better if you don't mind changing components. I bought the frame of a Silver OCR 3 Touring bike a few years ago because at the time road bikes with disc brakes were fairly rare. I spec'd it out with FSA Wheels, Shimano XT & Ultegra parts along with a carbon fork and Avid Disc brakes. I am not a cometion cyclist so I find the geometry of this frame to be very comfortable for distance rides. I've ridden it on century charity rides, and as a commuter. All in all I would say it's a good frame that can be built to be a really nice bike.

    Roadbikereview Newsletter

    Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

    THE SITE

    ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

    VISIT US AT

    © Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.