Giant TCR Advanced 1 Road Bike

DESCRIPTION

  • Shimano Dura-Ace component group
  • Lightest-weight integrated seatmast design
  • Handlebar: Race Face Revolution, 31.8mm
  • Stem: Race Face Revolution, 31.8mm
  • Cranks: Shimano Dura-Ace 39/ 53 T

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 13  
[Mar 08, 2014]
Jack S.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Value, great ride quality,great build quality, flawless ultegra components

Weakness:

seat post problems, tires

This review is for a 2012 TCR advanced 2. It is almost identical in spec.to a 2014 tcr advanced 1, so I'll review it here. I've had the bike now for a full year, put 3400km on it, and I've been very pleased with it. The overall build quality of this bike is amazing. Everything works together for a smooth, solid, seamless ride. Paint and graphics are the best I've seen on any bike, and I love the white/black/grey. I'm very impressed with the ultegra drivetrain and brakes. Shifting has been perfect, I only had to make minor cable adjustments. Brakes are smooth and powerful, and work well in the rain.
I purchased the bike in March '13 as a leftover 2012. My LBS gave me a great deal on it $2519.00 CDN +tx. As soon as I got home I weighed it, it came in at 16.5lbs.
My other road bike is a 2002 TREK 5200 that I purchased new for $3300+tx and used for 11 years (and 33,000km) as my main bike. The trek is an awesome bike, but my new giant is just a little bit better. The main difference I notice is the improved ergonomics of the hoods. On my trek my hands would often go numb after an hour, no such problems on the TCR, which is also over a pound lighter. My giant is size M, I am 5'9" and it fits me well. I've tried M and M/L giants before and I knew M fit better.
I had a tough time deciding between a giant TCR and a Defy. I'm 49 yrs. old, an "enthusiast rider" I don't race but like to go hard when I ride. A good average speed for me is 30km/h for a 2 or 3 hour ride. I also do multi-day tours at a more moderate pace so I need a bike that does it all. I chose the TCR and flipped the stem from -7degrees to +7. This raised the bar to a perfect height for me. I swapped the Fizik arione saddle the bike came with for a selle italia C2. The arione wasn't terrible, but became a little uncomfy for me after 2hrs. The C2 is the best saddle I've ever used. I'm comfortable all day on this bike.
I did have some problems with the seat post clamp. Every 100km the seat clamp would loosen. You can't just buy an aftermarket seatpost because of the unique shape of the seat tube My LBS replaced the post but the problem persisted. The guys at the bike shop came up with a solution. The semi-circular interface between the seatpost and clamp was the problem. The guys expertly dremelled matching grooves in each surface and tightened the bolts with loctight. Problem solved.
Also the Giant branded tires the bike came with are not the best quality, they flatted easily and they wore out quickly. I replaced them with Michelin PRO 4 endurance. The giant branded DT swiss wheels have stayed true with zero maintenance. I'm sure they will be very durable, but at 1775 grams not very light. Maybe my next upgrade......

Similar Products Used:

Trek 5200
Trek 420 converted to singlespeed

[Feb 08, 2013]
Eric Meyer
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Rock Solid. No warranty or manuf issues as to today (1,700 miles). I am 6'1" and 215 lbs with a very athletic build. I am able to crank the crap out of this thing without any noticable flex or other.

Weakness:

About once a month I will get a squeek from the seat clamp and will retorque it w a Ritchie CF torque key. Same for stem.

2012 model TCR Advanced 1 is black and equipped with SRAM Force. List was $3,700 and was able to find one in the Giant Chicago warehouse and scored it for $3,000. Giant has a wonderful dealer computer system that gives visibility to whats in stock. Remember to buy the current year model at Labor Day because deliveries of the new year occur in Sept. Have since added SRAM red power meter and Zipp firecrest 303 clinchers and this thing is a rocket.

[Feb 14, 2012]
T. Eric B.
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

I have owned Giant TCR composites and Cannondales, and they cannot hold a candle to the 2012 Giant TCR Advanced frame/fork. it is the stiffest and most responsive ride I've been on. Where you can really tell the craftsmanship in this frame is when you are riding over 18-20mph. The bike is solid as a rock descending and cornering at speeds over 20mph, and I find I am able to hold and trust aggressive lines in corners like I could never hold on my other racing frames. The bike also accelerates with ease and is a smooth ride despite the stiffness and massive front end.
Other cool features include the Ride Sense sensors that are built into the frame that link up w/ my power tap and Garmin 500. A very classy addition to an already top frame. Also, the seatpost is nicely matched to the frame.

Weakness:

My only complaints so far are that I wish this frame was offered in a carbon clear coat or a dominant color other than white. The white is too flashy for my tastes, and it also looks dirty all the time. Additionally, the shelf behind the BB tends to collect mud/dirt, but that is a very small downside considering the stiffness that little shelf adds to the frame when pedaling hard. Seatpost is a little tricky to adjust but works like a charm once you get it dialed in.

This review is for the 2012 Giant TCR Advanced 2 w/ full Ultegra and my own Reynolds Solitude wheels and 3T ergonova bars. I have been a road bike racer since 2004, and this is the first time I have owned a frame this expensive. It took me only about 2 rides to see that you get what you pay for.

Similar Products Used:

Cannondale Six
Giant TCR Composite
Merckx Team SC
Masi alu crit racer frame

[Nov 19, 2011]
George Pei
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Felt solid and composed on the move, very good lateral stiffness with compliant ride characteristic. The Fizik Arione saddle is cushy and comfortable. A great climber, descender and racing machine.

Weakness:

None yet.

This is a 2012 TCR Advanced 3 upgraded to Ultegra groupset and Fulcrum Zero 2 way fit wheelset upon purchase. Possibly the first unit on the road in Malaysia. The ride on the move may be decribed as poised , quiet but plenty capable to leap and pounce immediately upon demand. It's a light machine that does not call attention to any weakness in itself . We did a 57 km circuit at Batu Kawa/ Senggai Kpg area with undulating terrain . It climbed effortlessly showing very good lateral stiffness while stand up pedalling at 39/23 gearing. I weigh 200 Ib and did not feel any frame or wheel flexing while pounding uphill. Bombing downhill at 65 km/hr was a confident affair. Road buss was nicely filtered out by the frame but still permit good sense of the road surface irregularities. Compared to my 2010 Defy 1 it is best described as quiet and poised, ever ready to pounce.

Similar Products Used:

2010 Giant Defy 1.

[Jun 28, 2011]
stevenp1
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Acceleration

Weakness:

none

Awesome! Light and responsive. This bike has great acceleration and climbing ability. Great performance for the price.

[Aug 08, 2010]
Dirk
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Everything I want - light, stiff, absorbs the shock. Giant does a great job building up bikes Love the fizik saddle, ksryiums and the complete force grouppo.

Weakness:

The F-ing seat post is a real pos. I need to see if I can get it replaced under warranty. Just let me use my old thompson!!! Mine is a side M/L and I'm 5'11". Bike is a perfect fit except it came with a 10cm stem. Who spec'ed that? Bike needs to come standard with a 12 to properly fit most riders.

This is my second TCR, my first was an 2003 TCR Composite 0 that I absolutley loved to bits. With this bike it's a bit more complicated....the bike has developed a loud creak in the seatpost that is driving me nuts. With new design, you cant swap it out for a different one, you're stuck with the giant post as the stock post is teardrop shaped. I've tried everything - it keeps getting louder! Other than that love the SRAM force, I'm a total believer. Aside from the seatpost, this is overall a stiffer lighter bike.

Similar Products Used:

2003 TCR composite 0, Waterford 1200, Trek madone 5.1

[Aug 23, 2009]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Stiffness. Comfort.

Weakness:

I was expecting a carbon crank out of the box. But after upgrading, none at all.

This is a review for the 2009 model. Mine came with the Sram Force group, but with the aluminum crank.

I swapped out the stock groupset, the Raceface bar & stem, Ksyrium Elite wheelset for the 2010 Force, FSA bar & stem, AmClass 420road.

My bike came out 15lbs .06oz. Ride is excellent & stiff. Point it to where you want it to go and it does. It's fast and smooth. Good climber, excellent going down without the shimmy. I'm looking forward to a long riding relationship with this bike.

Similar Products Used:

None, this is my first road bike.

[Jun 18, 2009]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Stiff,Climbs like a mountian goat! The red is a very cool color! Price was not bad either!

Weakness:

NONE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Best bike I've ever owned! It does it all! Climb,Corner,Descent!Smooth ride!

Similar Products Used:

2004 Giant TCR, 2006 Giant TCR

[Feb 26, 2009]
pacelinepat
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

fast, smooth, light. Has Sram group. handles well and corners great. very lively as it is a race frame.

Weakness:

none-awesome ride!

This is a review for the 2009 TCR 1 Advanced. I have never been a Giant fan, but when I saw this frame, I was converted instantly. First, the downtube is HUGE! the bottom bracket is also. The frame is super stiff and is also light. Out of the box the bike minus pedals weighed 15lbs 2oz. Comes with full Sram Force group and Mavic Ksyrium Elites. the wheels are 1550g and bulletproof. The only thing I changed was the Fizik seat, wich is an ass-hatchet. I am also changing the Michelin Pro3s to Hutchinson Atoms, which will save 50g.

Similar Products Used:

Fuji Team Superlight, Ridley Aedon.

[Jan 18, 2009]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Stiff, Stiff, Stiff and can ride all day without being beat up. Light as well 15.lbs with pedals and cages

Weakness:

Takes a while to break in Bottom bracket

This is my 3rd Giant carbon Frame and 2nd TCR. Giant finally got if correct this time with the stiffness of the frame in the bottom bracket. I'm 200 lbs and push upwards of 1500 watts on sprints. The smooth riding is a bonus. I had tested the Ridley, Cervelo R3, Sl2 and Colnago C50. The best of all combined and all around is the TCR

Similar Products Used:

2006 TCR C0, 2005 OCR Linited

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.