Kestrel Evoke Road Bike

DESCRIPTION

Frame Material: carbon fiber composite
Frame Angles: 73.25 head, 73.0 seat
Sizes: 47cm, 50cm, 52cm, 54cm, 56cm, 59cm, 62cm
Colors: Red/Yellow/Silver, Satin Weave
Fork: Kestrel Evoke
Rear Shock: Not applicable
Brake Levers: Shimano Dura-Ace STI Dual Control
Handlebar: Kestrel EMS Pro carbon
Stem: Unspecified
Headset: 1 1/8" integrated
Front Der: Shimano Dura-Ace, braze-on
Crankset: Shimano Dura-Ace, 39/53 teeth
Rear Der: Shimano Dura-Ace SS
Pedals: Not applicable
Tires: 700 x 23c

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 14  
[Mar 03, 2009]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

-Stiff, Sprinter Approved!
-Solid climber
-Carbon fibre comfort
-Really structurally sound into the turns
-Agressive geometry = great handling in a crit/awesome power transfer

Weakness:

-maybe a little heavy when comparing it to a sub 1000g frame? But don't be a dummy, it's still light enough for any racing you wanna do.

I got this frame online from the distributor when they were switching from kestrel to fuji. I freakin live the bike! Kestrel has a slightly more agressive geometry on this thing to make it feel more powerful in turns and accelerations. All I know, is that I have short legs, and not many bikes would fit me, and that aggressive geometry translates into my short thighs being exactly where they need to be!

I'm a sprinter by nature and can throw down 1200+ watts in the finish, and sure--this thing flexes a little bit (all bikes will), but honestly, it's really stiff. You can barely even see it flex in the trainer. Kestrel did a good job with the torsional rigidity. I use to ride a giant TCR aluminum, and I'm positive this thing is much stiffer. I did tests side by side!

I won't win the world record king of the mountain contest or anything, but in my last 3's race, this baby still got me up the hill first. It climbs pretty sweet.
As far as comfort goes, it's carbon fibre, and it feels like carbon fibre. I think it's mighty comfy, but I'm racing the bike, and maybe I'm not as concerned with comfort as some others would be... (I do ride with a saddle that's little more than a carbon shell)

But, regardless, I can't think of anything wrong with the frame! Perhaps, if you're into counting every possible gram, you might not like that the frame+fork is over 3 lbs, but this is a bike built for agressive riding and laying the hammer down on the pedal. With full 2009 rival on it, it still weighs just under 16 lbs.

I just did a 1/2 mile, 15 turn crit--yup, you read that right, it was veeeery dangerous--and the bike was freakin solid in the handling department! I'm really happy with it!

Similar Products Used:

Giant TCR aluminum, Giant OCR3

[Mar 03, 2009]
Danny Beis
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

-Stiff, Sprinter Approved!
-Solid climber
-Carbon fibre comfort
-Really structurally sound into the turns
-Agressive geometry = great handling in a crit/awesome power transfer

Weakness:

-maybe a little heavy when comparing it to a sub 1000g frame? But don't be a dummy, it's still light enough for any racing you wanna do.

I got this frame online from the distributor when they were switching from kestrel to fuji. I freakin live the bike! Kestrel has a slightly more agressive geometry on this thing to make it feel more powerful in turns and accelerations. All I know, is that I have short legs, and not many bikes would fit me, and that aggressive geometry translates into my short thighs being exactly where they need to be!

I'm a sprinter by nature and can throw down 1200+ watts in the finish, and sure--this thing flexes a little bit (all bikes will), but honestly, it's really stiff. You can barely even see it flex in the trainer. Kestrel did a good job with the torsional rigidity. I use to ride a giant TCR aluminum, and I'm positive this thing is much stiffer. I did tests side by side!

I won't win the world record king of the mountain contest or anything, but in my last 3's race, this baby still got me up the hill first. It climbs pretty sweet.
As far as comfort goes, it's carbon fibre, and it feels like carbon fibre. I think it's mighty comfy, but I'm racing the bike, and maybe I'm not as concerned with comfort as some others would be... (I do ride with a saddle that's little more than a carbon shell)

But, regardless, I can't think of anything wrong with the frame! Perhaps, if you're into counting every possible gram, you might not like that the frame+fork is over 3 lbs, but this is a bike built for agressive riding and laying the hammer down on the pedal. With full 2009 rival on it, it still weighs just under 16 lbs.

I just did a 1/2 mile, 15 turn crit--yup, you read that right, it was veeeery dangerous--and the bike was freakin solid in the handling department! I'm really happy with it!

Similar Products Used:

Giant TCR aluminum, Giant OCR3

[Feb 17, 2009]
SFC FT Benning
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

THE FRAME RESPONSIVENESS

Weakness:

THE RIDERS MYSELF.

THIS BIKE IS PRETTY CHEAP IF YOU KNOW HOW TO ORDER AND WHERE TO ORDER.

Similar Products Used:

COLNAGO MASTER PISTA WITH ALL CINELLI AND CAMPAGNOLO RECORD GROUPS, AND CAMPAGNOLO TRACK WHEELS SET. PRETTY MUCH EVERYBODIES DREAMS TRACK BIKES

[Dec 26, 2008]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

cheap and stiff

Weakness:

read above this bike is not worthy to race or ride

this is for 2008 evoke menu wouldnt let me choose 08 only o7. This bike is cheap chinese made junk... lets see the carbon weave has all kinds flaws in it, the weave is unsymetrical and ugly. WORST the front derailer hanger is bolted on and not rivited, it comes loose very often and could cause you to drop the chain and eat it. the paint chips very easy, although the paint job is very prety it wont last. The good, it seems quite stiff and light even though the fork is not full carbon it has alluminum steerer.

Similar Products Used:

fuji team issue, guercciotti steal frame

[Jul 31, 2008]
Slip Stream
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Stiff without beating the rider up
Light
Aerodynamic - passing cars do not upset handling at all
Sprints like a Gray Hound
Tracks well at speed

Weakness:

Paint seems to chip easily

After only 300 miles and 7 days with the bike I am impressed. Was tempted to go with a more curvey carbon frame, but the price and specs lured me to the Evoke. In real life the frame tubing is much more manipulated than it looks in pictures. On the road the tube manipulations make sense immediately. You know the pavement is under you, but there is no road buzz and bumps are muffled. The geometry is quite aggressive. Though I am light at 143# I can feel the bend in sway in my other aluminum framed bike. The Evoke has no lateral give. Stand up and sprint and the frame says, "Yes Sir!" Much like a modern sports car, the frame is somewhat twitchy at slow speeds. As you go faster it hunkers down and tracks like it is on rails. And it is easy to go fast. Set up with cages and pedals, the full bike weighs about 16#. The only climbs I have in my area are high rise bridges. My other 17.5# bike climbs the bridges at about 16-17mph. The Evoke climbs at about 20mph easily. Four words to describe the bike:

Rocket powered magic carpet.

Similar Products Used:

Felt F65, Concord Record, Trek 2100

[May 16, 2008]
indricothere
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Very strong, durable smooth yet still very light and comparable in weight to any other carbon bike. Beautiful Red paint job. Climbs like Pantani on EPO.

Weakness:

The Evoke frame is a little heavier than a few other competitors, however is more affordable than the Evoke SL version. I would have preferred a full intergrated headset vs. the semi integrated one the evoke has.

I was debating on several different carbon bikes, (Trek 5200, Specialized, Bianchi,) However I came across a very nice Evoke on RBR, with full campy Record. I have been pleasantly suprised by the durability. The frame is very hefty and stable for a heavy 200 lb rider such as myself. Very nice smooth complient ride. Accelerates well. Responds well and asorbs the road shock very well. Much more comfortable than my previous aluminum and steel frames that I have ridden. I prefer the 07 simpler paint scheme vs the older models that the word evoke plastered all over it.

Similar Products Used:

1995 Bianchi Veloce, 2000 Trek 5200. 2003 Lemond Malliot Juane.

[Apr 24, 2007]
Kevin
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Smooth, stiff, responsive.

Weakness:

32.4mm seatpost is kind of a weird size if you're shopping around for a post

After moving to Chicago from Seattle, I had to find something to fill my mountain bike riding void. So, I picked up road biking and love it. I tested a ton of bikes and it came down to this one or a carbon Giant. This one won at the time based on a balance of features, performance, and price. Now that I have 2 seasons on this bike and ~7000 road miles on it as well as trainer time, I am so glad I picked this one.

I'm a heavy rider (210 lbs - I like beer), and this bike delivers a stiff/smooth ride. My typical rides are 25 miles during the week and 50-100 on the weekends. Being in Illinois, I can’t comment on its hill climbing ability, but I don’t feel any flex in the frame when really powering down on the pedals. It’s very responsive, but not twitchy. I look forward to riding this bike for a very long time.

Similar Products Used:

Aluminum hard tail mt bikes - this is my first road bike

[Dec 28, 2006]
Sprsonik
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Beautiful (and we all know that matters), fast, smooth. Great riding position and solid components all the way around.

Weakness:

Can't take it to the gym and lock it up outside (too paranoid). Haven't had it long enough to identify any real issues.

Got a great deal and took my Evoke home for x-mas. I already have over 100 miles on it, and should top out at 150 before the end of the week.
Did 62 miles on my second ride and felt great!!! No aches and pains anywhere but my legs (go figure)after riding everything from rutted and cracked asphalt to strong head winds (uphill no less)along the coast. This bike definitely takes the edge off!
We were bounce testing (dropping on both wheels from about 10 inches) my bike and an aluminum frame FELT and you could easily see the difference in shock absorbtion. Where the Kestrel would settle down after one small hop (with no noise) the FELT took a big first bounce and would settle down after a few more small hits (everything rattled on it).
The lack of vibration kept me fresh in spite of the miles.
Very fast bike, and immediately gets the wheels turning when you hit the pedals. At 185 pounds I expected some lateral flex when I hammered it up hills, but I did not feel any.
I never thought I would say it, but I will not buy (or even look at) another road bike for a very long time.

Similar Products Used:

05 Specialized Allez Comp...and other than both being road bikes, there is nothing similar!!! (look for my Allez on the CLASSIFIEDs page soon).

[Nov 19, 2006]
lucas
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

stiff and sweet looking

Weakness:

none so far

soft ride and stiff when u need it i now have faster sprints and am always willing to go and do a like 4 hour ride

[Oct 12, 2006]
DB
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Stiffness, absorbs road chatter, nimble, like the Ultegra

Weakness:

none so far, can't get quite enough drop from saddle to bars

Impressed w/ the ride so far, takes the edge off of rough roads. Very stiff and responsive steering. Best bike I've ridden so far.

Similar Products Used:

Trek, Specialized

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.