Marin Venezia Road Bike

DESCRIPTION

Frame Material: 7005 aluminum w/carbon seat stays
Frame Angles: Unspecified
Sizes: large, medium, small, xlarge, xsmall
Colors: Blue/Gloss Silver
Fork: Unspecified
Rear Shock: Not applicable
Brake Levers: Shimano Sora STI Dual Control
Handlebar: Cinelli Altera
Stem: forged and CNC 4 bolt road
Headset: 1 1/8" threadless Ritchey Logic
Front Der: Shimano FD-2203
Crankset: TruVativ Touro, 30/42/52 teeth
Rear Der: Shimano Sora
Pedals: Alloy, Toe Clip and Strap
Tires: 700 x 28c Kenda Road

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-8 of 8  
[Feb 01, 2015]
Jeff Edgar

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Strength of frame and wheels, I weigh about 250 lbs.

Weakness:

The stock seat isn't very comfortable, especially on 100 mile plus days.

I put on 600 miles this past summer on the Stihl Tour des Trees, across WI. Varied road surfaces, from gravel to smooth pavement, to denture shattering city streets. Did well in high winds, heavy rain and hail. The bike put up with all of that and more, while keeping up with more expensive rides.

[May 15, 2012]
Joe Zane
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Smooth ride, super agile, very light. Great stiffness/ride characteristics. Fantastic geometry. This frame should probably cost more.

Weakness:

The stock wheels suck.

I do a bunch of road races/rides and have found this bike to be fantastic. I put a couple hundred miles a week on the bike and love it. I'm 5'6" and have the 52.5cm frame. I have a Trek 2.1 in Seattle but I live in both Seattle and SF and I have the Marin in SF. I like both of them but actually prefer the Venezia even though the Trek cost me nearly 1.5x as much. The stock wheels were pretty crap though.

[Mar 17, 2012]
Mark

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Frame's lifetime warranty, the ride, and comfort

Weakness:

Entry-level parts; but, the sky is the limit with upgrades no matter what level.

Great bike for the money. I have ridden many different bikes with high end parts and frames. All I can say is this bikes performs great. I feel like it's shifting is very comparable to 105. It rides like a full carbon bike. Sure you can pay hundreds more for higher end parts; but, if you are a recreational rider who enjoys exercise and the outdoors then this is the perfect bike.

[Feb 17, 2011]
beardguy
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Descends quickly, simple, great geometry (2005 model, the new ones are weird).

Weakness:

stock saddle became uncomfortable after around 4,000 miles. Spokes broke on my alex wheels (alex's fault not marins, and I am not fat).

I love this bike. It is a little heavy, but it is fast, climbs well, and isn't too expensive so it can get rained on! I had a much nicer bike, but I got rid of it because I liked this bike much better. I've rode nearly 10,000 miles and all the components are still running strong and the frame is still in great shape. The Alex wheels absolutely sucked so I put 105 wheels on, and now I have the perfect bike.

Similar Products Used:

Specialized Tarmac

[Sep 27, 2009]
homesickelian
Commuter

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Smooth ride for aluminum. Pretty bike! (bright blue)that stands out from the rest.
Flexibility to upgrade, since the frame is so nice. (mainly carbor seat stay)
Everything is stock except for the rear wheel because a wipe out. Everything has lasted well.

Weakness:

2 things: Wheels are not that great and the stock brake pads are terrible, but last forever.

I ride this bike everywhere, as much as possible. I have worked it pretty hard as a city rider and it's been awesome.
Guess what? I paid 750$, do I expect awesome components? no, you get what you pay for so why would you complain about Sora and Tiagra components.
I mean the frame is awesome enough to have a carbon seat stay for that price. Marin has shifted the style and look since the 2005. Mine is not as "comfort oriented with the top bar no sloping up. Either way, I can say Marin's frame quality seems great! The welding is so well done and not sloppy looking. (which I hate when it is)

[Jan 17, 2009]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

-Strong rigid and reliable frame
- Caron forks and seat stays

Weakness:

Sora 8 speed shifters - average but could be better in terms of crisp, accurtate shifting.

Wheels are okay quality, reliable and quick.

Front derailleur and crankset of low quality. They should have fitted a tiagra 9 speed groupset with this bike. This would have given the bike some long-gevity and more cost efficent upgrade for future use.

Rear section of frame flexes when powering up a steep incline when off the saddle-reduceds power transfer from crank to rear wheel.

An excellent entry level road bike. Has carbon forks and seat stays with an alloy frame. This makes the entrie bike frame good, solid and reliable for the amount you pay. Groupset is slightly below average. I found that I had to adjust the front derailleur many times and had trouble shifting gears from middle cog to smallest in the front chain rings. (Model i have has a triple set in the front and 8 speed at the rear).

Similar Products Used:

None that I can think of. Still new to road cycling and haven't test ridden anything else.

[Dec 01, 2007]
Matt
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Solid, comfortable frame. I'm 6', 215 and I never have a problem with the frame creaking or becoming shady underneath me. Good geometry

Weakness:

Terrible parts. All of them. If it's not 105, it's not up to grade. Don't trust the brakes, shifters, derailuers or cranks. I did an immediate, full Shimano 105 upgrade in the first 3 months. The wheels aren't bad, but they're in my crosshairs.

I bought this to get my into road riding and to stay in shape. It did just that, but the low-quality components keep my digging into my wallet for constant upgrades. I wanted to keep my first bike cheap to see if I would be dedicated and now I am already dreaming of a Cervelo Soloist or Trek Madone 5.2, but this is a great entry bike. I ride between 100-200 miles a week and the 105 drivetrain keeps up well, although I will upgrade to Ultegra when parts start dropping off, although I don't forsee that happening. I replaced all my components except for the wheels, although I may get some Ultegra Mavic's in the near future. I must say, these stock parts were very poor for someone who rides as much as I do. The Sora and Tiagra were horrible. Bad shifting, bad everything. Terrible brakes. Once you do a complete overhaul, this bike rides well. It's a smooth, cunning bike for the price. I have sank about $1800 total, including the original purpose and I am happy with it for now. I do plan on touring in Summer '08 and will most likely upgrade to a Cervelo Soloist Team, but if weekend riding is what you're in to, this bike will get it done. It has a solid frame, but sub-par parts. Sora is terrible and Tiagra isn't much better. If you plan on doing more than 50 miles a week, plan on buying new parts and go Shimano 105. It's bullet proof and solid for someone who cares more about shedding 20 pounds off their gut instead of ounces off the frame. I'm either going to tuff it out and get some new wheels or get an '08 Cervelo Soloist Team. I bought this bike for an entry into road biking. I'm now beyond that point. This bike helped me get to where I was today. If you're looking for a relaxing road bike with decent geometry, check this out. If you're looking to do some serious riding after the initial purchase, save up $1500 and get a Trek or Specialized. Don't sink tons of money into it like I did. I don't regret it, but if I could have had the time to save up, I would have gone for a Trek or Specialized. Bottom line, if you have extra cash, don't buy it. It you can just afford this, go for it. The frame is tough, but not light...

Similar Products Used:

Some cheap Performance Bike stuff.

[May 23, 2005]
Treauxjan
Triathlete

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Carbon fork and seat stays, Price

Weakness:

Heavy, could always have better components. What do you expect for under $500?

Excellent bike for the money. A litle on the heavy side. The Sora componenets work well. A very smooth ride with the carbon fork and seat stays.

Similar Products Used:

Older Cannondale SR500, Cervelo P3

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.