Scott Addict R2 Road Bike

DESCRIPTION

I bought a Scott Addict SL on eBay; Dura Ace, Shimano Scandium wheels, tubeless tires, Dura Ace crank. I was so impressed with Scott Addict that I decided to buy a brand new Addict. The local Scott bike shop Bike Religion set me up with a great deal on a 2008 R2 size small with the integrated seat post. At first, the R2 did not feel as light as the SL but I think that's because the crank; R2 came with 34/50 crank from Shimano's lower line (a 7950 compact crank is on order). I was also not impressed with the way it rode at first. Turned out the Mavic Premium wheel and the Hutchinson Tube tire package were the let down. I ordered the 2009 Shimano wh-7850 and with the tubeless tires, everything just fell in to place.

Last weekend, I rode 100 miles down to San Diego and the R2 performed flawlessly! The bike accelerated on flats with zero drama, easily keeping up with my stronger riding partner (I am 5'8" 200 lb, he is 6'1" 170 lb). On decents, I blew right past him hitting 42 mph and the bike was as stable as the living room couch. It was also easy to keep up with my riding buddy on the short hills, no matter how steep. Only the long uphill did I lag behind (it was hardly the R2's fault). I climbed the big hill setting my personal best record.

I didn't think it soaked up the bumps so well but I guess something's gotta give for the stiff frame, having said that, the bumps were never unbearable.

After riding both the SL and the R2, I must say the difference was quite small, perhaps due to they both having such similar components. the only big diff was really the integrated seat post. However, I can feel the integrated seat post made the handling of the R2 more surefooted; I was able to steer clear of many road debris with minimum input.

Can't wait for the new Shimano Dura Ace 7950 compact crank to get here.




USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-9 of 9  
[Sep 15, 2012]
raimundospark

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Many.

Weakness:

None.

Great all-round bike.

[Dec 26, 2011]
Wipeout 2008
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Light, stiff, comfortable ride, great looks, good components, no upgrades needed.

Weakness:

None. Standard gearing real tought in the mountains.

Bought this bike as I was looking for a dream bike. This bike was like it was made custom made for my 5'8" frame(perfect fit). 3rd ride was over 100km with out any comfort issues. Everything works great. Absolutely love this bike. Very light(15.5)lbs, Some might find it a bit a nervous ride. Take as bit of getting used too. Love it now. Feels fast like a sports car. Takes corners like there is no tomorrow. The bike begs you to lean more and more.

Did a ride in Cabot Trail Nova Scotia with lots of large mountains with switch backs. No one could keep up with me in the descents. It was the bike that made it so easy. It sticks like glue to the pavement. I love this bike so much that I think I am going back to now pick up a left over R3 with compact gearing for the mountains.

Similar Products Used:

Giant hybrid, KHS 720, Scott Plasma(modified into aero road bike).

[Sep 14, 2011]
raaen
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Weight, components, looks.

Weakness:

None yet, but I hope the frame does not crack.

i have been riding since 1983 and this is the best bike I have ever owned. i expected it to be a dream on the ascents, but it is so rock solid on the decents and corners. It is comfortable on all day rides.

Similar Products Used:

Colnago c-40, Eddy Merckx ti, K2 cross, K2 tt, Bianchi cross.

[Jun 03, 2011]
kcroadrider
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Beautiful
Light
Responsive
Excellent stock set-up

Weakness:

Saddle is only so-so, according to my posterior

After many months of saving, a bit of pleading with the wife, and the impending arrival of Father's Day, I got my new baby from the LBS that sponsors our club. The baby is commonly known as the 2011 Scott Addict R2. Stock setup includes Ultegra components throughout, a Ritchey bar/stem combo, Ksyrium Elite wheels, Continental Ultra Race tires, and a Scott Road Pro SL saddle. Though I've raced a bit and continue to occasionally offer myself up as sacrificial pack fodder for club training races, I generally restrict myself to fast recreational riding. The new Addict has seen some of both, and performs splendidly all-round. Handling is crisp and precise, while not overly sensitive. The bike holds a line very well at speed through corners and when braking. It is more forgiving of road bumps and irregularities than my old steel LeMond Zurich. (Yes, I moved up a bit!) Importantly, though, it doesn't feel "squishy". It is plenty stiff for power transfer, though I'm not a sprinter-type and cannot really push that envelope. It loves to climb. At a shade more than sixteen pounds before the water bottles, it's wonderfully light, and responsive even going uphill. The current Ksyrium Elite wheels are an excellent choice; not helium-light, but a nice combo of light and sturdy. Finish is impeccable; the red and black scheme makes this one of the most beautiful rigs around. The only change I plan to make is a new saddle; the Scott Road Pro SL is proving a little harsh on my bum.

A great choice for racers, occasional or regular, and for those who enjoy riding fast and long.

Similar Products Used:

LeMond Zurich (2001)

[Aug 03, 2010]
sweetdaddy
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Light, fast, stiff, carbon steer tube, smooth ride!

This is a review for the 2010 Addict R2 which is much changed from previous years. It's now their "mid tier" road race bike with HMX carbon frame,Shimano Ultegra spec components, Kyserium Elite wheels and a mix of Ritchey and Scott parts for the bars, stem, headset, seatpost, saddle etc.

What sets it apart from it's competitors in it's price range is the smooth ride while retaining plenty of lateral stiffness for climbing and sprinting (a poor man's Cervelo R3). It's not as harsh riding over small bumps as a Tarmac, nor as upright and indiffenent feeling as a Roubaix. I've owned mine for a month/750mi and it's equally at home for the after work 35mi boogie or the Saturday century without leaving you feeing beat up the next day.

Similar Products Used:

Tarmac, Madone,Roubaix,Look 566

[Sep 28, 2009]
Q Money
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Light Weight, Excellent Handling, Fast Take Off, Climb Hills.

Weakness:

Cable Rattles on Frame - this could be corrected easy with a couple of wraps of electric tape at that area.

This is a 2009 Model - equip with Dura Ace 7900 and Latest Dura Ace Pedals.

Extremely fast and light (still less than 15 lbs with cages, pedals, water bottles, and seat bag). This is a good bike overall. I had Cannondale before and no comparison to Scott R2. This bike it's easy on you on fast or longer rides (custom fitted is a MUST). I'm still working to be one with the bike but I like it every time I ride it.

Similar Products Used:

Cannondale Supper Six
Tarmach SL

[Apr 29, 2009]
steve
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

light, stiff, puts power down awesome, great handling

Weakness:

can be too stiff on long broken pavement, it will chatter,

My Scott Addict R2 is actually 2008. Bought a used Addict SL on eBay, super light, stiff and fantastic to ride ($1800, I kno, gr8 deal!) and I just had to upgrade to something like the R2 (both SL and R2 has Dura-Ace 7800 and Shimano Dura-Ace 7850 tubeless). What a gr8 bike the R2 is! It is stiffer than the SL, accelerate faster and the handling super fast, so pay attention. I road it to San Diego the next week i bought it and it performed flawlessly. It's not as light as the SL but great fun to go uphill and super stable on decent. Love the tubeless, once you get used to it nothing can compare to it.

Similar Products Used:

Lemond Versaille, Look 555, Scott addict SL

[Feb 07, 2009]
alex l
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

light, fast, turns into corners so quickly that you better pay attention.

Weakness:

can be rough over bumps. not as pretty as my basso.

bought this in a hurry after a crash that destroyed my basso diamante. at first i was very disappointed because the geometry is so different from my euro bike that i had dialed in perfectly for five years. once i got this bike dialed in, i realized that this thing is a bullet. if you like fast, this is your bike. a large is 14 lbs without pedals.

Similar Products Used:

basso diamante,cannondale cad4,serotta old school steel(sorry, not that real these days)

[Nov 17, 2008]
Paul
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

Light

Weakness:

Scott

Word to the wise, seems there is a design flaw in this frame. I bought this used on eBay and there was a barely notcable crack just below the front derailuer mount. Only way I found it was by reading the reviews on another Addict frame model (thanks guys). I know it was sold to me broken, and therefore I'm the victim of someone else's problem, but Scott was completely unwilling to do anything to help me. Judging by where the frame broke, this was an obvious design flaw or defect. Do not buy one of these 2nd hand.

Similar Products Used:

S-Work E5.

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.