Scott CR1 Road Bike

DESCRIPTION

Scott CR1

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 53  
[Sep 21, 2010]
Snaildrake
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Quick, stable handling
Rival components, esp. levers and deraileurs
Same full-carbon frame and fork for all component levels except $6600 SL
Ksyrium Elite wheels - 1555 grams of smoooth

Weakness:

Riveted front deraileur hangar not pretty
3 year frame warranty - Cervelo and Giant offer lifetime warranties

2011 CR1 Elite with full Rival group. Elites have the same all-carbon frame, Ksyrium Elite wheels, and carbon seatpost as a CR1 Pro with Ultegra but at $500 and a half pound less, and the Elite is clearly the better-performing bike. The 2011 frame is the same design as the 2010: 890 gram frame, higher bar position, vertically compliant / horizontally stiff stays, round seat tube, full carbon fork, and replaceable deraileur hangar. Execution is better: the visible carbon wrap on the top tube behind the headtube is gone. The 2011 Elite color scheme is Super White: white seat, bars and stem to match the frame paint. Gleams like Mr. Clean.

I was looking for comfort because of chronic back problems. After riding the Roubaix and Felt Z, I thought I might have to accept slower handling. It was a happy surprise when the redesigned CR1 felt smooth, supple AND quick-handling. The CR1 has a short wheelbase (993mm in a 56cm) for an endurance bike, yet feels comfortable. After 150 miles, it descends well and shows confidence-inspiring stability pedaling through corners. I don't sprint, but the BB feels solid.

To me the quick handling, sub-16-pound weight, Rival group and Ksyrium wheels make the CR-1 a perfect entry level carbon racebike and the best bike I found under $2500. Most other bikes in this price range have Aksium wheels and 105 groups (the Synapse Carbon 4 has a Rival drivetrain). The CR1 Elite is as close as you'll get to a Cervelo RS for $1000 less - buy it if you love light, quick-handling bikes with racebike feel.

Similar Products Used:

2010 Cervelo RS, 2010 Giant Defy Advanced 2, 2009 Felt Z25, 2009 Cannondale Synapse Carbon, 2009 Specialized Roubaix Elite.
The Giant Defy Advanced is a solid value runner-up to the CR1 with a lifetime frame warranty.
A Cannondale Synapse Carbon 4 has the stiffest frame and a Rival group.
The Felt Z5 is comfortable and handles better than a Roubaix.
The Roubaix Elite is comfy, stable, and slow.

[Aug 01, 2010]
Michael
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

light
fast
geo
not a trek

Weakness:

not an addict
geo
6700 is not DA

i had the chance to pick up the 2010 CR1 for a sweet deal so i jumped on it. this is my first full carbon roadie, and man is it funky. first of all, this is a great bike, scott really did a number by putting together an upright riding bike that is aggressive and responsive. i rode a madone with the performance fit, that bike rode kind of like wood. others have also said that the madone feels like a woodrow. the scott is quick, but the madone squirts. 6700 ultegra is cool, but not sram cool. love it or hate it, everything is a wash these days, chalk it up to fashion and Lances investment. maybe we should all stick to steel and campy. not sure if i bought the right size, still learning what fits. custom may be next. the scott frame will be up for sale soon. steel or ti? perhaps a Franco?

Similar Products Used:

6.9

[May 04, 2010]
David E Martin
Triathlete

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Lightweight

Weakness:

Haven't found any yet

This bike is all they say it is - absorbs shocks better than any of my other bikes (Giants, Canondale)

Similar Products Used:

Giant TR2

[Apr 28, 2010]
Big T
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Speedy, forgiving, light, stiff, and a blast to ride.

Weakness:

None

I have the 2010 CR1 pro with 6700 Ultegra. The only thing I changed was the lame compact crank made for little girls. I went with the new Ultegra pedals for the reliability. Not sure what the old Cr1's rode like but the 2010 is svelt.

I am a big guy at 6'4" 215 lbs I tend to put alot of power down and wanted a bike that could be comfortable on long haul rides yet stiff enough to sprint and climb well. After one month I can safely say it does both very well and the bonus is I dont feel like I got beat by a cane when I get done.

I have done two centurys on this bike allready and its like the bike just disapeares underneath you. I have zero dissapointments with this bike. Plus its the lightest 61CM bike ive ever had weighing in at 17.08 lbs with pedals and cages.

Similar Products Used:

Roubaix, Tarmac, Madone. This is the only bike out of these with a carbon steer tube at the Ultegra level. Tarmac has the same geometry without the comfort. Roubaix was comfortable but not sporty enough due to the high headtube. The madone felt heavier and didnt have a carbon steer tube, nor did it feel as comfortable.

[Apr 07, 2010]
djtwom
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

light, seems, durable, no problems with it at all- fits very well. was on it all winter on a trainer, love riding this on the road- very responsive. New ultegra is very smooth very nice. Makes me want to ride more-

Weakness:

seat sucks, could be better looking overall- carbon overlaps don't look great, but the thing just works...

2010 model with ultegra- great bike very smooth and a nice riding position, not too upright not too aggressive. This bike is probably beyond my fitness and ability, but trying to grow into it. It just goes nicely, very stable.

Similar Products Used:

lemond buenos aires
cannondale caad9

[Feb 13, 2010]
bicyclego
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Stiff but not harsh, with good handling, though the stiff fork can be tricky while navigating rough stuff.

Weakness:

The fork, while nice looking is a porker. Non-replaceable derailleur hanger.

I purchased my first CR1 in late 2005 after a year of lusting after one. Purchased the wrong sized frame and it took me quite a while to get the proper components to make it comfortable. Just started putting real miles on it when it was destroyed in a crash. Replaced it with a smaller frame via Scott's crash replacement policy (a 2007) and went to town outfitting it. It's been evolving ever since.

The addict has supplanted it as the top bike, but don't over look the new CR1. It benefits from some of the Addicts innovations (carbon dropouts) and a replaceable derailleur hanger. Not sure I'm thrilled about the geometry changes.

The original CR1 may not have the cache it did a half decade back, but it is a superb bike. While sexier bikes have come along since, I'm hard pressed to replace the bike I have and have focused instead on upgrading the hard bits.

Similar Products Used:

Nothing close.

[Jan 23, 2010]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Stiff, comfortable, super light, relatively inconspicuous.

Weakness:

Possibly the non-replaceable rear dropout. I just pray that it is as sturdy as it looks.

My wife told me I couldn't buy a motorcycle, so I decided a nice road bike would have to suffice. I'm trying to get back into shape to compete in the half Ironman so picking up a nice road bike seemed like a good idea. I found a 2006 CR1 Pro frameset for only $400 on Craigslist, so decided to grab it and build up the bike from there. Thanks to ebay and a couple of minor parts from my LBS (which is great, by the way), I put to the pavement. I have ridden a couple of other road bikes, mostly with aluminum frames, and one with a carbon fork and rear triangle.

This frame is great! The full carbon frame is ridiculously stiff, and at the same time, forgiving. The headset dampening system is impressive and noticeably absorbs the bounce of small potholes and ruts. It climbs well, is stable at speed, and handles downhill corners with confidence. If you have ever seen the bottom of the frame that houses the BB, you would know that it's a sprinter's dream; it's massive! The only mushiness I feel when I'm out of the saddle is in my legs as I near exhaustion.

Similar Products Used:

Trek 2300
Giant OCR3

[Jun 23, 2009]
Wayne
Commuter

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Price,
Stiffness,
Comfort,
Weight,
Groupset choices.

Weakness:

Heavy saddle,
Unproportioned handlebars on small frames,
Non replaceable derailleur hanger.

I bought the lowest spec (Comp) 2009 model and replaced the group set and wheel set immediately. Then needed to replace the stock handlebars because the reach on the hoods is simply far too long on a small frame. The drops were more comfortable, until my arms hurt from being locked out. Larger riders should be right. Cut 200g to 300g easy by replacing the brick saddle. Carbon frame plus tubeless is like a magic carpet ride.

[Jun 02, 2009]
ashpelham
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Great groupset, complete Ultegra 10 speed.
Strong wheelset, Mavic Elite.
Strong, responsive frame, with no noticeable flex.

Weakness:

Seat is weird.
Tires are absolute junk and should be replaced quickly. My tires actually had imperfections and started to thread apart after 1000 miles.

This review is also for the 2008 model. Little has changed from the 2007 model, and little was changed on the 2009 model. So, this should still apply.

I am pleased with the strength of the frame, a Large in my case, as I am 6' tall and near 200lbs. No flex detected after about 1400 miles and 3 months. I am pleased with the shifting, and the cornering is right as it should be. The road vibration is less than what I experienced in all of my aluminum frame machines I've owned. The bike is light, but not crazy light, stock, though I'm sure a lighter grouppo and wheelset could make it feather weight. I'm such a big-but myself, weight is hardly a selling point to me.

Similar Products Used:

Cannondale R1000
Trek 2300
Felt f45

[May 23, 2009]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

The frame geometry, the wheels, the weight, the ride quality.

Weakness:

The seat post, the weight of the wheels alone, the hutchinson stock tires (upgrade to mitchelin pro 3 -please!)

I have actually got the 2008 CR1 pro. I have trained and raced on this bike now for 6 months. It is superb but only has ONE DOWNSIDE: the seat post is crap! I have put a flight saddle on for racing and the post will not keep it flat. No matter how much i tighten it or even wedge metal in, it will not stay flat.

Beside this, I would give the bike 10/10 for performance. The Bike is excellent.

Similar Products Used:

Trek madone 5.2, specialized allez

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.