Scott Speedster Road Bike

DESCRIPTION

  • Headset: Integrated Steel Cup
  • Crankset: Truvativ TOURO Road Compact 34/50 T
  • BB-Set: Truvativ 07BB 68/108
  • Seatpost: Scott Alloy 31.6mm
  • Chain: Shimano CN-HG53

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 12  
[Jun 08, 2013]
Mohner
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Super-damp frame, very stiff, great looks, great value

Weakness:

Front shifter, front wheel, 9-speed only

This review is for the newest 2013 model, with the seriously hydroformed tubes.

The first thing you'll notice on this bike is the really aggressive, and expensive-looking, hydroformed tubes and the super-thin bladed carbon fork. It looks almost like one of Scott's high-end Foils. Looks aside, the frame and fork combination makes this the most "damp" aluminum frame I've ever been on, and by MILES at that. It feels like a stiff carbon frame. It sucks up even the worst chip seal vibrations and cracked pavement. It's very impressive. It does not have that classic aluminum "rattle".

The frame is very stiff, with nearly no drive-train flex. Off the top of my head, I'd credit the oversized rear-triangle tubes, and the octalink crank.

The frame's geometry is kind of a mid-point between a pure race geometry (Felt F85 for a direct equivalent), and a performance touring road bike (Giant Defy/OCR).

The component group is half-Tiagra, half-Sora, with Sora shifters (just fine), Tiagra RD (just fine), and Sora front derailleur (not so fine, but serviceable). The front wheel is a straight pull Syncros, and it could be stiffer -- it'll wobble a bit through hard corners, and if you swap in a stiff front wheel from another bike, you'll notice the frame just rails the corners, because it's front headset/top-tube assembly is just ENORMOUS, and very stiff.

The bike is 9-speed, not 10, but I've never cared about that. The brakes are run-of-the-mill dual-pivot Tektros. They look good, and are stronger than I remember Tektros being, but nowhere near Shimano 105 or Ultegra stopping power.

The seat is a Syncros. It looks nice, has a modern design and a great cradle system that allows for micro-adjustment of saddle pitch. It could be a bit firmer for my taste, but saddles are definitely a personal preference component.

Overall, this is an amazing frame and fork with a value component group. If this is the price point you want, and you want a performance road bike, this is your bike.

Similar Products Used:

Giant OCR1, Specialized Allez Comp, Giant TCR2

[Jul 09, 2012]
JustJustin

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

strong, dependable, training road bike

Weakness:

Scott seats need to go 1st thing

was getting back into riding after 30 yrs so wanted a good road bike .. bought this new from Sun&Ski, Frisco, Tx .. took longer to get then they promised, but well worth the wait. this bike had over 4000 miles on it .. did do some upgrades to suit me, like tri-bars & shifters + changed out crank to 52/38/30 for faster rides & replaced seat to something more comfortable for my 60-80 mile weekend rides .. no problem with this bike at all. I ride it 4-5 days a week as my training bike then change to 1 of my other faster, lighter bikes for club rides on weekend. But when I need something to climb long high mountains I always take the S40

[Feb 18, 2012]
Adrian

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

light
responsive
cheap with good parts
looks good

Weakness:

minor cosmetic issues

I'm tentatively giving this bike a 5 because I just got it yesterday. I got the '09 model from jensonusa. Basically, they had this as a showroom bike for the last couple years and put it up on sale for $500. I had been looking for a road bike for 4 months now, and after exhausting research at both lbs's and online, I pulled the trigger on this particular s40. The bike is pretty much new, having been ridden through their parking lot a couple times. The only cosmetic "unpleasantries" were the white seat and the white bartape were slightly discolored. Whoopty do. right? The bike has full Tiagra components, unlike the newer models that come with sora shifters/FD and after tinkering with the seat post height and seat positioning I took it out for a ride and lo and behold it rides like a dream. My lower back has been hurting for the last couple months, so I didn't want to push it too far and only went for about 8 miles, which took about 30 minutes. The nice part was that the derailleurs were already adjusted and were shifting smoothly throughout the entire ride. If they need adjustement in the future, youtube is there to help so I'm not really worried.
The bike is very light (I have the 52 cm model, and without pedals it weighed in at 21.2 lbs on my scale) and very stiff, which makes acceleration and overall responsiveness top notch (I only have a GMC denali which I used in college for comparison, but I'm guessing within it's category of entry to mid-range bikes to be up there with the best of them). I averaged 16 mph during that ride almost effortlessly, and I haven't ridden a bike in almost a year.
So to recap, I paid 500 dollars for basically a brand new bike with full tiagra components and carbon forks. Even the guy at my lbs told me that was a really good deal, that their shop usually sells a bike like mine in the 1200-1500 range. I am looking forward to years of fun riding this bike

[Jun 20, 2011]
ateebtk
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Affordable
Good components for price
Light Weight = Snappy handling

Weakness:

Nothing.

This is a great introductory road bike for someone looking for a road bike. It is a 9 speed, relatively light weight bike. So far I have '0' problems with it and I love riding it. It is very fast and can handle steep downhills very well. I am confidently ride ~25-30 mph downhill and the bike still feels stable. The light weight of the bike makes it really easy (and fun!) to have fast starts/sprints. Frame is well built and I have no major complaints. It also has descent components (Tiagra) which are more the fine for the recreational rider like myself.

Similar Products Used:

None... 1st road bike. Test road Specialized Allez, double/ triple at Local Bike shop but didn't want to shell out close to a grand for my 1st road bike.

[Apr 29, 2011]
Jeff
Triathlete

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Good acceleration
Stiff frame
Comfortable ride
Looks good,

Weakness:

Changed the saddle as couldnt get comfortable no matter what way I positioned it.

Having bought the bike last year to train and compete in an Ironman the bike lived up to all my expectations and more, Gears, Brakes, Tires the lot worked a charm. after almost 1,800km on the road i haven't had a single problem. fingers crossed :)

[Apr 24, 2011]
dr. j
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

beautiful paint job - really nice welds and frame is strong. love the seat and forks r great.

Weakness:

BB shot after 1200 miles- cost 15 dollars to replace.
replaced tires after 1300 miles

still love it after a year

[Apr 01, 2011]
Joel
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Good comfort, excellent descent bike, although I upgraded my components the S40 comes with good fatory components.

Weakness:

Compaired to other bikes in this prices range, I see no weaknesses in the S40

Very good bike for the money. After riding this bike for some time I feel like it is an excellent value and a joy to ride. Mine is an XL in size and very comfortable for me to ride at 6'3".

[Jun 05, 2010]
Antony
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

descending
quickacceleration

Weakness:

bearings shot in first 6 months
jalco drx 6000s are heavy and come out of true easily

found this bike great when i first got it accelerates quick and also descends very well have only had a few minor problems since i crashed it and dented the top tube
defiantly beats the giant OCR range

Similar Products Used:

giant ocr2 (mums bike)

[Feb 02, 2010]
Wayne
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Stability
Smooth Gearing
Comfort
Looks

Weakness:

None so far

I have found the 2010 S40 Speedstar a very capable bike with lots featrures for the price

[May 25, 2009]
Anonymous
Triathlete

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Descending, Acceleration, Stability

Weakness:

Need bigger Sprockets for descents if you need more speed.

This is a 2009 S40, just purchased. After just one ride, I have experienced noticeable difference over other bikes ridden! Very stiff frame, QUICK acceleration, and extremely stable especially descending !

Similar Products Used:

Specialized Allez Comp

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.