Scott Speedster Road Bike

DESCRIPTION

  • Lite 7005 Alloy tubing frame
  • Carbon fork with 1 1/8" alloy steerer
  • TruVativ Elita Road 3.2 crankset 30/39/50
  • Shimano 105 12-25 cassette
  • Scott Road Drop OS Anatomic 30.8 mm handlebar

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 25  
[Sep 06, 2014]
Sam Grey
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Fast,light, responsive, comfortable (except for the saddle) but that will soon be fixed. The bike holds the road great and is very fun to ride. Comes with great components and seems to be well built.

Weakness:

As this was my first ride on this bike I could find no weaknesses, except after a few hours of riding the bike got tired and I had to stop and let it rest.

The wonderful people at my local bike store, let me take their brand new 2013 Scott Speedster out on the bike trail for an extended ride today. After riding this awesome machine for about 4 hours I am in love with it. This bike is fast and fun to ride. I have to admit I have never ridden Schimano 105 components before, I have never felt such quiet effortless shifting. I am a casual rider, in that I don't race or do triathlons, so this bike is perfect for me. I am not sure if I would pay the M.S.R.P. As I am a bit of a cheapskate but being as it is last years model and they marked it down about $400.00 I couldn't say no.

[Jul 18, 2013]
Buildingmaint

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Smooth riding, fast, clean looks.

Weakness:

Saddle ,

My bike is a 2013 Speedster 20, first road bike, so I have no other bike to compare it to. My old bike is a flat bar , triple chain ring 52-39-30. The Speedster came with a double front chain ring 50-34, it is way easier to spin the pedals then my old bike, but I do miss the 52 tooth big ring. Over all I love this bike. Need to change the saddle , and will change the rubber to Gator skins next year. Having some problems dialing in the front derailleur , and I get a lot of chain clatter in the bigger rear gears. It climbs well , didn't think I would be able to climb well with the gear ratio , but have had no problems .

[Apr 22, 2013]
gnimedez

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

performance are great and light

Weakness:

speed

it has a good look racer bike light to carry on and pedaling on the road and the combo components that mix with carbon fork and alloy body ..i have the little older Scott that i bought 2006 until now i'm riding it it is really great,...have a fun ride on the road..!

[Aug 27, 2012]
Gill
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Price, value for component structure. Shimano 105 at this price range is great.

Weakness:

Bit heavy on the frame and Wheelset not the greatest but expected at this price.

First thing I did was switch the saddle to a Stella as the one with the bike was not comfortable. I expected the bike to do the cost cutting at the 1400 price range with regards to the saddle, wheelset and tires which they did. I replaced all three and the bike is top notch now. If you want a starter bike that you can upgrade to a great bike this is the one to get.

Similar Products Used:

Specialized Roubeux

[Oct 10, 2011]
Dusty Bottoms
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Awesome frame. Perfectly good component group (Tiagra shifters, 105 RD). B/T/W, your components are only as good as your mechanical ability. I have seen bikes running much nicer stuff that are obviously in need of help / don't shift well at all. That makes me a sad panda. I fuss over the drive train regularly and it shifts like a Ferrari.

Weakness:

Wheels are heavy (2200 grams w/ skewers!) and the spoke tensions sound very inconsistent. Still true though (?)

Just wanted to give props to Scott for building a very good little road bike. I bought the speedster s30 (54cm medium, I'm 5'9", 155lbs) after getting hooked on road rides as a way to improve my endurance for mountain biking. Unexpectedly I got totally hooked to road rides in the process, preferably with fast groups that push my limits. For the price I paid this bike cannot be beat, at least in the new market. It was easy to finish the build, although I have some experience at this sort of thing with building mountain bikes, wheels too. People that spend time analyzing new bikes and comparing prices usually find that different bikes have things which are of greater emphasis than others. In this bike's case, it has got to be the frame, which is 7005 series hydroformed aluminum. The frame is outstanding, very stiff and efficient but not painful to ride. I came off a chromo steel frame and the scott feels just as compliant over bumps, but with better power transfer. As the frame is the bike's strong suit, the wheels (Alex Race 28 rims) are probably, well, you'll want to replace them if you're serious about cycling. Most roadies use aftermarket wheels anyway though. Oh, and the stem was a 110mm which is going to be too long for most, myself included. The only thing I don't actually like about the bike is that the seat post size is a 31.6 which is not nearly as compliant as a 27.2. And the stock saddle gave me problems, so I replaced it. The 2010 seems like a good model year. Provided you get the correct size you will almost certainly be happy!

Similar Products Used:

2002 Fuji Finest, 1989 Trek 330

[Sep 08, 2011]
Adam
Triathlete

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Smooth, stiff, and fast ride. 105 groupset. Lightweight for aluminum.

Weakness:

Triple crank (if you never use the smallest chainring it just adds weight), somewhat heavy wheels.

I found this bike by chance through craigslist. My old Specialized Allez Elite was blown away in a tornado so I needed a replacement. It had exactly what I was looking for, a Shimano 105 groupset, and fairly lightweight. The former owner made an upgrade to the handlebars. A nice set of Bontrager Blade RXL carbon. Very nice.

As for the ride, it is much smoother than my old bike, and fast! I was having to slow down on group rides to let others catch up. While they were pedaling I was coasting. Great hubs, smooth shifting. I did upgrade the tires and will soon upgrade the wheels to some lighter aeros. I also didn't like the triple crank. I will soon be going to a compact double as I never use the smallest chainring ever. All in all, an amazing bike for the relatively low price.

Similar Products Used:

2007 Specialized Allez Elite

[Jul 04, 2011]
ISMAIL
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

lightweight and comfort.

Weakness:

Braking system is not so good.

This bike is light,has the comfort and speed that wont burn a hole in your pocket,with a 11-28 105 cassette,this bike will climb any wall.

[May 01, 2011]
Lhazc
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

this bike climbs well, shifts smooth, rolls smoother and is an all around great bike.

Weakness:

haven't found any yet.

I love this bike, bought it new as a carryover. I really like a compact double, the components are great. this bike rides great, shifts even better. I had my first 50 mile "big group" ride a couple of weeks ago and was worried about being able to keep up, after the start those thoughts left me, this bike flies, the scott team hubs roll smooth and fast the wheelset seems great. Tiagra,105 components work great, and the Truvativ Touro crankset I have no complaints about.
I generally ride hilly areas and this bike does everything I ask and more. I couldn't be happier.

Similar Products Used:

Motobecane Fantom CX 2008. compact double truvativ Touro, sora,Tiagra. WH-R540 aero wheelset set up for road.
.
2009 Specialized Allez triple Sora,tiagra

[Apr 22, 2011]
omer
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

cornering, responsiveness and confident handling. looks good to boot. I have been riding in Pakistan - the roads are less than average in several places - the bike performs well and is strong enough to take a beating, 1000 kms later - there are no sounds creaks.

Weakness:

seat - i had to change over to an adamo gel road seat. it has made a wold of difference.

Great ride. Added this to complement my mtb. Have now switched to road biking.

Similar Products Used:

na

[Apr 07, 2011]
Brandon
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Stiff
Smooth
Strong
Relatively light
Handling is spot on

Weakness:

Low Quality Truvativ Crankset bends with enough torque
Had to regrease and reassemble my bottom bracket after a week
Tiagra/ 105 rearderaileur

I've put around 1500 miles on my Speedster S30. To start things off the frame is incredible! The frame has pulled me through two long tours, a three day epic from Philadelphia to Harrisburg, and the MS150(175) City to Shore. The ride is incredibly stable, smooth, and the frame itself is incredibly stiff. I'm 5'5" and ride a 52cm frame, it has handled me all the way from Super Clydesdale, to soon to be out of Clydesdale :) I've kept almost the entire bike stock, although I've made changes to the tires as that has become important (The roads here suck) been ridin the stock tire, and a Ultra Gatorskin, now upgrading to Michelin Pro3 Grips. My 52 with LOOK KEO CLASSICs weighed in at around 21 lbs with aluminum cages.

Rides well under power, noticeable flex if you have ridden Carbon but still high quality... Downhills are like cake to this thing, I roll down with confidence.

Similar Products Used:

Raleigh Technium (1994?)
Giant OCR Composite Limited (Crashed and Stolen)

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.