Specialized Allez Sport Triple Road Bike

DESCRIPTION

  • Lighter Shimano Tiagra 9-speed drivetrain with 105 rear derailleur
  • Vibration-damping Zertz Comp handle bar with 31.8mm clamp diameter
  • Lighter Mondo Comp tires with aramid bead
  • Lighter AT400 double-wall rims
  • Lighter and stiffer Sugino crankset w/ alloy 52 and 42T chainrings

  • USER REVIEWS

    Showing 1-10 of 31  
    [Dec 21, 2010]
    Chris
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Price, looks and value.

    Weakness:

    low end components but they do the job well done. Seat is horrible but that can be changed.

    Great bike for those who want to get hooked in roda cycling!!!! I've had my 2009 Specialized Allez sport Triple for 1 1/2 and put about 1000 miles on it. It will do anything you want, great looks, components are in the ok side for what you pay, for $800 your not getting Record or Ultegra thats for sure. No mechnical problems so far. Ready for part with this bike as I bought a 2011 Specialized Tarmac Comp with Ultegra.

    Similar Products Used:

    None

    [Jul 23, 2009]
    Anonymous
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    The geometry for me - I'm 6'1". This bike was better than the similar Trek bicycle for me, which I originally intended to purchase. After riding the Trek, the salesman suggested the Specialized as a comparison. I tried it and it was love at first sight! The feel was great and it didn't seem as though I was stretched out trying to reach for the handlebars and shifter/brake levers. Additionally the shifting levers were "unitiezed" in the brake levers, not having that nasty little nub under your thumbs found on cheaper component sets. This isn't the "best" (most expensive) bike but is very nice for my and I suspect most people's needs. Trek does make a nice bike too, but I like the Specialized better. I would buy another one.

    Weakness:

    Over time it seems that the cable housings have rubbed a couple of areas on the bicycle and have worn the paint in a couple of small areas away. This may be inevitable and there is nothing I can do about it. It is the ONLY small irritant with the bike.

    Having had this bicycle for 3 years now I can honestly say that it has really been a fine bike! I have not changed any of the major components on the bicycle save for the pedals. I took off the bad/retro toe clip pedals and replaced them with KEO Classic pedals. At my level of riding shaving grams was simply not worth it. The KEO Classics are great and allow the use of superior clipless pedals. I also added a Cat Eye Cycle Computer. I am comtemplating a seat replacement, but have not done it yet. The bicycle is wonderful as is, save for the cheap pedals - they must figure you will replace them anyway, so they just put cheapies on to allow it to get out the door. The bike is light with a superior fit and finish. I would think that a used one in good shape would be a fine value. You could always update the components. The frame wonderful! As a whole this, although not the bike that is currently sold now (approx $1500.00), it is a much better value for the dollar than what is currently in production. If you are looking for a used bicycle in good shape for road riding, I'd snap that up for a fraction of the price of the new model rather than spend a lot of money on this year's model. I rate this a 5 for both Value and Overall because this fits my needs perfectly!

    Similar Products Used:

    I had a Trek "comfort" bike from 2003-2006 after my kids started riding. Trust me when I tell you there was NOTHING comfortable about it! I HATED the shock in the seatpost and everything else was too spongy about the bike. I had been a road rider in high school and college, having built my own bicycle from separately purchased components. Not wanting to do that again I simply wanted a new, fully assembled bicycle with nicely matched components. I got on a road bike and recalled what I had forgotten - the thrill and fun of having a nice road bike. I knew I had to have one again.

    [May 06, 2009]
    Jarvis Stewart
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    The frame is good, and the bike is pretty light. Plus, it looks badass.

    Weakness:

    The components are pretty poor, and you will probably replace them before too long. The seat isn't the best either, but these are small potatoes for the price.

    This bike was my introduction to road cycling. I have nothing but good things to say about the Allez triple.

    Similar Products Used:

    Trek 1.2

    [Dec 18, 2008]
    chucspe
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Strength:

    will get you hooked on cycling!
    Geometry is all but identical to 2009 Tarmacs.
    Frame is super durable! i am heavy guy that can pound the pedals and the frame has never cracked. Add in rough roads, pot holes, and road rash (on me not the bike) and you have a rider that is surprised his bike isn't in two pieces.

    rear shifting is good (so is the front if you keep it adjusted properly)

    front shifting is 100% better than the sora you get on $700 bikes nowadays.

    Zertz handle bars are sweet

    my bike shop has to be the best in the country, free adjustments for three years, coffee, and all the bike porn you can stand.

    This bike can be fixed no matter what happens (for those of you that gave it bad reviews)

    Weakness:

    -brakes are spongy with stock pads, add dura-ace pads for $9.00 and you're set.

    -wheels blow, i upgraded to ksyrium
    elites

    square taper bottom bracket has to be rebuilt from time to time

    i have had issues with it creaking, sometime bars, stem, b-b, seat but always fixable by tightening bolts

    this was my first bike and did it's job. I was nice enough that it didn't limit my enjoyment, yet after about 1000miles i realized that i was going to need a better bike. I have put 3500+ miles on it now, and now i'm saving for a full race bike. When i first got it i weighed about 220 i now weigh 195, so i'm confident in my torture abilities. This bike has seen it all! I've commuted off road at times, wrecked it multiple times, ridden on some of the worst road in Indiana, raced it, spent long hours on it, and climbed some STEEP ascents. It goes as fast as i want, it climbs well enough, the triple saved my fat butt a few times, but it does have some weaknesses set up as stock.

    The wheels sucked!! which, sadly, is all but expected at this price point. They didn't last 1000miles before the rear wheel melted down(broke spokes galore, stayed out of true, kept giving me flats because of burrs). As for the front wheel, it's as true as the day i bought it.
    Shifting, what can i say? sure front shifting sucks, 700bucks doesn't get you record, but it got me on the road. But the shifting had not been as bad as some of the reviews i have read. If the chain pops off, I just shift up or down in the opposite direction of dismount, and then take it to my shop so they can re-adjust the limit screws in about 2.5 seconds for free. Sure, the front won't shift under pressure, you're not supposed to do that anyway if want to keep your drivetrain any amount of time. I haven't had any problems other than the parts that should be upgraded anyway.
    In the end, I think this is a great starter bike that is sure to get anyone hooked on cycling.

    Similar Products Used:

    little 5 bike, test ridden almost every bike in production

    [Jul 27, 2008]
    CareBear
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    2
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Strength:

    Price

    Weakness:

    Deraileur, wheelset

    I have had nothing but problems with this bike. Broken spokes, deraileur slips when climbing, and lots of vibration.

    Similar Products Used:

    Trek 5000

    [Sep 18, 2007]
    John
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Light weight, beautiful color and paintjob, high quality hardware and components.

    Weakness:

    None

    I bought this bike as a leftover in 1999...it is my first road bike and I LOVE it. The components are all Shimano-Ultegra and I've had no problems with performance or maintenance...everything has worked exactly as intended. Actually, the frame just broke where the chainstay meets the drop-out (right through the hole for the replaceable derailleur hanger) but the frame has a lifetime warranty and Specialized is sending me a brand new replacement frame (I should have next week). I would highly recommend this bike for anyone who is into serious recreational road riding (charity rides, excercise, etc., NOT just putzing around).

    Similar Products Used:

    N/A

    [Aug 19, 2007]
    bentley altizer
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Strength:

    the RX100 group although old feels great and sifts smooth. The all steel build also makes for a nice ride.

    Weakness:

    The wheels are pretty junky. they heavy and out of true.

    My allez sport a 94' but i got it from a friend with less than 100 miles on it.

    Similar Products Used:

    trek t1000

    [Jul 08, 2007]
    Dan Erlewine
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    3
    Strength:

    Great solid frame, bike has great pick-up and I'm able to best anyone from a dead stop. Stylish look. I'm not worried while going 35mph downhill, feels very solid.

    Weakness:

    Shifters. Sora shifters are terrible, the front derailleur is aweful. I was considering upgrading the entire drive-train but am now looking to buy the Elite.
    Wheels are terrible as well. Had to replace with a Mavic Wheelset. The stock wheels are heavy, easily out of true, and cause the entire frame to vibrate like crazy. If you are looking for smooth shifting, spend the extra dough to get the Elite and the 105 shifter set.

    Great entry level bike. It was a toss-up between this and the Allez Elite, the Elite frame however couldn't take a rear-mounted rack so I went with this one. But I wound up not mounting the rack anyway and using this bike not as a commuter. Oh well.

    Similar Products Used:

    Trek 1500, Allez Elite (friends 2004), Fuji Road

    [Jun 11, 2007]
    IAmCosmo
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Strength:

    A lot of bike for a little money. I'm not into weight, but the bike is relatively light compared to friends bikes of other brands at the same price point. Bike had held up well under me, and I'm neither graceful or light.

    Weakness:

    Stock wheels. No broken spokes, but needed lots of attention on the truing stand. If it wasn't for the wheels, the value rating would have been a 5.

    My first "real" road bike. I got into road biking after being a die-hard mountain biker for many years. My father-in-law bought this bike, but didn't like the sloping top tube. Since it was similar to a mountain bike, naturally I had no problem with it. I ride this bike most every day. The bike feels almost like it was made to fit me. I'm not much of a climber, but I feel like the bike wants to climb well. After playing hockey for the past 30 years, my legs are pretty strong. I don't detect any flex in the frame no matter how hard I push. The main problem I had was with the Alex wheelset that came stock. It required a lot of truing. I replaced it with a set of Neuvation M-28's and haven't looked back. I also removed the gel inserts under the handlebar tape, but that's just a personal preference thing.

    [Mar 21, 2007]
    Barre Metzler
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Light, strong, responsive. Good components.

    Weakness:

    Wheels, but I didn't have nearly as bad an experience as some responses have noted. I am 215# by the way, riding a 61 cm frame.

    I loved this bike when I first bought it and still do. I have ridden three MS 150's and logged over 5,000 miles so far without even an adjustment to the deraileurs. The rims were Alex at the time, and although not the greatest, I did get approximately 3,500 miles out of them before changing to a set of Mavic Aksiums. Swapped pedals out for Looks when first purchased. This bike was flooded with salt water during Hurricane Katrina for a number of days and is working fine after having BB bearings and wheels changed. Pedals look like crap but are still working for now. The frame had lots of water in it. Still looks good and rides great - I was thrilled to salvage it.

    Similar Products Used:

    Old Peugeot road bike,
    Cannondale model unknown,
    Mongoose MTB

    Roadbikereview Newsletter

    Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

    THE SITE

    ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

    VISIT US AT

    © Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.