Specialized Sequoia Road Bike

DESCRIPTION

  • Specialized A1 Premium Aluminum frame with rack and fender braze-ons
  • FACT carbon fork with vibration-damping Zertz inserts
  • More adjustable, lighter Specialized Pro, 3D forged stem with 8-position adjustability
  • Body Geometry Sequoia Zertz drop bar and Bar Phat gel padding provide comfortable hand positions
  • Shimano Sora/Tiagra drivetrain for years of smooth shifting performance

  • USER REVIEWS

    Showing 1-10 of 17  
    [Aug 03, 2013]
    Claude Desjardins

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Light weight and rigid. Good weels. Good brakes. Great paint job. The gears are not noisy and changes fairly efficiently.
    The dealer and bike shop Neron Sport in Brossard
    http://cycleneron.com/
    is very good in their expertise, bike maintenance and repairs. This bike shop is essentials for my client satisfaction.They deliver always!

    Weakness:

    The secondary brakes handles on the handle bar are not necessary in my opinion. I use them occasionnally on long strait

    Grat bike for the price.

    [Sep 17, 2012]
    AverageJoeCyclist

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Speed - it feels like it wants to run away, like a race horse! Frame is strong. It's rock steady at speed. Fit: so relaxed yet so fast! Even for an older guy like me. Definitely the best road bike I have had so far (I only spend up to around $1,000).

    Weakness:

    Saddle was poor. Stock pedals were very poor. Stock brake pads were complete rubbish and actually splintered and started to scratch my rims! But that was a cheap replacement.

    I love this bike and have had some of my fastest, best rides ever on it. I also wrote an in-depth review about it on my blog at http://averagejoecyclist.com/?p=2723

    [Jul 15, 2012]
    netsullivc
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Frame and forks built like a truck.

    Weakness:

    Weighs a ton (12kg with racing wheels).

    I have the 2004 model and you have no idea how much use it has had - this bike does not owe me a cent! The good things first - the frame is super solid (but weighs a ton) bollard at 30kmh trashed me one scratch of the bikes, pot holes crashes to many to count, off road, dirt tracks gutters panniers ridden over you name it, this is one tough frame has had it all. Been everywhere done everything. Tough old beast. The bad side? Original equipment is rubbish, wheels blew spokes left right and center, chucked after a year, brakes bound up (caliper bearings) BB went, cables stretched, seat demolished, spring seat dead, chain wheels trashed (soft) specialised warranty - good luck! Frame only now getting a bit flexible but hey thats on vertical climbs with full power! Mavic Aksiums helped the performance and wheel durabilty no end. Shimano Sora has lasted all this time the shifters are all smashed up but still work! The derailers are end of life simply because the springs have gone but still works just! (I am amazed they have lasted!) Hey if it wasnt a size to small for me I would keep the frame and replace everything that moves on it - I love the old girl! Modern supa light weight flashy bikes just arent the same...! Will they be around after 8 years of hard use - not a chance!

    [Sep 18, 2011]
    Tim D. Thome
    Commuter

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Speed, agility, comfort, weight.

    Weakness:

    None I can think of.

    I bought this 2009 Sequoia about 2/3 months ago (not sure if it is Elite as it does not say this on the frame). The bike had been on layaway but the person never finished paying and did not pick it up, so the bike shop placed it out for sale and I scooped it up that very same day.
    It has an XL frame and came with the standard equipment. My bar configuration was the standard dropdown (I call them rams horns), but I do not like the rams horn bars as I cannot get comfortable with them. My local bike shop had a used set of straight (5 degree sweep) mountain bike bars in the back and I had them switch them for me. I take the sweep built into these bars and point it down. This is a super configuration as it is more in alignment with my arms and wrists. I find this very comfortable and far more ergonomic for the long haul. I replaced the shifters and brakes with the Shimano 9 speed shifter/derailer and added Crane Creek, Flat Top brake levers. I also replaced the pedals with Shimano clipless pedals. Man does this help with the control and power applications needed when riding!
    I did add a Topeak rack and bag over the back tire as I bought this bike to commute to work. It is 17 miles one way. The terrain is mostly flat with rolling hills along the way. I ride a bike trail about 10 miles the rest is street. In the bikes current configuration it is really responsive and fast, only takes an hour to get to work. The ride home is a little longer as I am not under any time constraints and ride to enjoy myself.
    I really like the aluminum frame and love the carbon forks with the Zertz inserts; they really absorb the shock and vibrations of riding. I have ridden friends Cervelo's and a few others such as Giants and Raleigh’s and they don't compare in comfort or handling!! That is not to say they aren't great bikes, they are, but I like mine better!
    I can say that after 632 miles so far, that if the bike does not disintegrate the only way I would part with this bike is if you pry it from my cold dead hands!!
    Can you tell I like this bike?

    Similar Products Used:

    A variety of bikes over the years.

    [Jul 07, 2009]
    btmvision
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Price, ride, upright geometry

    Weakness:

    None for price. I will upgrade to 105 components and a better wheel set in the future. It is less expensive to add components than buy a new bike (which does not have the same geometry).

    I purchased in 2005 so I assume it is a 2005 model. I put maybe 500 miles on it the first two years and did not rdie in 08 due to personal reasons. This year I began riding more often in order to deal with my diabetes. I need to say that I had an injury in the past hat resulted in a fused ankle and two compressed vertabrae. So far this year I have put in 700 miles with a goal of 1200 by October. This bike does everything I could ask and for a much lower cost than the bike I see when riding with the Harpeth Bike Club. I did have the 12-25 cassette changed to a 11-32 which has helped greatly with the hills in middle Tennessee. I am learning that component upgrades such as wheel sets and crank sets would put this bike at the same level as those more expensive bikes while still providing the geometry for a 50 year old.

    Similar Products Used:

    I tested the Trek 1000 and 1200. The 1000 did not come close. The 1200 was similar but I preferred the Sequoia.

    [Mar 29, 2009]
    Seattle Sequoia
    Commuter

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Strength:

    Lightweight, brake levers on top of handlebars! comfy handlebar position, little effort while pedaling, comfy in all handlebar position, carbon forks and seat post absorb vibration.

    Weakness:

    Seat. I put on a gel seat cover from old bike and is fine for now. Brakes are sketchy but do their job, even in rainy Seattle.

    2008 Specialized Sequoia Green/Silver Purchased less than a week ago. I plan on using this bicycle to commute to work using King County Metro and the Washington State Ferry. This bike is made well, comfy while cruising down city streets, and has a great fit for me. A great alternative for those who cannot afford to spend $1,000 + for the Roubaix. Seat and brakes aren't the greatest but a very good deal for such a low price. Handles the muddy grassy areas between trails just fine. 22lbs (- accessories) so great for people who carry their bikes up the stairs in an apartment.

    Similar Products Used:

    1994 Specialized Hardrock, 1999 Specialized Hardrock, 2005 Roubaix ($1500?), testrode a Sirrus.

    [Feb 15, 2009]
    HB
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    I really did like the frame geometry, and the relative light weight.

    Weakness:

    The only problem I had was the front shifter which I had to take back to the dealer twice for adjustment.

    Actually the bike was a 2008 version. I rode it about 600 in a three month period.I found it very comfortable, particular on the lower bars. I am an old guy, so I am not as flexible as many younger people.

    [Sep 27, 2008]
    Minnesnowtan
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Carbon fork & zertz insert give a smooth stable ride. I like the extra brake levers on the top tube. Same frame geometry as Roubaix in this year.

    Weakness:

    The 8 speed cassette. I would really rather have a 9 or 10 in order to go smoothly to a taller rear cog. The 25 tooth big cog was hard for me to climb hills with. But maybe I'm a wimp, and I do have one leg that is quite a bit thinner than the other.

    When I rode my 1996 hybrid over the sunken sidewalk block, I got a BLAM-BLAM as my 700 x 32c tires went down and back up the 2 inch drop. When I unthinkingly rode the Sequoia over the same place, I got a kathump-kathump, surprisingly gentler and quieter. Probably due to the carbon fork and its zertz inserts. Wow, what a difference!. The roads all felt smoother, and I liked the riding position on the Sequoia. I bought this bike because my older and sometimes smarter brother bought a Specialized Roubaix Elite or Comp from 2004. I read all I could an=bout specialized and was impressed by their R&D. There was also the factor of my being well over 40 and finding a road bike with a more upright geometry. When I compared the 2007 frames of the Sequoia and the Roubaix, the angles were the same. So I saw the Sequoia as a low end Roubaix. I ride in non-technical clothes; hush puppy soft soled shoes in toe clips. I do 30 and 40 mile rides at times, and average 12-13mph including our big hills. I had trouble climbing some hills so I bought an 11-28 cassette to replace the 12-25. The 28 helps, but so would stronger legs and (I am learning) bike shoes that clip on to pedals. I have done 900 miles from April to Sept this year, and like the bike very much. I only wish I had a 10 speed cassette and shifters. The Sora shifters work well, with a rare incomplete shift in the front. The auxillary brake levers on the top tube stop me better the the main levers from the hood position. The hood position is adequate for braking, excellent for shifting. The initial feeling of super smoothness is gone because I am so accustomed to it, and the stability of the bike down hills and on turns is quite nice. Much of my riding is in hilly Baltimore County in Maryland, and I got the Sequoia at Princeton Sports in Baltimore. The people are nice & friendly at Princeton Sports. An experienced rider or two in the Baltimore Bicycle Club had thought that my seat was too low as I should have had more leg extension for power. I did raise the seat, twice. Having a foot on the ground is a small stretch but do-able. I wonder why Princeton Sports let me go with a seat an inch or more low?

    I think that Specialized has top notch products and am impressed with the carbon/zertz engineering.

    Maybe I'll upgrade this Sequoia to 10spd shifters, or maybe I could afford a low end Roubaix one day. As it is, the Sequoia is a very decent road bike, and the only thing that keeps me from having a faster speed is me. The idea that I could do something decent athletically is a new one to me, so I am working on riding harder with faster people. Wow, they really go. And so will I, as I ride more with my Specialized Sequoia.

    Similar Products Used:

    No bike that I have owned has ever come close to this quality.

    [Jul 31, 2008]
    Anonymous
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    1
    VALUE
    RATING
    1
    Strength:

    Comfort of ride

    Weakness:

    Seat, unreliablility

    I purchased this product in May. I love the Sequoia because I love the geometry. I was just on RAGRBAI (7 day 470 mile ride) and I was one of the few who didn't have their hands fall asleep. Unfortunately, the bike has not been reliable. I had the chain break with approx 300 miles on the bike. The chain and derailler broke again with 800 miles on the bike. Specialized will not stand behind their product or warranty leaving the bike shop to eat the cost of repairing my bike. Somehow, it is my fault that the chain has broken twice. being a new biker rider (just starting in May) who is in her 40's and not in shape, I don't think I'm that strong. I'd go with a differnt bike because this one has not been reliable.

    Similar Products Used:

    test rode Trek Pilot, Giant OCR

    [Jun 08, 2008]
    Chuck
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Terrific geometry for comfort, shock absorbtion and performance! Does it all extremely well while allowing me to keep pace with the younger more competetive crowd only more comfortably! Affordable price point!

    Weakness:

    Wish the Sequoia came with the Shimano 105 components!(Though the Sora/Tiagra are adequate)Otherwise None!

    Coming off both a first generation triathalon bike (Miyata 710)and a Fuji Team Racing bike I found the Sequoia the right mix for comfort and performance. Specialized hit the nail right on the head for us mid-lifers who wish to keep riding but apprciate the geometric comfort design and shock absorbing smoothness without sacrificing performance. I usually ride 20-50 miles at a time, this bike is great at easily keeping me in the game at a 17 - 21 mph pace! Say goodbye to numb hands and sore shoulders, bravo to Specialized!

    Similar Products Used:

    Trek 1200, Miyata 710, Fuji Team

    Roadbikereview Newsletter

    Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

    THE SITE

    ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

    VISIT US AT

    © Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.