Tommaso Forma Road Bike

DESCRIPTION

  • 2.1 LBS Monocoque Carbon Aero Frame
  • Tommaso Full Carbon Fiber Aero Fork
  • Tour de France winning Shimano Dura-Ace 20 Speed group
  • Mavic Ksyrium Equipe Wheelset
  • FSA SLK Carbon MegaEXO Crankset with Carbon Spider
  • Ritchey Top of the line WCS Logic Stem and Bars
  • Special Edition Selle Italia C2 TransAm Saddle
  • FSA SL-K Carbon Fiber Seat Post
  • Cinelli Cork Bar Tape
  • Genuine Italian high performance Vittoria Zaffiro race tires.

  • USER REVIEWS

    Showing 1-10 of 10  
    [Nov 04, 2021]
    christinashelly


    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    Strength:

    oh brother! styling profiling and lot more with this wonderful item great exercising machine case study assistance I mean I am pretty sure that this could be out with a thorough being done offering space-saving solution that includes entertainment

    Weakness:

    didn't notice yet

    Purchased:
    Used  
    [Dec 10, 2009]
    Brian Nelson
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    1
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Strength:

    It definitely is pretty...great componentry...carbine is great on the NZ roads since they tend to be bumpy.

    Weakness:

    This product seems to be flawed in that the cracks I experienced are a common theme.

    Being a recreational rider, I didn't think the "weak forks and potential to crack" comments that I kept seeing really applied to me. Now I've got a broken bike after less than two years on this bike.

    I bought this bike off a guy here in New Zealand who'd carted it back from the US. He's a serious Ironman guy and found he couldn't get fitted to it properly (couldn't get into the aero position properly). I bought it off of him after him having it less than 30 days.

    Recently, I noticed a popping/cracking-type sound on my downstroke on one side from I was pretty sure the bottom bracket area. I've had absolutely no issues with my bike and since I hadn't had this problem with my bike before, I figured I must have gotten some dirt in there or just needed to lube the pedals or something. The next ride got even worse though and the popping got so bad that I stopped partway through my ride at a shop and asked if they could have a look at it. They very quickly saw the problem and found several cracks in my bottom bracket and noticed that the bolt that ostensibly holds the parts in the bracket had shifted and was pulling out of the bike. It is their opinion at the shop that the sleeve that holds the axle shifted (it slide inside the sleeve, in other words).

    Then, after taking the bike apart to look at a fix, we noticed three more hairline fractures: one of the chainstay next to the seat tube and two more on the seat tube next to the bracket (that I think holds the dérailleur).

    I'd hoped to get Tommaso to stand behind their bike...but they waived the warranty back at me and said I wasn't the original owner. Yes, legally they are correct...morally, I think they should want to make this situation right. They didn't even respond to my sob story email with pictures. Randall Scott was my go-between...they were polite, but couldn't do anything about it.

    I shoulda paid more attention to the reviews. Don't waste your money, too.

    My only hope now is that a local composites engineer (who fixes airplanes) will be able to repair it.

    [Dec 10, 2009]
    Anonymous
    Triathlete

    OVERALL
    RATING
    1
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Strength:

    Beautiful frame; components top-notch; nicest bike I've ever owned.

    Weakness:

    I'd read of the squirrelly fork that some have had problems with, but I don't race or abuse bikes that hard...so I figured I'd be okay. I don't think I did anything - never dropped it or anything - that might have caused my cracks. I can only conclude that they've built a poor product with nice components.

    In summary, I loved my 2007 Forma. I bought it off a guy here in New Zealand who'd just purchased the bike, but couldn't get into the aero position properly (he didn't fit the bike). So, he sold to me less than a month after getting it. But now it's cracked in three places and no longer ride-able.

    Recently, I noticed a popping/cracking-type sound on my downstroke on one side from I was pretty sure the bottom bracket area. I've had absolutely no issues with my bike and since I hadn't had this problem with my bike before, I figured I must have gotten some dirt in there or just needed to lube the pedals or something. The next ride got even worse though and the popping got so bad that I stopped partway through my ride at a shop and asked if they could have a look at it. They very quickly saw the problem and found several cracks in my bottom bracket and noticed that the bolt that ostensibly holds the parts in the bracket had shifted and was pulling out of the bike. It is their opinion at the shop that the sleeve that holds the axle shifted (it slide inside the sleeve, in other words).

    Once the bike was taken apart, we found that I've got cracks not only on the bottom bracket, but I've also got cracks on the seat tube and on the chainstay.

    I contact Randall Scott with my sob story in hopes that they would want to stand behind their bike. I knew from reading their site that they'd likely waive their warranty in front of me and say they aren't responsible since I'm not the original owner. They did. The sting *might* have been slightly lessened had they even responded to me on their own instead of not even reading my email and viewing the pictures - instead Randall came back within minutes to say that "they'd considered it and said 'no'". Yes, legally they are correct...professionally, I'm extremely disappointed that they won't stand behind their product - especially considering that this bike is less than two years old. Very weak, in my book.

    I should have paid more attention to the reviews about this bike's propensity to crack. Now I'm just another sob story with an expensive, broken bike.

    [Sep 09, 2008]
    scott hill
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    3
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Strength:

    Beautiful aesthetics, dura ace group; RS Cycle's customer service (so far)

    Weakness:

    Frame (for a rider my size) and fork

    Last October (2007) I purchased a Forma from RS Cycle through the internet. I had not ridden this bike yet I felt comfortable with the 30 day guarentee offered through RS Cycle after a long discussion with the shop. I have just shy of 1500 miles on my Forma including several triathlons. I am new to cycling in the last year and was drawn to the component set (value) vs. other bikes that I had test road for significantly more money. Further, after my local dealer performed a Serota fitting the felt the bike would fit well but warned me of the frame. I have enjoyed riding this bike until the last several months. My issue with this bike has been the frame - not simply the fork. The fork is squirrelly in corners at high speed if you are a large rider (I am 6'4' and 205 lbs). Further, this bike frame doesn't feel stiff to me and will flex more than you may be comfortable with. I cracked the frame this past weekend (or sometime recently) under the top tube where it connects to the headset. Further, the cranks on this bike have given me some trouble and my local shop has spent several hours servicing them.

    [Aug 29, 2008]
    Anonymous
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Frame, component package, and aesthetics

    Weakness:

    Fork could be upgraded for those planning in racing.

    I live in Boulder and was actually able to test ride the Forma before buying it. Living here you have about 6 bike shops per square mile and I must have test ridden two bikes from each. Reading these other reviews I was a bit wary of the Forma, but I ride with friends who have ridden this brand w/out any problems for the past few years. The bottom line is unless you're going to be training and racing at an elite level, this bike is an absolute steal. I wasn't necissarily working on a budget, and after a month of research/testing I still chose the moderately priced forma. While the picture on this forum is of the 06 or 07, the 08 (which I have) is pretty BA. My buddy has the 06, and there's been an ongoing debate in our group which is prettier. For the price you're obviously going to have some areas where it's possible to improve the ride - but as far as the staples this thing is on it. And as far as the frame being "weak" in some places, the rides we do here in the Rockies are as demanding as anything you'll find short of the Alpe d'Huez, and I've felt more flex on titanium. I don't want to be a Forma homer, but I felt an experienced rider with a stong opposing opinion might give a prospective buyer a little more perspective - however if my frame cracks in the next year you can bet I'll be back rescinding all of this.

    Similar Products Used:

    S-Works Tarmac, Litespeed Ghisallo, Giant TCR Advanced 0

    [Aug 05, 2008]
    Anonymous
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    1
    VALUE
    RATING
    1
    Strength:

    none

    Weakness:

    everything including the company

    stinks see my earlier review. I was too kind in my earlier review. The frame has cracked due to improper manufacturing and probably poor testing. I would stay away from anything this company makes. No point in buying a bike if it fails due to manufacturing defects. Others have problems as well with other FRAMES, just google enough and follow threads. This is a very poor company and product. SaVe your money

    [Aug 01, 2008]
    Mike T
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    3
    VALUE
    RATING
    3
    Strength:

    looks nice
    rides smooth
    good price

    Weakness:

    weak in some parts not so strong carbon
    most bike shops dont like working on bikes they didnt sell you

    For a first carbon bike it was good i went on to replace almost everything on it exept the frame and fork which for most of my 2nd year racing held up untill i got more serious it became to weak to handle the stress of racing.

    [May 03, 2008]
    Anonymous
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Strength:

    GOOD COMPONENTS.

    Weakness:

    FORK IS WASTE OF GOOD EPOXY AND PAINT.

    THIS RATING IS ONLY WITH STANDARD FORK REPLACED. REPLACE Fork with a Reynolds Ouzo pro fork and this will ride pretty well-use same or as close to the same rake. This is a good criterium bike with a new fork..otherwise take your chances in the turns. READ THIS AS THE FORK LATERALLY DEFLECTS UNDER HIGH CORNER LOADS!!! IT IS ENTIRELY UNSUITABLE FOR ROAD/CRIT RACING WITH THE STANDARD FORK. Good overall on hills both up and down. Not for long road races..but still not the worse either. I have no idea what they were thinking when they built the fork. The standard fork is a zero out of five. Make a lamp post out of it. If you get the bike for around $2K it is a good deal.

    Similar Products Used:

    CERVELO R3 SL
    COLNAGO C50

    [Aug 23, 2007]
    Mr George
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Price. This is a beauty and Not everyone has one. Different. Top of the line components. Ferrari Frame. Love the frame. Stiff and light. Comparable with $4K bikes. It is a $4K bike.

    Weakness:

    Not really any weaknesses. Well Except --I ride a 55 cm and it weight about 17.15lb without pedals. Not 15.9lb as claimed.

    This is a awesome bike. Sooo fast. I'm a beginner road biker and I'm averaging 19mph on this bike. The frame is so beautiful in person. The carbon fiber smoothen out the little bumps on the trail. Durace components are so smooth. Worth every penny. The price is this bike is exceptional.

    Similar Products Used:

    None... First Road Bike and loving it. I'm an Asian Dude mountain biker -- both XC and DH (Love those too). I ride road bike in the evening. Just love to be on two wheels.

    [Sep 15, 2006]
    Anonymous
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    light, strong seamless shifting, effortless acceleration, climbing, handling. Looks like a Ferrarri. Comes ready to race out of the box

    Weakness:

    Only saved about 1/3 from the MSRP. Seriously, I have no complaints

    Whhhoooooaaaa. This thing is a machine. Tomasso is back - and If your a serious racer looking for a road bike that will bring you across the finish line first, get this before the rest of the country figures it out and prices skyrocket - seriously amazing bike for amazing price

    Roadbikereview Newsletter

    Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

    THE SITE

    ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

    VISIT US AT

    © Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.