Tommaso Mondial Road Bike

DESCRIPTION

  • 6061 Butted Aluminum Frame w/Carbon Fork
  • Shimano Ultegra 10 Speed Components (20 total gears)
  • FSA Gossamer Compact, Double (54/30) Crankset
  • Full Ritchey Cockpit
  • Italian made Selle San Marco Ponza Lux
  • Genuine Italian Vittoria high-performance tires

  • USER REVIEWS

    Showing 1-10 of 11  
    [Aug 10, 2011]
    Mel
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Ultegra for under $1,000! Stiff and responsive with good road feel. Nice ride. Well packed for shipping - no scratches.

    Weakness:

    The stock Tektro brakes are weak and needed constant tweaking; I replaced these with Shimano 105 brakes off my old bike. Alex R450 wheelset are very basic economy wheels; replaced with Ksyriums.

    The bike is quick and responsive. Best bang for the buck anywhere. About average in weight for this price range, and only 2 pounds lighter than my old bike, but it feels much more nimble - probably due to frame and BB stiffness. I am 5'3" and the 47 cm frame is a great fit. I've ridden this bike about 1,000 miles and (after a few component replacements) have no complaints.
    I was numb in under 20 miles on the stock Tomasso branded saddle no matter how I adjusted it. I finally had to replace it, but saddle fit is different for everyone and I do not intend this as a negative remark about the bike. I bought this bike knowing I would replace the Alex R450 wheels with a spare set of Ksyriums, this improved sprinting and climbing considerably. I also replaced the stock cassette with an 11x28 because I can't crank big gears uphill these days.
    I think the setup would've been more balanced (and even a bit cheaper?) with 105 components, but I'm not complaining about the deal I got on the Ultegra group.
    I did not pay for the pro-build as I'm comfortable doing all my own bike maintenance / repair. After I assembled the bike, I was unable to tune it to shift smoothly into all gears. I borrowed a derailleur hanger gauge and found the rear derailleur was over 3" out of alignment. Not sure if this was shipping damage or poor quality control at the factory. The BB dust cap was over torqued.

    Similar Products Used:

    2005 Fuji Roubaix

    [Nov 25, 2010]
    Chelsea
    Commuter

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    lightweight fast responsive

    Weakness:

    wheelset was pretty cheap but they roll. spend a few 100 for a better set

    I'm new to higher end bikes. this was my first real purchase i've been biking for 2 years now to and from work. this bike was perfect for me, it fit like a glove and made me appreciate cycling even more. I can't wait to get another one!!

    Similar Products Used:

    don't have anything to compare it to other than my fixie. there's no comparison

    [Aug 10, 2009]
    David
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    fast, responsive, pretty light (19 lbs)

    Weakness:

    none yet!

    This is my first road bike so take my review for what its worth. Not sure what is up with the 'What year is your bike?' drop down on the review submittal field. It did not have an option for '08 or '09. My bike is an '09. I received it in the mail last week (7 days from order) and had it built by a local Performance Bike shop ($75). I road 15 miles yesterday and 27 today. The bike is fast, responsive and looks great. I searched local stores and the internet and could not find anything that compared to the bike (ultegra grouping, 20 gears) for the price ($999).

    Similar Products Used:

    I really do not know what to compare it with.

    [Jul 01, 2009]
    S Lee
    Triathlete

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    The Shimano Ultegra components are awesome. I could have spent $200 more and got the Dura-Ace but I'm plenty happy with the current set up. I'm glad I took a chance on a no name brand for now. If I ever have problems with the frame, I'll find out if RS Cycle stands behind it or not.

    Weakness:

    I had to change out the handle and stem for an additional $200 or so. The original handle does not allow the addition of a aero bar because it is tapered from center to the ends. Also, the original stem was too long for me. It's not particularly a weakness but just something that I had to do for my circumstance. The seat is pretty nice for a standard setup but I will probably change it out in the future.

    It's a 2009 but it's not an option on the menu.

    I bought this bike after looking around the shops and finding that I'd have to spend at least $1700-1800 to get a decent road bike. I found Tommaso through this website actually and took a chance after reading decent reviews.

    I did the pro build option for $60 plus the bike cost of $999 for $1059 total. There was no cost for shipping or any taxes (I live in CA, shipped from CO). The bike came well packaged and it took me about 20 min to put it together. The instructions were crap but it wasn't hard to figure out how to put it together. The only thing that I think you need help with is the fit. You can try getting help at a bike shop or mess around with it a lot until you get your fit.

    The bike rides great. I used it for a sprint triathlon for 20k ride and it did great. It climbed really well on hills and went very fast on the downhills. I passed many nicer road bikes and even a lot of tri bikes.

    Similar Products Used:

    Specialized, full carbon bike from a friend. I thought the Tommaso was very comparable when it came to comfort. I didn't notice that the carbon fiber frame made all that much more of a comfortable ride.

    [Jan 16, 2008]
    Anonymous
    Triathlete

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Strong but light frame. Ultegra groupset for under 1000$ great for a newbie.

    Weakness:

    Wheels are cheap otherwise no complaints.

    2008 model with ultegra groupset. Bike is stiff and responsive. As a new clyesdale rider I find this bike to be very comfortable and fast. It is ready to sprint whenever I am and keeps up with the big boy bikes on our rides so much so that everyone keeps asking what kind of bike I have and where I got it. Two thunmbs way up.

    Similar Products Used:

    Giant TCR

    [Nov 12, 2007]
    Anonymous
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Value for the money.

    Weakness:

    Stock wheels with JoyTech hubs (which I had never heard of) and Alex rims seem cheap.

    This bike is actually the 2008 model, but that was not a choice in the drop down menu.

    This bike is light, stiff, and resposive. It moves almost effortlessly. I am very pleased with the quality of components with Ultegra rear derailleur and shifters and FSA compact crankset and front derailleur. I have only ridden this bike for a short time, but I have not noticed the creaking some reviewers have complained about with the FSA bottom bracket. Hopefully this issue has been resolved! The welds on the aluminum frame are very smooth, and the paint job is quite nice.

    [Jun 22, 2007]
    Steve N
    Commuter

    OVERALL
    RATING
    3
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    You cannot get a bike that comes with these components for $850.00 from a LBS. Period. Even when they mark down their year-end inventory, their bikes will still run more expensive than this. This bike is lightweight and responsive.

    Weakness:

    ProBuild option not worth it.
    No service contract with LBS makes adjustments and tuneups more costly (but still under what you will pay by buying a bike in a shop).
    Paint job scratches extremely easily, doesn't look that great.
    Even after two adjustments, the bottom bracket creaks in when I'm riding up hills on the granny gear.
    Stock stem is 120mm long--longest they make, and too long for me. Had to buy another, costing $30.00 extra.
    Hopefully, I'll be able to dial in the front derailleur to work on all three chaing rings.

    This bike is alright, but I just got back from the bike shop for the third time about my front derailleur. Each time I had them adjust the front derailleur cable, which couldn't manage the triple drivetrain very well. Turns out the cable itself was stripping out. I've only had this bike for 3 months (600 miles ridden), and its was tuned up last week! I'm not abusing my bike--I'm 6', 180 lbs., and I ride in hilly country, but only use my two lower chain rings while going up big hills. I wash and lube my bike weekly.

    Also, although I paid for the ProBuild option from rscycle.com, the rear derailleur hanger was bent upon arrival, and the back tire wasn't true out of the box, necessitating more fixes. Avoid the ProBuild option from rscycle.com--it will be better to get your LBS to build the bike.

    [May 13, 2007]
    Anonymous
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Light, rigid, fast, looks great, quality components

    Weakness:

    I found that the Tektro brakes were lacking slightly so might replace them or perhaps try new pads. Other than that no weaknesses to speak of.

    An outstanding bike. Easily the best full aluminium bike i have used. The frame feels rock solidly rigid but at the same time is lightweight and exceptionally comfortable and forgiving resulting in a very smooth, fast and enjoyable ride. The detailing of the paint job is second to none. Component selection is great with top quality Shimano 105 with FSA, Ritchey and Selle Italia components. All in all a highly recommended bike.

    Similar Products Used:

    Avanti Monza, Scott AFD Elite, Trek 1200, Merida 903

    [Feb 07, 2007]
    FRANCISCO GUTIERREZ
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    GOOD FRAME,COMPONENTS LIKE FSA,105,RITCHEY AWESOME FOR THE PRICE.

    Weakness:

    THE WHEELSET PIECE OF S...!

    EXCELLENT BIKE GOOD COMPONENTS,ROLL SMOOTH,EASY TO CLIMB,EXCELLENT CHOICE FOR A BEGGINER LIKE ME,ITALIAN HORSE.

    Similar Products Used:

    FIRST ROAD BIKE.

    [Nov 08, 2006]
    edkjanl
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Rigid frame and carbon fiber components make for an excellent handling and smooth riding bike. Tne 2007 version of the Shimano 105 performs flawlessly. The fit and finish are as good or better as any bike I saw in the shops for thousands more. The sale price from RSCycle is fantastic.

    Weakness:

    The glossy black paint shows the dust!!!

    I was leery about buying a $1,000.00 dollar bike on-line but after shopping the name brands at the local bike shops I discovered RS Cycle. The Tommaso reviews seemed positive, the Tommaso components were impressive and the pictures on the RS website showcased very attractive bikes. A similarly equipped bike at the shops was $2,000 and up. I ordered my Mondial, with the pro-build option. It arrived two days later. I was stunned by the outstanding fit and finish of this bike. Fifteen minutes later, I was wheeling around the driveway searching for the most comfortable seat and handlebar fit. This bike is the perfect combination of comfort and performance. The frame is firm and the bike handles like a dream at all speeds and on all road surfaces. It is the smoothest bike I've ridden and that includes a friend's Litespeed I rode on Ride the Rockies last June (a 420 mile ride through the southern Colorado Rockies). After riding my Mondial regularly for a month, all my fears are allayed. This is a fabulous bike at a bargain price. I recommend it and RSCycle without reservation.

    Similar Products Used:

    Litespeed titanium, Myata 912.

    Roadbikereview Newsletter

    Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

    THE SITE

    ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

    VISIT US AT

    © Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.