Tommaso Super Leggera Road Bike

DESCRIPTION

The Superleggera features a downward sloping top tube for better standover height while still offering plenty of cockpit room to stretch out. Thanks to its Toray T700 construction and shorter tubes, the Superleggera is surprisingly lightweight, with the frame tipping the scales at a mere 950 grams. Fully built without pedals, a medium size Superleggera weighs in at only 16.4 pounds.

At a mere $2,549, the Tommaso is an incredible value, especially when you look at the component spec—a mix of Shimano Dura Ace, Ultegra, 105 and Mavic Aksium wheels.

Technical Specifications

  • Frame: Tommaso High-Modulus Monocoque Carbon Fiber Road
  • Fork: Tommaso High-Modulus Monocoque Carbon Fiber Road
  • Headset: Integrated Threadless
  • Shifters: Shimano Dura-Ace 7900 (2X10)
  • Chain: Shimano Ultegra
  • Brakes: Tektro R 520
  • Derailleurs: Shimano Dura-Ace 7900 Series
  • Wheelset: Shimano WH-RS30
  • Tires: Hutchinson 700 X 23C
  • Crankset: FSA Gossamer Pro 50X34T
  • Cassette: Shimano Ultegra 6700 12-25T, 10 Speed
  • Handlebars: Tommaso Alu Ultralight Race Series
  • Stem: Tommaso Alu Ultralight Race Series
  • Seatpost: Tommaso Alu Ultralight Race Series
  • Saddle: Tommaso Road Series

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-8 of 8  
[Apr 03, 2014]
John

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

It is light, SO light that it took me a little time to get used to how supple and frisky it is. But I love it!

Weakness:

I can't see any.

I bought this because I didn't want to go with carbon, and I have zero regrets. I have made it my own, with an Adamo saddle, Q Rings, and tubeless wheels/tires. It is going to begin its 5th year, and it is still the finest bike I have ever ridden. I can't see trading it in for anything.

[Dec 30, 2011]
Rundiveride1
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Light weight, attractive, reasonably priced and very nice ride.

Weakness:

Not necessarily a weakness however, it is so light that there is quite an adjustment necessary by the rider to get used to how it handles. After a while however, it is a very sweet ride and I have no regets on making this purchase.

I did a lot of comparisons before purchasing the Tommasso as to frame, weight, components etc. When comparing to the more familiar names and looking at apples to apples, this bike had everything the others had at a much more reasonable price. I really enjoy the ride and the light weight is incredible. Top of the line components. I really like this bike

Similar Products Used:

I rode a Univega previously and though it was adaquate, it was heavy compared to this bike. I didn't know what I was missing until I made the switch

[Mar 20, 2009]
Kent bucy
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Cost, frame was in excellent shape.Ride is superb. Columbus fork is sharp.

Weakness:

None

Bought frame and built it up with Ultegra and Dura Ace Mix. Easton EA50 SL wheels. It is a sweet ride, smooth and any I have ever ridden.

[Dec 03, 2008]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Value!!!!
Smooth titanium ride
great parts (mostly)
Awesome bike for someone looking to spend under $2000.

Weakness:

Wheels could be spec'd up
Compact Geometry not for everyone
crankset

Bought this bike 3 weeks ago, absurd value!
Really smooth ride. Was nervous about buying without test ride but have been really impressed. Frame is in very good shape all over. Wheels are heavy (but so am I!) slightly let down by the crankset, The frame is compact geometry ,so sizing is less exact and is not for pros also explains a lot to do with the price,but lucky for me it fits well. Have seen a few comments by suspicious types ,but all I can say is the value is ridiculous. can post pics

Similar Products Used:

Trek Madone 5.5

[Oct 11, 2005]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Light and stiff. Great for long rides or powering through fast workouts.

Weakness:

Bike graphics shown on website are different than what is actually shipped (older model?) I'm not crazy about the handlebars, drops aren't utilized much.

I ordered this bike at rscycle.com, it comes with the 10 day money back test period I figured it would be ok. Their pro build pre-install makes assembly a snap, even for a novice. I read lots of reviews and test rode a couple of comparable models (Litespeed) before buying. I think I got a great value. This is a versatile bike and perfectly suits my needs, not a big brand name but the quality is excellent. It just flies down the road and is really smooth.

Similar Products Used:

Bianchi, Trek

[Oct 11, 2005]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Light and stiff. Great for long rides or powering through fast workouts.

Weakness:

Bike graphics shown on website are different than what is actually shipped (older model?) I'm not crazy about the handlebars, drops aren't utilized much.

I ordered this bike at rscycle.com, it comes with the 10 day money back test period I figured it would be ok. Their pro build pre-install makes assembly a snap, even for a novice. I read lots of reviews and test rode a couple of comparable models (Litespeed) before buying. I think I got a great value. This is a versatile bike and perfectly suits my needs, not a big brand name but the quality is excellent. It just flies down the road and is really smooth.

Similar Products Used:

Bianchi, Trek

[Jul 28, 2005]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Neatly and carefully packaged. Delivered as promised in a timely manner- via UPS (free delivery).The bike is light in total weight- <16 pounds!!! (15.6 lbs. without pedals). Stiff frame, responsive in accelerations and ascents, yet comfortable in 5-6 hours of hard rides. A beauty to behold without getting tired or bored! The FSA RD 400 wheels are smooth and fast! For this price, you will be getting the frame and fork for FREE.

Weakness:

Not a big player brand name. Not built in Italy; it is built in China (I chose to remove the sticker!)

This bike is a beauty to behold right out of the box! My cycling buddies just stared in the solemn silence of disbelief, awe and perhaps a little jeaulosy. My mechanic assembled it in less than 45 minutes (to my delight). After the assembly it only required a little adjustment of the FD.

Similar Products Used:

Gios and Masi vintage Campagnolo with GP4 tubular wheels.

[Feb 28, 2005]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Titanium is best ride I've ever had, not to mention the great deal I recieved. Carbon Fiber Fork included. Complete Shimano Ultegra.

Since purchasing this bike, it’s been a true delight to ride. Having become accustom to an aluminum frame, I have found that titanium really bridges the gap between the traditional forgiving feel of steel frame with the light weight of aluminum. I picked this bike up a few months back from Randall Scott Cycle Company I have found my T1 to be smoother ride than other titanium frames, specifically the Speedlite which is piced over $3,000. This bike also came with a Reynolds carbon fiber fork, known for its quality and performance, the Reynolds fork, which I priced from a retailer at around $300, brings this titanium frame to the next level making it a frontrunner for anyone looking for a light, fast ride that can function as a weekend cruiser or competitive race cycle.

Similar Products Used:

Litespeed

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.