Tommaso Velocita Road Bike

DESCRIPTION

  • Double butted 6061 Aluminum Frame Mated w/ High Modulus Carbon Fiber Seatstays
  • Hand Filed Smooth Weld Joints
  • Shimano Ultegra/Dura Ace Components
  • Ritchey Comp Seat Post
  • Tommaso Carbon Fiber Fork
  • Lightweight Reduced Spoke Count Shimano Wheelset
  • Ritchey Pro Bars and Stem
  • Italian made Selle San Marco Ponza Lux
  • FSA Gossamer Double Compact (54/30) Crankset (20 total gears)

  • USER REVIEWS

    Showing 1-10 of 13  
    [Jul 03, 2010]
    rpm13000
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Components (SRAM Force, FSA Gossamer cranks, Kore wheels). Weight (around 19 lbs. - 58cm)

    Weakness:

    Will get back later if something comes up.

    Out of the box and it looked great. I took it to the LBS and had them check it out. I told them if they thought it was a bad deal to let me know, they said I got a great deal.

    Similar Products Used:

    Mountain Bike

    [Apr 21, 2010]
    bumpygoround
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Equipped with the Dura Ace 7800 its bash for the cycling buck.
    Takes a beating on open road training days without many repercussions.
    Envy of most riders when they say "What's That?!?"

    Weakness:

    Most riders say "What's That?!?"
    If you order from R&S it comes equipped with a nubby stem and sucky Continental Ultra Sport tires that go flat when you get them near a sharp cheddar.
    Would it have cost that much more to toss a Dura Ace FD on it?

    Overall its a good bike. The 6061 aluminum is a bit less resilient than the 7005 or 7075. Coupled with Tungsten Inert Gas (TIG) welds that appear a tad clumsy and oversized tubes, I'm certain that they could've trimmed some weight out of this frame. Roadworthiness is an A- Curb appeal is an A+ so not really much to b***h about.

    Similar Products Used:

    Cannondale R700 - Pinarello FP2

    [Jul 09, 2009]
    Dennis Bookwalter
    Commuter

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Strength:

    Nice riding frame, good componets at a good price. I would say you would pay at least $500 more for a comparable "name-brand" bike.

    Weakness:

    You're on you own to take care of the little problems IE handle bar tape, fine tuning adjustments. If this is your first bike I would recommend going to a LBS to make sure you fitted properly. Having a bike that fits properly is THE most important thing in cycling.

    I purchased this bike because of the drivetrain it had. I was pleasantly surprised at how well the frame rides. I would say it rides every bit as well as my steel framed bike.

    Similar Products Used:

    Nashbar steel frame, Trek hybrid

    [Apr 19, 2009]
    cboss
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    3
    VALUE
    RATING
    3
    Strength:

    Quick. Handles well.

    Weakness:

    Durability. Everything seems to tweak, bend, break.

    Honestly the bike has been good to me. 6080 as of today. It was my second bike and I improved quite a bit while riding it. Did my first century on it. But that is where the "good" stops. I have been replacing parts and nursing it back to health one way or another for 2 plus years. Starting with RSCycles less than pro build and stupid stuff like my bottom bracket not being faced, and my rear cassette not being tight after a tune up.
    I have broken the FSA crank arms, sucked the rear derailleur into the rear hub (shearing the r-d arm, breaking the chain, and bending spokes) and replaced the cassette 4 times (despite religious lubing). All of these on seperate occasions.

    [Aug 30, 2008]
    Anonymous
    Commuter

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Good components. Climbs hills well, shifts smoothly.

    Weakness:

    Crappy tires keep pinch flatting. Had to upgrade to Armadillos. Had to re-wrap handlebar tape.

    Great solid frame. Seems well built. Quality components. Fast bike, likes to go.

    [Aug 28, 2008]
    Jason
    Commuter

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Strength:

    Price & components

    Weakness:

    The two weaknesses are shifters (FSA) and the wheelset(Shimano). The wheelset is what really got under my skin with RSCycle. So I just got the Velocita and was going on rides. I was popping one tube per ride at best. Sometimes two tubes. I called and was told they would send out Rim Strips and tubes for my troubles. I thought cool. They send one Rim Strip and no tubes. I call. They promise me they will send the other Rim Strip and tubes. I get the 2nd Rim Strip and no tubes. I call, come to find out they were all out of tubes and nobody bothered to call and let me know. RSCycle has many weaknesses. The customer service was terrible. I was lied to. I have had the bike for 3 months and only been able to ride it for 3 weeks. The rest I have been waiting on RSCycle to come through with items to prevent the tubes from popping. I couldn't believe a bike warehouse was out of tubes. How does that happen?
    I would recommend the Tommaso Velocita to people...I just wish RSCycle was not the only place to buy them...I HOPE that someone else starts to carry them soon...otherwise next bike will be something different just to avoid RSCycle.

    The Product itself was good. I use it to commute to work/long rides for pleasure. I will get into races once I get more comfortable with riding. The bike handles well. I have hill climbs, downhills, and flats, and it handles just fine.
    The things I do want to comment on is RSCycle as a company. This was my worst purchase experience I have ever had. I originally ordered the Tommaso Mondail. RSCycle called me to let me know that I ordered the last Mondial in my size and there was paint damage to it. I figured this happens every now and then so I was ok with this problem. We talked it out and I got the Tommaso Velocita instead. This was a minor set back, but I didn't realize this was just the tip of the iceberg with RSCycle. Look to my Weakness section for the meat and potatoes regarding my problems with RSCycle. I will never go to RSCycle ever again for any products no matter how much cheaper they are over competitor stores.

    Similar Products Used:

    This is my first bike

    [Jun 03, 2008]
    Anonymous
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Components are a great value. Light bike. Climbs like a rocket, and i'm not even in shape yet coming off surgery. Cant wait till i'm in cycling shape again to really get on it!

    Weakness:

    Front derailer on mine isn't working smoothly-serious doubts on the pro-build, as the front derailer would have been noticeable even pedaling it by hand on a stand and shifting it (when the chain falls off-duh!)

    Actually bought a 2008 (not a choice in drop down) Ordered from rs cycle-pretty happy with the online order thing-kept me updated. Bike came and was very well packaged. I bought the pro-build, as i didn't want to doof around with alot of stuff before riding. Put it together in about 10 min. Fairly happy, but i have serious doubts that they really did anything for the 60 bucks it cost. My front derailer was not working right (grinding, slipping the chain) even during my first casual ride. Took it to my friend who is a certified bike mech-he tinkered with it for over an hour and we still couldn't get it to shift smoothly when i was on the small chain ring on the back. He was able to adjust the grinding/chain coming off in the other gears, so i guess its as good as its going to get. Also, he noticed a frayed cable on the front derailer which he replaced, and a kinked cable going into the rear derailer (from the cable being a bit too short) which he also replaced. So a bit miffed at rs for the supposed "pro-build" which i would think should have been remedied (ESPECIALLY the front derailer problem). The bike itself is awesome-i'm coming off a low end Felt, and this is light, climbs hills soooo easily with the double crank, and the components work like butter (EXCEPT my lousy front derailer!) I am going to contact rs cycle and see what can be done, but i don't want to ship the bike back as it is just getting to be dry and i want to ride! I will update after i see what they will do and if they will stand behind their pro build (my bike mech. did say there was a bit of play in the derailer, which usually isn't present in new equipment)

    Similar Products Used:

    Felt

    [Mar 18, 2008]
    Anonymous
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    component group/ price/ weight/ customer service

    Weakness:

    mail order [you have to wait]/ cheap tires/ pro build assembly not so great

    i believe the company 'tommaso' is a defunct italian bike maker of the 80's which was bought out and is now made in china/ sold through randall scott. though less "cool" than an "italian" bike, the frame was beautiful and comes with a lifetime guarantee. when paired with the ultegra component group + various carbon accessories, i couldn't rationalize a 2000+ name brand counterpart. very light/ seemingly well made/ perfect transition from my lazy riding to a more serious set up.

    Similar Products Used:

    1985 bianchi brava/ 105

    [Nov 25, 2007]
    rabkay
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    the components work well for a fast and fun ride. light with great handling.

    Weakness:

    haven't found any.

    this is an amazing bike - fantastic component set - beautiful frame and finish. scott at rscyle was very helpfull.

    Similar Products Used:

    have had a lotus classique for the past 25 years - chromolly - shimano 600ex - time for the new technology

    [Mar 17, 2007]
    Anonymous
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Good choices on components - the saddle is very comfortable. Fit and finish - great looking bike. I'm hesitant to call this a value bike (sounds cheap) but the price - you cannot beat it, what a bargain!!

    Weakness:

    For the bike - none so far. I need to put in more miles when this tough winter weather ends and I will certainly write back. Mail order though can be a bit frustrating if you don't have the patience.

    I've had my classic Columbus SPX steel Tommaso w/campy for over 13 years and recently got back on the bike after a 10 yr hiatus. The 25 pounder rides like a Cadillac but the gear ratios were unfriendly in the hilly terrain. Upgrading the components was not worth the expense and the extra 25lbs I added to my own frame (I know, I know) did not help either, so it was time to purchase a new bike. After a lot of research, I stumbled upon the Randall Scott website which surprisingly distributes Tommaso. I looked at the specs, prices, reviews and decided to pull the trigger. I originally ordered the yellow frame, but it is not a true yellow, more gold fading to yellow. Not my taste so I exchanged for the Grey - much better looking. I had to drop another $136 for shipping the bike back, so be very careful when choosing the color! In a nutshell, it was all worth the time and effort. The bike is beautiful, is 7 lbs lighter than the old steel, the Shimano Ultegra group is light years better than the old campy - great components. The ride? Well it is absolutely great!! Different from the cushy, plush feel of the steel (steel is real baby!), but not harsh, certainly more nimble and tight. Going down 7 pounds on a bike makes a huge difference, and when you combine that with the new gear ratios (the FSA compact crank is awesome - no need for a triple!)the hills are much easier to climb. The fit was excellent (I knew to ask for a shorter stem), I ordered the build kit and everything was delivered tight and true. The finish is top notch, though the "hand smoothed" welds could be a little neater, and I love the decals. I highly recommend this bike.

    Roadbikereview Newsletter

    Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

    THE SITE

    ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

    VISIT US AT

    © Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.