Trek 1800C Road Bike

DESCRIPTION

Frame Material: aluminum
Frame Angles: 73.0 head, 73.5 seat
Sizes: 50cm, 54cm, 58cm, 63cm
Colors: Metallic Charcoal
Fork: Bontrager Race Carbon
Rear Shock: Not applicable
Brake Levers: Shimano Ultegra STI Dual Control
Handlebar: Bontrager Flat Top
Stem: Bontrager Race
Headset: 1 1/8" threadless Aheadset
Front Der: Shimano 105
Crankset: Shimano Ultegra, 30/42/52 teeth
Rear Der: Shimano Ultegra GS
Pedals: Shimano PD-M520 SPD
Tires: 700 x 28c Bontrager Race Lite

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-6 of 6  
[May 25, 2021]
flkevin


OVERALL
RATING
4
Strength:

It's durable, commuting for since 2006 with this bike with the occasional 40 mile ride. Finally replaced the suspension seat post with a Suntour NCX and it's great. Flawless shifting, comfortable ride.

Weakness:

Could be lighter, but I set it up as a commuter with lights, rack and a trunk. I did do a few triathalons with it after my racer was stolen and did ok.

Price Paid:
1200
Purchased:
Used  
Model Year:
2005
[May 14, 2021]
jearwood


OVERALL
RATING
5
Strength:

I have a 1988 Trek 1800. The quality and endurance of the bike and its parts is amazing. It also rides well. I was told the quality of these older treks are, in a lot of ways, higher quality than the newer bikes in the material and craftsmanship.

Weakness:

Gears on the frame

Price Paid:
1800
Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
1988
[Oct 13, 2016]
Bill
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Ultegra/105 shifters; 52/42/30 chain rings; feels solid

Weakness:

weight, but i knew that going in

10/2016 Bought this bike "used" in 2015; had been sitting in a garage as the owner had passed; I checked the computer....13 miles total!!!It was essentially new. Took it to Trek store for check over, and they said "it looks brand new"- yes, in all sense it was. Replaced tires and tubes and off to ride!
Rides well on the 28s although I have considered 25 or 23; however just posted some PRs with it , and am thinking, leave it alone. It feels solid when riding, and once up to usual riding speed (17-19mph) it feels fine.
If you find one like this, in this condition, lucky you!!
I use ot for my backup when the Domane is in the shop--nice to have a solid backup.

[Oct 04, 2005]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

ultegra componets, adustable stem, suspension seat with carbon forks, crankset 52/42/30, mitchelin carbon tires, alpha/alum. frame for stiffness,

Weakness:

brake pads replaced with durace pads, I gave up a little comfort by replacing the orginal 700x28 for the mitchelin 700x23 carbon to pick up speed.

After riding 16 months, 4,000 miles and a century on the trek 1800c comfort road bike I can say you get alot more bike than what the $1300.00 pays for. Riding in the century I found myself riding with a fairly fast pace group of riders riding litespeed, klien pro, 5000 trek, specialized roubaix pro and eddy merckx bicycles. The 1800c held its own riding with bikes costing 3 to 4 times its cost. It shifted flawlessly thanks to the ultegra compontets. The Bontrager race wheels have been great in the 4,000 miles I have road them. ( I would buy bontrager in a heart beat) The adjustable stem raises and lowers the handlebars accourding to your fitness. You can raise the handlebars for recreational riding or lower it for more speed. The suspension seatpost and the carbon fork combine for a smooth ride. The alpha/alum. frame makes it stiff enough that in the climbs it can stay with the highend bikes. It also has a triple ultegra crankset that's there if you need it. Are the highend bikes better than the 1800c? Certainly, but the 1800c is good enough bike that if your engine is tuned you can ride with just about anyone. If you are in need of a bike that you can get in shape with and one that will grow with you as a cyclist the 1800c is your ride.

Similar Products Used:

litespeed teramo and giant tcr 1

[Sep 30, 2004]
Anonymous
Triathlete

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Good ride. Adjustable handlebar.Good shifter and brakes.

Weakness:

I have a lot of trouble with the shimano SPD pedals.Difficult to engage.

I have not ridden a bike for some time.I am an aspiring triathlete.(previously football player, rugby player and marathoner x2).I bought this bike because it seemed to be the best entry level bikefor me.(6',230 lb) It has a good ride and resonds well. Good components.

[Mar 22, 2004]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

I wanted something that would be comfortable, so for me the strengths would be the suspension seatpost and the soft and cushy saddle they use. I just got back into riding and I've already been able to ride for 4 hours on this bike and not feel it in my, ummm, rump. ;-)

Weakness:

I'm sure I'll find some, but having just started riding again I just like the bike and haven't really found anything I dislike about it.

I purchased this bike because of the Ultegra package it contains at a significantly lower price than other bikes with the same package. I'm new to riding again after a very long absence and I hold no dreams of competing, just riding for fun, exercise, and maybe an occasional century ride at a pace my 43 year old body can handle. I'm a bit heavy, so I like the carbon fork as well as the suspension seatpost for absorbing shock. Sure, the bike is a bit heavier than the sleek/fast 2100/2300's from Trek, but I think it rides more comfortably and works well for me. It is WAY better than the Trek 7200 hybrid I ride with friends and my kids. I have to say, the Ultegra package is everything I expected - just phenomenal shifting. This is a great ride for anyone that wants a road bike, but also wants to be at least somewhat comfortable.

Similar Products Used:

Trek 7200

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.