Trek 2.1 Road Bike

DESCRIPTION

Trek's 2.1 boasts a lightweight Alpha Black aluminum frame with a road-carving carbon fork. The hill-conquering Shimano drivetrain and Bontrager's SSR wheelset will have you rolling farther and faster than you thought possible. Plus, it sports a fine selection of Bontrager components, too, including a comfy saddle and a carbon seatpost.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 34  
[May 26, 2021]
incremental1990


OVERALL
RATING
5
Strength:

Trek knows how to make a great road bike. The geometry is spot on, and the setup is right where it needs to be for a bike placed right under the carbon brothers. Very stiff and well suited for a larger rider. Concrete Pumping Modesto

Weakness:

Can't find any.

Purchased:
New  
[Aug 19, 2015]
Kyle
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Lightweight, comfortable, plenty of gears.

Weakness:

Saddle.

Just bought this bike used (30 miles on it per owner), from the original owner for much less (about 1/3) of what was originally paid for it and Love it! I'm a newbie to road biking and this is my 2nd used bike purchase. I had this one fitted, changed the seat & bought pedals, clips & shoes. Huge difference after fitting and only cost $40 for fitting & $109 for new seat. I've been having a few issues with fatigue and hurting body parts so this should be corrected. The bike is in Mint condition and very fun to ride. Also love the blue/white color scheme. I highly recommend this bike if you can find used in the condition I did.

Similar Products Used:

Trek 2100 Pro Carbon

[Jun 21, 2015]
Fred P

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Strength- handles like a dream. Easy to work on. Very lightweight. Very fast compared to my Trek 7.2 Frankenstein bike lol

Weakness:

Had some creaks and clicks. ( fixed for now)

So this is an older bike, but it's my first legit Roadie.. I am 42 and started riding in1979 on a huffy progressing to BMX , Freestyle, and various Mtb over the years. I have been trying to destroy my trek 7.2 but it runs and runs - I am in Atlanta and that bike is a must have. Total chaos here. Anyways back to the review. Contacted a fellow off CL and agree upon date and time picked it up for $180 included computer and saddle bag. I almost couldn't believe it, but the guy had more $ than sense so I paid him and was on my way. I have ridden 50 miles this week on it and totally dig it. Very fast, nimble, light, looks cool. Decent components, good rubber, shifts well. Had a creak in it - was the pedals. Cleaned and lubed the cassette and chain, adjusted front derailers and am now good to go. I recommend this bike. It may be older but she has it where it counts.

[Jan 08, 2014]
Lawrence Cleary
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

A really light aluminium/carbon frame (2009 iteration). Relatively light RSS wheels. Speed Trap cavity in fork. Feels as if it wants to go. Lively.

Weakness:

The aluminium steerer, and that Bontrager stopped selling replacement forks for Trek road bikes. The Crane Creek IS40 bearings suck. The corrode too easily. I had to heat the headtube up to get them out last time and ruined the decals on the front. I aim to replace the 40s with stainless steel 110s eventually. The lack of availability of replacement rims and hub parts. A bit on the heavy side (mostly due to the group set: no-name aluminium/steel calliper breaks, tiagra shifters, front deraileur, FSA crank, tiagra cassette and 105 rear dérailleur. The lack of a 53/39 crankset option. Weight.

Stock, 2009 2.1 was heavier than it needed to be. I've had the bike stripped down to just the frame, minus the fork, and it is light as a feather. Since my purchase in 2009, I have replaced the group set with Dura Ace 7900 across the board, including the pedals. I have also gone through a number of saddles in an attempt to find comfort on long trips. I have settled and am happy with the Bontrager Affinity RS. Just those two changes have brought the weight of the bike down by four pounds. I am currently building a set of wheels with Stan's No-tubes rims, Tune hubs and Sapim spokes that should bring the bike down another few pounds. I am aiming for 17lbs. My greatest frustration is that fork. I would love to replace it with a full carbon fork, but Bontrager no longer advertises their sale. I assume because of liability issues. So I may opt for ENVE or 3T carbon fork, stem, handle bars/seat post combo to finish the bike off. Of course, we're talking a paint job on the white/apple seed blue fade . A shame.

Overall, a good frame to build on! I wouldn't trade if for anything less then a Madone 5 series frame.

[Sep 30, 2013]
Jeff Scott

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

Good bike for first 1,000 miles. Easy to work on.

Weakness:

Uncomfortable saddle, Poor stock wheels and tires, Lack of durability in components. Overall lack of durability.

I bought this bike 3 years ago and have put over 5,000 miles on it. I immediately replaced the saddle as the stock saddle is really uncomfortable on long or multi-day rides. While it was a good bike for the first year or so, it has not held up well - I do not think it is a very durable bike. I've kept up with normal maintenance, but have had a lot of problems with the components over 3 years. I had to replace the wheels after about 1,000 miles - I am a 6'2" rider at 210 lbs and after 1,000 miles, they would not stay true - ended up with Mavic Ksyrium wheels and I love the Mavic wheels. The stock Bontrager wheels are way too flimsy for bigger riders. I've replaced the left shifter twice, the front derailleur once and the back derailleur once (as well as new chains every 1,500 miles and a new cassette at 3,500 miles). Every time I replace components, the bike works well for 250-500 miles but then starts shifting poorly or not shifting at all. Barrel (cable tension) and limit adjustments don't seem to fix the problem - it always ends up with component replacement. While this bike might be suitable for an occasional weekend rider, it just has not help up well for me. I've sunk well over $1,200 into repairs on this bike - with the money I've spent on purchase and repair, I would have been far better off to get a higher priced / more durable road bike. I am really disappointed in the lack of durability of the bike. I would not recommend this bike unless you have a shop nearby and a mechanic on speed dial.

[Aug 20, 2013]
Brian Surguine

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Great frame, mostly good stock components, 105 groupset works for a beginner racer. Slick colors and graphics.

Weakness:

Wheels are heavy, saddle hurts on longer (> 40 mile) rides

I've now had my 2.1 for 2 years. This was my first proper road bike - before this I stuck to mountain bikes. I went for the H2 fit in a 50cm frame size (I'm 5'6" and weight 145 lbs). I lowered the stem one spacer to get a slightly lower riding position.

The bike is fantastic. The frame is stiff, even while sprinting during criteriums. It climbs well, the ride is well damped, and handling is great. It can be a bit twitchy at lower speeds or while really sprinting hard and pulling on the handlebars (I figure most racing bikes are the same way), but it really rides beautifully when you just point it down a road and go. Cornering is very stable. This bike inspires confidence.

Given what you pay for this bike, you are going to run into some compromises. The groupset is not 100% 105, but everything has held up well. The wheels are very, very heavy - I weighed the front wheel and I estimate it at a touch over 1 kilogram without tire and tube. However, they are sturdy wheels, and you can depend on them. (They also look pretty sweet.) Train with the heavy stock wheelset and switch to a lighter set for racing, and you'll really fly. The saddle is fine for shorter rides, but anything over an hour becomes painful. I'm now in the process of finding a good saddle for longer efforts.

In summary, I love my bike. Yes, there are nicer, more expensive bikes, but for where I am as a novice racer and for a first road bike, this was a great choice and a great value. I would upgrade the wheels and saddle and save up for a dream bike, like a Time or Pinarello, but I'd still ride this one. It's a dependable companion.

[Jul 14, 2013]
Steve
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Great bike/specs for the price. Like the 105 drivetrain - shifts well. Great starting intermediate bike with upgrade ability if needed. I got the H3 geometry - very comfortable with great handling.

Weakness:

Definitely stock saddle and tires. I only ride up to about 40 miles but after a handful of rides realized a more comfortable saddle was needed. Selle italia Flite as others have mentioned. I changed tires to Vittorio Pro Slick. Upgraded brakes to Ultegra after a good ebay find.

Mostly ride mountain bike but purchased the Trek 2.1 to help me lose some weight. Bike sat for a few months after I purchased but over the last 2 months I have been riding about 75 miles a week average over a couple rides. Dropped almost 30 lbs. Bike handles my 200 lbs no problem. Very cost efficient bike for me.

[May 25, 2013]
adriano

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

very agile when im off my saddle this bike flies.im a heavy set and this 2.1 can handle my legs with no problem. Takes me back to my racing days.

Weakness:

None

You don't need a very expensive bike. I can keep up to the so called pro riders that think that the bike makes the rider. But its the rider that makes the bike.

[Feb 15, 2013]
Alan

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Good climber, sleak appearance

Weakness:

poor bontrager components, horrible saddle, heavy wheel set and tires

This is basically an advanced entry level road bike so for the price you have to expect that there will be some stock bike components that are cheaper and heavy. If you like riding fast I would definately recommend changing out the saddle, tires, and wheelset, which are all heavy. I upgraded to a sella italia flite saddle, reynolds solitude wheel set and conti gp 4000 tires, which all made a huge difference in the ride quality and speed. Overall though, I would recommend purchasing this bike if you don't want to break the bank on the purchase of a new bike and can upgrade components as time goes on.

[Dec 06, 2012]
James

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Good value for the price.

Weakness:

Need to upgrade components to get weight down.

Bought this bike (red 2011) as a starter bike to use in triathlons. It works great! I upgraded the seat, handle bars, and wheels. I'm older and heavy set, but I am able to keep pace with a lot of the riders on carbon frames. The SSR wheels role quite good even though a bit heavy. I'm skeptical that a carbon frame is lighter unless you spend in the 3K range.

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.