Trek 2100 Road Bike

DESCRIPTION

Frame Material: aluminum, carbon seat stays
Frame Angles: 73.8 head, 73.5 seat
Sizes: 50cm, 52cm, 54cm, 56cm, 58cm, 60cm, 63cm
Colors: Blue
Fork: Bontrager Race Carbon
Rear Shock: Not applicable
Brake Levers: Shimano 105 STI Dual Control
Handlebar: Bontrager Race Lite
Stem: Bontrager Race Lite
Headset: 1 1/8" threadless Cane Creek
Front Der: Shimano Tiagra
Crankset: Bontrager Race, 30/42/52 teeth
Rear Der: Shimano Ultegra GS
Pedals: Shimano PD-M520 SPD
Tires: 700 x 25c Bontrager Select

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 52  
[Apr 23, 2021]
CidMan92


OVERALL
RATING
5
Strength:

Great bike. Mine is primarily aluminum frame with carbon seat stays and fork to help smooth out road vibrations. My bike has a triple chain ring on front to get up the mountains - combined with 105 derailleurs and Ultegra shifters. I've done several triathlons and century rides on this bike. Been a pleasure to own.

Weakness:

None that I have noticed.

Price Paid:
$1450
Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
2005
[Jun 01, 2011]
creativepart
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

ZR9000 Frame
Carbon forks and seat stays
105 group

Weakness:

Bontrager Race Wheels
Bontrager Crank (truvative gxp actually)

Stock the bike came with 105 group except the Bonty standard double crank. I bought it used for a very good price. It was in excellent condition. I've spent $400 upgrading it and find it a great riding bike, though I have limited experience. I feel like I lucked into a real sweet bike.

If you have a chance to pick up a Trek 2100 used for under $700 I'd say go for it. You won't be sorry.

[May 15, 2011]
rwm
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

good all around ride as far as I can tell

Weakness:

dunno of any

Nice smoothe ride.
I am a reacreational rider and do not know too much about bikes or components. I knew what I was willing to spend, and went to a bike shop, test rode 5 or 6 models. The 2100 felt the best, so I bought it, and have been happy with it.
Although I don't know much about bikes, I am athletic, former college b-ball player, and push it pretty hard. The 2100 responds to my demands- I won a small, local sprint triathlon with it, setting a course record (albeit the field was not too fast, I'm sure a dedicated triathlete would kick my butt).

[Apr 02, 2010]
813hammerhead1515
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

ZR9000 Frame
Carbon forks and Carbon Mainstays
Ultegra 6500 Group set
Specialized Avatar racing seat

Weakness:

None

I first owned a Cannondale Cadd3 frame with Sora Group and a Tiagra rear Derailluer as my first true road bike. I had my eye on a Trek 2100 for a while. I called around for this paticular Bike in 63CM. The Trek Store owner told me he had one and that becuase of its large size no one wanted to buy it so he sold it to me for $1200.00. It retailed for $1699.00 brand new so I new it was a bargain. The ZR9000 alluminum frame is exceptionally light. The carbon forks and the carbon mainstays pick up a lot of vibration from the road and give a nice smooth ride. With the extra money I saved I replaced everything with Ultegra group 6500 lock stock and barrel. I got rid of the triple crankset what an eye sore. I replaced the seat with a Specialized Avatar Gel racing seat feels much better. The Bike rides beautifully. The gearing changes with precise accuracy and precision. There is no chain rub or any creaking coming from the bottom bracket. The Ultegra crankset is as stiff as I have ever felt on a crank. Im 6'3" and way 240lbs and I can put some hurtin on cranksets and so far the Ultegra crankset is worth its weight in gold. Im very happy with this Bike. I would recommend this bike to a friend. Ebay is the place to order 9speed parts and for a good price. If your looking for an entry level racing bike look no further. If you can purchase this bike used and in really good shape under $800.00 I would not pass it up. Ride like the wind and have fun!

Similar Products Used:

Cannondale Cadd 3
Sora Group set

[Aug 16, 2009]
cyclinmike
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Component group, comfort, speed and agility-bike tracks very well!

Weakness:

Wheels

I bought this bike to upgrade from my trek 1000. My requirements were an aluminum/carbon combo, and a compact 10 speed drivetrain. I wanted a trek 2.1, but my dealer could'nt get one, but he had this leftover 2100 which was essentially the same bike, for alot less money.
The bike has been a dream. I could'nt be more pleased. The only fly in the ointment was that the rear bontrager select wheel has developed some cracks in it, and my shop is working on getting me a new wheel from trek.
Other than that, alot of bike for not alot of cash!

Similar Products Used:

Trek 1000

[Jan 02, 2009]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Frame, Fork & Bontrager seat post
Response
Ride
105 Brakes

Weakness:

Saddle
Wheels (spokes)

This is the price performance leader. Mine came with 105 brakes with Ultegra levers and Ultegra derailleurs. The 105 brakes are Brembo beasts and pull the bike down quickly without complaint. I swapped out the Bontrager triple with a compact and love it. Off came the saddle, and on went a Douglas Carbon from Colo. Cyclist which is very comfy.

I'll add Bontrager's carbon Race X Lite Blade bars for better feel and comfort. I'd also change to tougher DT Swiss wheels with Ultegra hubs but definitely keep the Bontrager Race X Lite hardcase tires. Otherwise, this has been a wonderful ride.

Similar Products Used:

Salsa Las Cruces with Bontrager Race X Lite hardcase tires is my other ride and somewhat similar.

[Oct 11, 2008]
EverydayRide
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

Price
Components for the time

Weakness:

Select Wheels by Bontrager

After almost a decade of not riding a road bike, almost 30 years of riding one faithfully each day I decided to walk into a bike shop and purchase my Trek 2100. I’ve been an active cyclist for several decades prior, raced in Europe two decades and upon returning to the U.S. decided to take up mountain biking with the children. I totally fell out of the road bike trends and technologies while raising a family.

The Trek 2100 or ZR2100 or 9000 …whatever you wish to call it suited immediate needs to get back into the 19 – 21 mph averages in a two or three hours work out here in New England. The bike must’ve been sitting at the local bike store for some time; the carbon fiber seat post was replaced by aluminum Bontrager and there were no pedals. The brakes were Tiagras, by Shimano but I soon replaced the pads and pad holds with Jagwires front and real Dura Ace holders and pads in the rear. Braking was increased incredibly. I also tossed the seat and fitted a real vintage 1996 Flite Ti Sella. I rode this bike 6 days a week, averaged almost 4,000 miles in 6 months in rain or shine. I blew out the rear rim, Bontrager Select ripping the spokes on the cluster side straight out. Trek warranted the break and produced a replacement set of rims, Bontrager SSR’s for a grand total out of pocket $60.00.

As for the control and the components, the ZR2100 has extremely good feedback on New England terrain. The bike has been over some very difficult roads with very uneven pavement resulting in velvet smooth feedback on the bars. It’s amazing what a little carbon on a bike can do to resist the vibration and disassociated noise from those steel frames decades earlier. I find the steering to be very quick. I do not advocate the radial front lacing of the rims, the sluggish and whiplash sensation of spokes un-crossed leave a heavier rider vibrating down a mountain side wondering if you’re going to shake loose on descents. Changing over the pads to Jagwires and Dura Ace helped tremendously to smooth out slow downs, especially in turns over 30 mph on descents. The frame gives very controlled feedback and if you’re lucky you’ll get the great component group. I have Shimano 105 brakes levers, Ultegra rear derailleur, 105 front derailleur and Bontrager Select rims. Am I missing something? Perhaps not, but the replacement Bontrager SSR’s that Trek awarded under warranty were barely capable of spinning from delivery. I had to completely repack the bearings both front and back, adjust the cheap cones and finally pull in a good smooth rotation without too much resistance. I had the impression that Bontrager bottom of the line was bottom of their pool. Terrible way to give a set of wheels to a customer that wouldn’t spin freely under warranty. Thank you Phil Wood Grease and a set of 14/15/17 cone wrenches.

Over all, good ride.

Similar Products Used:

Profica
Brain Columbus Tubing
Shimano

[Sep 30, 2008]
MattofBostone
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Excellent price, great components (Ultegra rear derailleur), batman color scheme(!), carbon bits really do help smooth out rides.

Weakness:

Wheels really are not up to par, seat is uncomfortable for me after 20 miles (which is a personal thing)

I absolutely love this bike. It is my first road bike but I spent a good amount of time testing others before deciding on this bike. First things first, I really do love the black and gray color scheme which is lame but its true!

The components have all been rock solid, after the initial cable strech adjustment the derailleurs have never missed a shift and work quickly (although sometimes a bit noisily). The bike is tremendously comfortable and after changing the seat out a 50 mile ride leaves me feeling fresh. There really is a perceptible difference between this bike with the OCLV carbon seat stay and the Scot Speedster S20 which is all aluminum.

The only negative thing I have to say about the bike is about the wheels. During corners they will flex and rub against the brake calipers and that doesn't really inspire confidence. So far my top speed is 30.5 and I was nervous to go any faster on a moderately curvy road. This is the perfect bike to begin with and a few years down the road I will upgrade and I don't think I will have changed a single thing on this bike.

Similar Products Used:

Scott S20, Felt F75, Specialized Roubaix

[Jun 25, 2008]
Dale
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Ride, handling, component group

Weakness:

Seat, imagine that!

I've mountain biked for many years and have just now decided to try road biking. So, this is my first road bike and I am very pleased with it. I bought it as a left over model. The price and spec's were the determining factors. It rides smooth and true.

[May 20, 2008]
Anonymous
Triathlete

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Great value for the money, especially on sale!
Ultegra (rear)
Low count spokes
Spd pedals standard

Weakness:

Seat it is always the seat

I bought this bike on sale and have been completly satisfied with the purchase. I researched a lot of bikes and nearly bought a Felt F75 which almost identical to the 2100. I also looked a specialized Allez, but I think you get a little more with Trek, ultegra(rear), Cane creek brakes and low count spoke wheels. The ride is exceptionally smooth, I can ride all day with little or no soreness. the 105's function as they should and the rear ultegra derailuer is as smooth as the rest of the bike. I plan on riding this bike for a long time and have installed aero bars for the triathlons I do. I also want to thank all the people who have posted here, I used this site a lot when i was shopping and found the reviews a great help... THANKS!!

Similar Products Used:

Cannondale sr 700 (1990)

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.