Trek 2300 Road Bike

DESCRIPTION

Frame Material: aluminum, carbon seat stays
Frame Angles: 73.8 head, 73.5 seat
Sizes: 50cm, 52cm, 54cm, 56cm, 58cm, 60cm, 63cm
Colors: Black/Red
Fork: Bontrager Race Lite Carbon
Rear Shock: Not applicable
Brake Levers: Shimano Ultegra STI Dual Control
Handlebar: Bontrager Race Lite
Stem: Bontrager Race Lite
Headset: 1 1/8" integrated Cane Creek IS-2 integrated
Front Der: Shimano Ultegra
Crankset: Shimano Ultegra, 39/53 teeth
Rear Der: Shimano Ultegra SS
Pedals: Not included
Tires: 700 x 23c Bontrager Race X-Lite

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 16  
[May 26, 2021]
incremental1990


OVERALL
RATING
5
Strength:

Bike is fast. Smooth shifts. Comfortable seat. Comfortable handlebar position, nice retro styling. Easy to pedal. Great commuter bicycle. Fremont Elite Concrete Pumping

Weakness:

Front fork could be a little more robust. Tires puncture easily by thorns.

Purchased:
New  
[Dec 28, 2007]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Light weight, great components - Ultegra and Bontrager. Climbs really well and it's very comfortable.

Weakness:

I changed the Shimano Ultegra chain for a SRAM PC991 which is far quicker and more accurate.

I changed from the excellent Trek 1000 around 1 year ago. The ZR9000 Aulminium frame is much lighter and stiffer than the Trek 1000. Whilst the Trek 1000 is a great starter ride the 2300 feels a much more complete ride. At 5'8" I ride a 54cm frame which I find very comfortable - I have tried a 56cm frame but I found the reach too long and it gave me back ache.

Similar Products Used:

Trek 1000, Trek 120 Carbon.

[Oct 31, 2007]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Tough bike and components. I am a clydesdale at 210 pounds and the bike has held up to 4000 miles of near daily riding with only a few issues. Still rides like new. Drivetrain has missed only one shift in 4000 miles.

Weakness:

I did pull most of the spokes through the rear tire rim (Bontrager Race Lite) at about 3000 miles. LBS/Trek replaced the wheel with a new one no questions asked. You have to like Trek and their warranty support.

Was a leftover at the LBS so I got an fantastic deal on it. Bike is a significant upgrade for me so I am still amazed at how smooth and quiet that the ride is - except for a bit of harshness on chip seal roads. The bike flies up hills and I am usually able to swamp my riding buddies on long climbs.

Similar Products Used:

Old dinosaur Schwinn Traveler.

[May 27, 2007]
Marc Rose
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4

The bike is fine - the carbon seat stays in addition to fork give it a softer ride, I think, than a 2003 2300 I have which only had carbon forks. And the workmanship seems good and Ultegra parts are 'of course' great. Just one 'warning' - my 58 cm seems a bit 'front heavy,' although proper preparation for turns during descents has helped me avoid a mistake just after getting the bike that I couldn't get out of (helmet saved the day, though). I had a brainstorm and looked at Trek's website eh voila - the 2007 2100, which is the 'new' 2300 I think, has about a 2 cm longer head tube than the 2007 all-carbon road frames, and also has a tad bit more relaxed (i.e. less racing) geometry overall. So perhaps the head tube, which indeed looks very long and is much longer than on a 56 Trek 5500 I have, is contributing to a slight difference in feel. So, maybe, if you want something a bit more nimble, go for the all-carbon Treks. But it's a nice bike overall.

[Apr 11, 2007]
Kyle Wigboldy
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Trek knows how to make a great road bike. The geometry is spot on, and the setup is right where it needs to be for a bike placed right under the carbon brothers. Very stiff and well suited for a larger rider.

Weakness:

Trek has a tendency to over-bontrager all of their bikes. They are good parts, but if you are serious about riding fast some parts of this bike will need to change. Also the B-B flex is more notable than the carbon bikes.

At 6'5", 210 it was important to have a full 63cm. After riding for some time, I started to learn how important it was to have the full snappy aluminum frame. The bike snaps up the hills and through the sprints. The OCLV rear end is nice when the ride gets long, and has a nice comfortable feel. The full 6500 Ultegra is nice, but dated at this point. The Geometry is right on the money, it is quick when it needs to be, but quite stable at speed. I added a Deda Newton stem and bar and that added some much needed stiffness to the front of the bike.

Similar Products Used:

Trek 5200
Bianchi San Lorenzo

[Apr 02, 2007]
Arif
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

light,strong and comfortable in first season I bought this bike I won all the road races.tyres has perfect grip but not durable

Weakness:

paint has no quality,

before I bought this bike I rode a Raleigh 501 reynolds(1980). When I saw and test 2300 it's definitly effect me. I rode it about 8000miles and there is only one problem about it (from the begining) DA FC7700 is very long(180mm) and it's very elastic. Each time I attack or get up for climbing chain is contact with FD it doesn't change even if you have best tune. But Rest of the bike is perfect...best value for money!

[Nov 13, 2006]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

light fast

Weakness:

n/a

I got this bike at the start of last racing season. (didn't want to lay down my colnago c50)

Great bike very responsive. I picked the bike up on a Sat. raced it on Sun. no problems.

It did take few min. to got used to the shorter top tube but a couple of sit adjustments and the bike was perfect

[Sep 01, 2006]
jeroark
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Light
Stiff
Comfortable
All Ultegra Components

Weakness:

Could be a little bit lighter but overall very good

I have owned this bike for about 2 months now and have about 2000 miles on it. I will tell you that this is a great bike especially at the price i paid for a leftover '05. It is fairly light, is very stiff, but still gives a compliant ride. Even on rough rodes it seems butter smooth. Its a good component set and is very comfortable for those long rides.

[Aug 20, 2006]
sgt_hedgehog
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

good stock parts, light, stiff, and most importantly for me, not a bike I would cry over if I totalled it in a crash :)

Weakness:

Isn't quite as light or stiff as I would want, but that's just me. The stock fork is super heavy, as are the wheels. I dropped about a pound upgrading those. It's great overall.

I bought this bike directly through Trek at an insanely low sponsorship price. obviously at that price it was amazing. I'm glad I purchased it when I did, because now I'm seeing Trek is starting to cut corners on their part specs. As others have said, not the most eye-catching or exotic frame out there, but it's light, stiff (it better be b/c I'm a sprinter), and the paint job is really nice. However, the geometry is not great for someone w/ long arms/upper body because it has a shorter than average top tube.

Similar Products Used:

1st Road bike: 80's Raleigh Grand Prix. Didn't know what I had till the seat stay snapped :(

[Jan 16, 2006]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Comfort Durability Quick accelerator Nice climber Very stable high speed descender. (I haven't gone above 40mph yet.) Ultegra Group continues to work perfectly. Shifts right everytime. Have yet to throw the chain in 2400 miles. Brakes, excellent. Excellent value overall. Dura-Ace on this bike would be overkill. Do not under estimate this bike.

Weakness:

None significant enough to remark upon. Actually I have zero complaints.

Wow!!! (How's that for a synopsis?) This is an update to my review below written 15 mos. and 2,400 miles ago when the bike was new. This bike is sweet! It performs flawlessly in every way. Except for tire-to-road noise the bike is silent in motion. I'm 5'9.5" It fits like a glove. Comfort is great. Most distance in saddle at a stretch, 40 miles on the Selle San Marco Era Lux saddle that came on the bike; no problem. I've added Bontrager carbon fiber (CF) clincher rims w/CF flangless hubs. Woohoo! They've held up very well. Overall combo is a smooth, well handling, quiet, riding experience. The nice thing about this bike is I'll never stress its limits. Since my previous review I've increased my exercise circuit to 20-25 miles and am averaging over 3 mph faster. Oh, I've lost 20 lbs too!

Similar Products Used:

See previous write up dated Aug 2nd 2004 below.

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.