Trek Madone 5.2 Road Bike

DESCRIPTION

  • OCLV 120 Carbon Frame
  • Bontrager Race X Lite
  • OCLV 120 Carbon Fork
  • Bontrager Race Lite Wheels
  • Shimano Ultegra Rear Derailleur

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 100  
[Nov 15, 2021]
BreckD22


OVERALL
RATING
5
Strength:

Very smooth and overall sturdy bike for mountain riding and even just casual riding throughout the day. Definitely recommend to anything with an interest or hobby in bike riding. It withstood the test of wear and tear when I used to ride to project sites for my Brick Pavers business.

Weakness:

None that I can think of.

Purchased:
New  
[May 26, 2021]
chaples199


OVERALL
RATING
5
Strength:

ood smooth shifters. Big wheels, ideal for cruising at high speed. Shocks eat up bumps. Well built. Repositionable handlebars. Good on flat roads, has decent off-road capabilities too. Bakersfield Pro Concrete Pumping

Weakness:

None so far.

Purchased:
New  
[May 25, 2021]
Madmardigann


OVERALL
RATING
5
Strength:

Great choice of bike. Light weight, very stiff and good handling. Never encountered trouble for almost a year upon purchasing. Highly recommended from Bathroom Tile Company.

Weakness:

None so far.

Purchased:
New  
[Mar 20, 2021]
jeffbozo


OVERALL
RATING
4
Strength:

Price? Not really. Let’s be honest, I didn’t have to get a Madone, I chose to get a Madone and isometimes you have to pay to play. Bike is actually a 2006.

Weakness:

custom stickers | print stickers | business printing | printing company

Purchased:
Used  
[Sep 16, 2018]
JnRyan


OVERALL
RATING
1
Strength:

Excellent handling bike that rolls with very little road buzz.

Weakness:

This bike is extremely maintenance intensive due to design flaws in the bottom bracket and headset. It is worse than owning a Porsche or a British sports car and I've owned both and worked on both. You're looking at overhauling the BB at 500-750 mile intervals and replacing the non-drive side bearing at the least. This bike had so many overhauls over 13K miles that even the oversize bearings were too loose a fit. You're looking at 1500-1800 mile interval for the headset and replacing the upper bearing if not both. You definitely better learn how to work on your bike or you're going to be spending $$$'s at the bike shops. The wheels are a low quality wheelset and I ended up having to replace the wheelset after less than 3K miles. After finding numerous flaws with the bike Trek FINALLY replaced it with another model.

Price Paid:
3000
Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
2010
[Oct 14, 2016]
Daryn Cummings

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

great bike second bike i have got first worth 200£ it reacts to everything in ease and speed.

Weakness:

Has a noise to it don't no where its coming from sounds like the seat thats it

just bought this bike it was on sale in intersport 50% off 3450€ to 1700€ it had ben sat there for two years. great find oct 2016
Very Light Reactive for speed sprint I've been riding now 4 months and have my avenge to 35ks an hour live in france lots of hills Limoges started off average 22ks got to 28ks but flying now. recommend to anyone

[Aug 16, 2016]
Neal Bowser
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Strong, solid, well-built and designed machine

Weakness:

The saddle

As everyone else has mentioned, the saddle stinks. In fact, I can't imagine a normal human being being comfortable on the thing. That being said, think of a saddle as a pair of shoes. You'll want to find something more specific to YOU!

As far as the bike itself, it's wonderful! TREK consistently designes equipment that's superior to most. They also stand behind what they make in ways that many don't. I have a little over 10,000 miles on my Madone, and have replaced only tires and the bottom bracket (-bottom bracket at 8500 miles). Both of these components are "expendables". There are "heavy-duty" brackets that you can use, but then the emphasis is on heavy. Be content with the standard set.

This is not my first Trek. They've never disappointed, and this Madone is no exception. It's stable and dependable, with no kinky surprises that you discover on some fast downhill (-had this happen once on another brand). You won't be disappointed. -Oh, and I'm a 69 year old veteran rider with a lifetime of riding experience (-still have yet to find that hidden motor that so many talk about).

Similar Products Used:

Giant, Fuji, and many others

[May 10, 2016]
jnryan

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

The performance is great on this bike. Light, stiff and very responsive. A great bike to ride.

Weakness:

I replace the Bontrager wheelset after about 10K miles with a Flo 30 wheelset. Seat mast kept slipping till the shop finally used a special grease and discovered that the seat mast bolt should be torqued to 7 N instead of 5 N.

The bottom bracket is the biggest weakness of the bike. My bearings lasted about 500-600 miles and you have to overhaul the BB about every one to two months or after riding in the rain. In fact, I won't even ride it when the roads are wet due to having to O/H the BB. A new Trek bearing set with a dust seal got about 800+ miles if overhauled at about 400 miles. Now the frame cups have worn to the point where I now need special Trek oversized brackets.

Performance is outstanding, but I can't give it a high score because of the serious design flaw of the bottom bracket and the poor wheelset. The BB makes for a much more maintenance intensive bike.

[Nov 24, 2015]
Divya Kowshik
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Light Weight, very stiff and an all round option

Weakness:

Wheelset, bontrager stock saddle and little bit of shifting issues

My first bike and am overall very happy since I have switched to carbon wheels, it is a good all round bike fast on the flats and climbs well as well. Trek should have given saddle options as the stock bontrager is a waste. Changing it with Selle SMP. Shifting needs minor adjustments many a times on the fly

[Jun 18, 2014]
Bruce Buckoski

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Preformed well in both flat and climbs.
light, stiff with no vibrations.

Weakness:

Stock saddle - changed out with my BuzzBee

This is a very nice ride.
Light and stiff but still gives comfort thank to thin seatstays. Push the pedals and its like a rocket. With Ultgra and Race XLite its as close to stealth as possible with no noice at all,giving you an advantage sneaking up and pedalling past your mates in the mountian climbs.
Its superstable in speeds higher than I will even dare to try.

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.