Trek Pilot 2.1 Road Bike

DESCRIPTION

  • Bontrager Satellite Plus Fork
  • Bontrager Select Wheels
  • Bontrager Race 52/42/30 Crankset
  • Shimano 105 Rear Derailleur

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 24  
[May 26, 2021]
incremental1990


OVERALL
RATING
5
Strength:

Been riding this when going to Mission Viejo Green Tree Service and never encountered any trouble. Good smooth shifters. Big wheels, ideal for cruising at high speed. Shocks eat up bumps. Well built. Repositionable handlebars. Good on flat roads, has decent off-road capabilities too.

Weakness:

Definitely nothing weakness found at this time.

Purchased:
New  
[Nov 22, 2009]
raydean davis
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Excellent Bike especially for someone wanting to do serious biking but needs comfort. Bike fits well

Weakness:

Brakes could be a better. Had to replace stock back wheel with a stronger model to support my weitht.

I purchased the Trek Pilot 2.1 when I got back into road bikes again at the ripe young age of 66. Until then I had been only a casual rider. I had planned to spend a lot less on a bike, but was directed by the salesman toward this model. It was an excellend decision. After seeing other reviews, I wanted to add mine to this excellent bike. Disappointed that Trek no longer offers the Pilot line--especially for the entry/casulal/serious rider. I have ridden the bike more than 6,000 miles including Bike across Kansas, the Katy Trail, ect. Never any problems with bike.

Similar Products Used:

The only bike I had to compare with was a 60's model road bike. There is no comparison. Since riding the bike, my brother has passed on his 5.9 along to me. The more expensive components and carbon put it into another class, but the 2.1 can hang in there with the 5.9

[Jul 02, 2009]
Anonymous
Commuter

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

No flex from frame- I am 6'6" and used to weigh 250 and the bike still handled like a dream.
Very comfortable ride- It is not a race bike but at 40 years old I like the more forgiving position of the Pilot.
Totally cool carbon seat stays- Makes the road feel smoother and keeps the backside happy on long rides.

Weakness:

Some of the black annodized nuts are starting to oxidize- Probably my fault because I rarely clean the bike so I leave sweat and road grime on it for extended periods of time.
Bonetrager/Cane Creek brake combination work alright if recently tuned but if you let them go for a while you really have to grab a handful to stop quickly.

I got the Trek just for Sunday rides and realized I could do 30 miles easy so I started to commute to work on it. (weather permitting)The ultegra/105 component mix make the bike very smooth and ultra dependable. Over 3000 miles and it is still running strong. The only problem that I have experienced was rough shifting but I cleaned the drive train and everything went back to normal. I could honestly recommend this bike to anyone that is serious about biking because the price tag can take a bite out of your wallet. But if you commute for just one year you can cover the expense of the bike.

Similar Products Used:

All other bikes were hybrids that were substantially heavier and slower. This bike is much faster than anything I have ever rode. I can commute at an average speed of ~17 to 20 (uphill to work downhill home)

[Nov 26, 2008]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

the overall weight of the bike seem very light and stiff yet with a real plush ride

Weakness:

overall most of the bontrager part the saddle is really bad after 15 miles I the brakes need to be adjusted almost every ride but other than that I love the bike

It came with 105 10x3 shifters and ultrega components cane creek brakes Bontrager select rims, saddle, seat post, handlebars and stem.I just got a Polar cs200 I've notice I'm able to get up to and maintain 15mph as my avg. and I consider myself really out of shape

Similar Products Used:

09 Allez, Scott S40,

[Aug 27, 2008]
Jim Warwick
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

My kids bought a men's rx seat for me for Christmas. I really enjoy that seat and would recommend replacing the seat. The bike rides really smooth on rough roads and shifts really great

Weakness:

I don't know any weaknesses as I have only ridden a 7500 fx and a target bike. This is a great bike

My Son hounded me about getting a Trek bike. I bought his 7500 fx. It is a good bike and I rode about 1,500 miles on it. I bought my pilot 2.1 in May I have around 750 miles on it and love it. It is really smooth. I am not a professional so I can't tell you all the good or bad . But I feel it is a lot smoother and I get a lot of miles racked up and my knees don't hurt like last year

[Jul 14, 2008]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Plush ride. Great long distance comfort.
The 105 shift/brake levers are flawless.
The Cane Creek brake set is up to the task. They are much better then they look.

Weakness:

The Bontrager components are not the greatest. They are a cost cutting measure. I was going to swap the wheelset after breaking some spokes the new select seris wheel is working fine.
The fork could be stiffer under hard breaking. Does an Ultegra front DR really cost that much more?????

I bought the Pilot after my beloved Bianchi Giro and I parted company. My racing days are long over and the Pilot fit what I was looking for. No it does not handle like my Giro did but it also does not make my back feel like the Giro did either. The bike is plush to ride the carbon forks and rear seatstays are great for long distances. The Bontrager components are pretty junky. After about 300 miles I started breaking spoke on the rear rim, drive side. No problem Trek gladly replaced the rim with a Bontrager select series and I have not had any further problems. The bike climbs well both out of the saddle as well as in. I ditched the 3rd chainring and set the stop screw in after several key missed down shifts. I never used the thing. I plan on replacing the front DR for an Ultegra and have replaced the stem with and Easton. Frankly the bike is an excellent ride if your not looking to race with it. Long distances are really a breeze on this thing. Ohh ditch the stock saddle to. I have the Perfomance Pro SLX and it's great. I miss my Bianchi we were together for 12 years but I can ride faster, longer on this bike. I test rode the 07 model but did not purchase until this year. No 07's available but plenty of 08's. Buy it for the comfort and flip the stem for more aero effect.

Similar Products Used:

None. This is the 1st non-hardcore bike I have ever owned.

[May 26, 2008]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Flats, Hill climbing. Carbon front and back forks provides significant dampening of road vibration.

Compact design makes you feel like you're riding your couch:). It is significantly stable.

Gear shifting is near flawless.

Weakness:

Need to get used to the double click gear shifting. Otherwise okay.

I rode several bikes before deciding on this one. I was riding a Cannondale SR 400 from 1986 for many miles, but I began to have a lot of pain in the shoulders & buttocks.

I started searching for a new bike in February. I liked the Specialized, but found it too small and too compact, hitting my shoes on turns. I rode a Navarro by REI, but did not like the gears, esp. on hills.

I then rode the Trek 2.1 Pilot and instantly fell in love with the easy posture and accurate gear-shifting. After 1 week and 100 miles, I don't feel any muscle or back aches that I felt previously. This bike loves the flats and getting up hills can easily be done on the middle chain ring, surprisingly.

There is no vibration. No strange noises, just a smooth ride. Repositioning from a standing stance (ie. Hill climbing) to a seated one is very easy and there is no feeling of instability.

There was some getting used to the double-click feature on the front gear. But that was easily resolved.

I would recommend this bike for larger, but athletic riders and people with back and neck problems who still want a competitive ride. I am a little heavier, muscular, but hill climbing is easier with this bike. Additionally, going down-hill at 40 mph produces no shudder. The upright stance gives you complete control.

I also want to give a shout out to Local Bike Stores. In this case BikeTech, who really surprised me by ensuring that I had the right size bike, 58 instead of 54. They measured me and gave me tips on hill climbing and posture. Additionally, called me to let me know that my bike had just had 20% knocked off of it before I purchased it. Another bike store where I was looking at a Lemond Alpe D'Huez, laughed at the possibility of dropping the price from $1800. "We just don't do that here." Additionally, BikeTech added a package that included Waterbottle, backpack and other additions.

Additionally, I thought that I needed a 54 (which they originally told me was not the size I needed, but I insisted), they ordered one and then told me no, this was not the size for me. They were totally correct. My entire posture was terrible. Additionally, I was given 2 hours to test ride the correct bike. I went to my practice 10 degree hill and back and test rode the bike for 25 miles before deciding on the bike. They were willing to make adjustments as needed at no extra charge. Just a shout out to the local bike store.

Thanks!

Similar Products Used:

Previous Bike: Cannondale SR 400 (1986).
Test Rode: Specialized Allez Compact/ GT road bike/Cannondale CAAD9 Triple/Novara Strada/Lemond Alpe d'Huez.

[Jun 02, 2007]
Sug
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

light, great components for the price, upright position for casual rider, Ultegra, lifetime warranty on frame, essential carbon parts, price.

Weakness:

stock seat can be better.

I picked up 2006 model at an LBS as my first road bike after spending years with casual MTB and Motocross racing experiences.

LBS on Valencia st in SF had my size with a huge discount tag (1 year old model + seasonal store wide sale). I liked 2006 color much better than 2007 one, and 2006 had Ultegra derailleurs for BOTH front and rear. You'll get Ultegra only for the rear on 2007 model (front: 105). If you find a 2006 model, get it!


Thanks to its upright position, I didn't have too hard time to get used to the road bike riding form. Coming from MTB world, god damn this thing is light! I can't believe how light and smooth my everyday ride have gotten.

The bike needs to be broken-in a bit more,and then tuned up. I'm getting Koobi PRS Endulo. I weight 136 lb (I'm a guy) and my seatbone is fairly thin. Other than the stock seat, I have no problem with the set up, and loving more and more everyday.

[Sep 24, 2006]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Carbor fork, seat stay and seat post, great geometry, good components for the price.

Weakness:

Road vibration. Some rust on a couple of bolts and chain after only 6 months. Rear shift cable rusted and had to be replaced after 6 months.

Great bike for the price. The more upright position is well suited for my less flexible 58 year old frame. I chsnged the 105 front derailleur for an Ultegra, added Look Keo Sprint pedals. I love the way it looks - brilliant silver - a very sharp looking bike. The seat took a while to break in, but then it was comfortable.

Similar Products Used:

Specialized Roubaix

[Sep 22, 2006]
Ryan
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

comfort

Weakness:

handling, speed.

Decent entry level road bike. Upright position contributes to comfort on long rides in the mountains, but detracts from aerodynamics and handling. Handles like a 1970's Cadillac compared to my Tommasini, which is like a Ferrari. Still lots of road buzz even with lots of carbon.

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.