Bicycling Magazine Magazines

DESCRIPTION

Bicycling Magazine

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 14  
[Jul 26, 2011]
smokey422
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

Occasional interesting feature articles: example- Their story several years ago on the death of Marco Pantani. Also Mike Magnuson's Clydesdale articles, which were an inspiration to me.

Weakness:

They only seem to review high dollar racing bikes and have forgotten about those of us that ride just for fun and fitness.

Bicycling used to be an interesting magazine but it is only aimed at racers and rich riders who can afford very expensive bikes now. I will admit I still read it from time to time but I wish they would do more articles for regular riders like me on a limited budget. They do get an interesting feature article once in a while, however.

Similar Products Used:

Bicycle Times (excellent!), Cycle Sport, Velonews.

[Oct 20, 2007]
braston
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

Absolutely nothing! Oh yeah, and Style Man's a fake!

Weakness:

Not enough room here to list them all.

Okay, after receiving my latest copy, I just couldn't help but write a review. This is the absolute worst bicycle magazine on the face of the earth. If I could get Team Performance to stop sending it to me for free,I would. I subscribed years ago but never renewed.

Bicycling is like the Cosmopolitan or The National Enquirer of bicycling. It's full of fluff and articles for no-nothings with short attention spans. I still give it the courtesy 5-minute thumb-through when it comes... I guess just to see if anyone there has a clue yet. Nope, just looked again... they don't. Don't waste your hard earned money on this trash.

Similar Products Used:

Composted steer manure
Junk mail
Realtor door hangers

[Jul 25, 2006]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

It has lots of pictures of Bicycles. Its cheaper than the other bike mags.

Weakness:

I wish they would actually give a negative review of something.

Gee, no updated review in a few years. Well, not much has changed. Either Bicycling only reviews great items or someones getting paid off.
Still, it does give me something to read while I'm sitting on....well, it gives me something to read.

[May 23, 2004]
rkerry
Weekend Warrior

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

You can pick up good tips to try out once in a while

Weakness:

Style man

Although I still get excited when it comes each month, I guess it's from habit, they need to quit selling out to the advertisers. Although I only buy used bikes, I would like to see a buyers guide that just covered the vendors that paid to have the merchandise shown on the pages. Getting the annual subscription is so cheap, it's still worth it.

Similar Products Used:

None

[Jan 29, 2004]
Donald Cox
Cross Country Rider

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

None

Weakness:

Buy this, buy that, blah, blah... The "I'm a moron with $4,000 to throw away" colum really makes me ill.

I really no longer appreciate this magazine. To me, it's more like a stupid infomercial than a real cycling mag. They have been sending it to me for free and can't get them to stop. I usually thumb through it in the kitchen, then toss in the recycle bin. My two cents.

Similar Products Used:

Costco Toilet Paper

[Dec 17, 2003]
stump
Cross Country Rider

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

Nope

Weakness:

piss poor writing, no editing, and an apparant complete lack of pride or professionalism from the staff.

Crap......don't waste your hard earned $$. I don't subscribe to this one, but I do pick it up regularly. Writing is mailed in at best. Take for example the Nov. 2003 issue which reviewed the Ellsworth Truth (by Matt Phillips). The writing in this review couldn't muster a D in high school, let alone be allowed in a published, for-profit magazine.....all the input is lifted directly from Ellsworth marketing materials, and it doesn't appear the writer really even rode/tested the product. On the cover and at the start of the review they show a 2004 Truth, go to the last page of the review and see a photo of a 2001 Truth lifted from Ellsworth's website.....loads of hardwork went into this review, huh. Lastly, I know a lot of people have a problem spelling "Thomson" correctly (the common mistake is almost always spelled Thompson). For regular enthusiasts, I'll let it slide to normal lack of attention. For a professional writer from the cycling industry to not be able to correctly spell the name of the company who is widely considered to produce the best seatposts and stems, this "mistake" is unexcusable.

[Dec 16, 2003]
Rob Black
Racer

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

Huh?

Weakness:

Bike/ product reviews are extremely heinous; short,stupid and without any redeeming qualities. They fired Zap. Although he was wretched most of the time, at least he loved riding. Generally mediocre.

When I read look at Bicycling nowdays, it makes me really miss the old Bicycling and *really* miss the old Bicycle Guide. The old mags were written for cyclists, the new Bicycling is written for short attention span nimrods. I guess that makes it the perfect mag for modern Americans. Heaven help us.

Similar Products Used:

Cycling Plus (UK)- A intelligent mag written for roadies. Lots of great product reviews. MBA- still the standard for dirt heads although they have a way overestimated sense of their worth. Too many nitwit opinions and they seem to think they decide what everyone should be riding. Dirt Rag- A bit narrow in their focus, but they really seem to love riding. Lots of good real world product reviews.

[Dec 09, 2003]
ericberg1966
Weekend Warrior

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

none

Weakness:

no useful technical information on road biking products our techniques. Designed for non-cyclists now.

A few years ago it use to be a much more informative magazine. Very little useful information in the magazine since I started my subscription up again this year. I have yet to find a good alternative.

Similar Products Used:

none

[Jun 24, 2003]
Pat
Cross Country Rider

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

great photos

Weakness:

"style-man".....give me a break! repeats articles every year.

Bicycling Mag really has gone down hill. It used to be a mag with information galore, now it's just a cutesie mag with no real stories or info. I hadn't subscribed to it for a couple of years and now that I've re-subscribed, I'm not happy with the product.

Similar Products Used:

Pedal (Canadian, features women, juniour and men riders, self-supported touring and track.)

[Apr 17, 2003]
chrislam
Weekend Warrior

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

nice pictures

Weakness:

no detailed reviews of bikes by real riders. Too many cool buzz words. Articles written for short attention spans.

I agree with several other postings on Biclying Magazine - it has really has lost value. It has just turned into a marketing tool for the vendors. For example, the new bike issue had something like "176 new bikes inside" printed on the front cover. Of course, they had barely no useful information to compare those bikes and for many of them only listed the name, price and an 800 number. Maybe next year they will have 1000 bikes and just list part numbers : )

Similar Products Used:

Have looked around but not found much out there. Maybe the folks at roadbike review should start up a print operation

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.