Mavic Wintech Wireless Computers

DESCRIPTION

Mavic''s entry into the cyclecomputer market is a tightly integrated wireless unit that incorporates a magnetic pickup into the front quick release skewer. The result is a super-clean and tidy system with no wires to snag and no brackets to fall off.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 23  
[Jun 27, 2014]
Rory O'Driscoll

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

Absolutely none

Weakness:

Crap - Do not buy this. I can't even get it to start and stop. Nothing in manual tells me it is automatic and I still don't know. Have used many bike computers and this is the worst by a million miles. Software is terrible, manual is useless. I eventually uploaded one trip = 839 Km in 8 hrs - no idea where that came from and no help anywhere. Mavic shoudl be ashamed of this

DO NOT BUY

[Apr 28, 2013]
mosinglespeeder

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

none, unless you need a headache

Weakness:

set up is awkward, ill thought out
digital pairing is pathetic
troubleshooting and manuals are typical mavic, and forget support, they purposely do not have any support to offer on any products, and LBS knows as much as anyone who can read this limited manual

see above, its not worth my time to go further...just don't buy one unless you want a headache

[Aug 11, 2012]
Paul Dutra

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

Good looking.

Weakness:

Everything else.

What a waste of money, stay away from this. As everyone has said, the manual, instructions and illustrations are a joke. I'm no rookie and have installed four other cyclocomputers, yet have spend hours trying to get this thing to read. Forget it. Even took it to my bike shop and the mechanic couldn't get it to work either. Going back to Cateye or Specialized. Would never buy anything by Mavic again.

[Nov 17, 2009]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Big display. Sleek. Easy to use. Cadence magnet install is hidden. Bar mount works well. Has pretty much every function I need.

Weakness:

Transmitter mounting could be improved as with most zip tie mounting solutions. Not waterproof apparently as someone else mentioned.

I'm a recreational rider and like technology. I had to get a new bike to replace one that was stolen. I didn't want the stock saddle and seatpost (carbon) so they gave me the Wintech FS with cadence instead - value $140 Canadian.

Sleek looking computer and easy to read. No problem mounting the computer on the bars. The zip ties for the transmitter didn't work well on my fork so I had used a silicon caulking to secure it and have the zip ties attached in case something bumps it so I don't lose it if the silicone fails. The transmitters themselves are quite small. The cadence transmitter is the basically the same as the main transmitter. During setup you register it separtely - must be on a different frequency or something. The magnet for cadence fits inside the recess for the pedal so nothing to actually tie to the crank arm. Hard to get it straight but I don't think it could fall off - magnet is really strong. Like most wireless computers the magnet needs to pass very close to the transmitter (<4mm) or it wont work - I found this with my old cateye 2.

Instructions are not the best but not really complicated. The computer has the standard functions including multiple chronographs. Basic functions are very easy to access. The multiple chronographs are a little trickier but I'm not using that function. No signal loss like I used to have with the cateye2. Takes several seconds to start registering (<10) and also several seconds to stop (<10).

No problems yet and it looks great. I would like to try the e-bolt transmitter for my other bike and see how it functions. I would recommend it.

Similar Products Used:

Cateye 2 wireless, Fitzer DB4L wireless

[Oct 18, 2009]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Weakness:

Instructions are crap, altimeter is not accurate, no average cadence, and only way to use warranty is through dealer.

Don't get. Unit leaked and Mavic will not replace for dealer saying it got "wet". Yes it got wet, it was raining.

[Jul 20, 2009]
Jeff
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

Very accurate altimeter, % grade works well

Weakness:

Instruction manual is terrible. Even though the atlimeter is accurate, the accumulated climb is way off (typically 20-30% low). The user interface is complicated, way too easy to erase everything just trying to reset the trip distance. The slick sender unit on the quick release of the old WinTechs has been replaced by a contraption that looks like it was carved out of homemade soap. The sender is also not adjustable, meaning you have to use extra magnets to get close enough to the transmitter, and they can get bumped off easily.

The Mavic Alti is my second Mavic computer. I purchased the Alti because I liked my first plain Wintech. The Alti adds lap capability along with elevation gain and % grade. The Alti has been a major disappointment, I would not repurchase it.

Similar Products Used:

Mavic Wintech orginal, Cateye, Shimano Flight Deck

[Jun 11, 2009]
Cyclist20
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

No wires, consistent speed readings, durable, good looks.

Weakness:

Mounting system on older model is disappointing, 10 second stop delay

Used this computer and cadence feature for 15K miles. I have had little to no problem with it. It is nice not having wires muck up a nice carbon frame; however, I concur with others that the ziptie attachment is less than stellar. I believe the new units have a stem/bar mount minus the zipties.

Unlike others I have not had problems with batteries. I replace the batteries maybe once a year (~4000K miles). The cadence feature does occasionally lose contact with the head unit but all it takes is 4 seconds to reset it. I have not had issues with the speed sensor or the mount rotating on me. Oh, the 10 second delay is kinda annoying.

Similar Products Used:

Cateye

[May 12, 2009]
zolo
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

- wireless
- slick looking
- big display

Weakness:

- random 9-10 sec delay in stopping the clock
- no explicit on-off
-

Overall I like this unit but agree with other reviewers that it does have its problems, the most of egregious of which is the 9-10 sec delay in stopping the clock. Totally throws off your avgs which is quite annoying. Also time elapsed should be with rpm/speed. Other than that, I like the wireless and have not had a problem with the zip-ties mounts - the trick is to thread them through correctly. The magnet fits a standard spoke just fine. If you are having trouble opening the case use a large coin like a quarter instead of a screwdriver. One other big problem I had was trying to get it to consistently pair with the trainer - it never worked correctly and I constantly had to keep on referring to the manual.

Similar Products Used:

echo j-12 wired

[Mar 10, 2009]
fast951
Triathlete

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Simple
Clean set up
Easy to read
easy to use

Weakness:

Cost
Cadenced always on

Wintech E-bolt. So simple to set up and use. No wires and no zip ties on my fork

Similar Products Used:

Cateye Micro Wireless

[Jun 11, 2008]
Logan
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

Stem mount

Weakness:

Adds to chronic alcoholism

I must say Mavic is one of the few that mount on the stem. I always thought that was a no-brainer. I should have known from the start when I saw the double sided stick-um supplied as a part of the mounting system I was in trouble. I have never seen a more disengaged thought pattern in my life. While hoping for a nice simple clean wireless setup I ended up with up with more headaches than a male nurse in an O.B. ward. I have still never been able to start a ride without screwing with the pickups and resetting the head unit. (even after replacing pickups twice) I still want a wireless but not with a Mavic.

Similar Products Used:

cat eye

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2022 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.