Mavic Open Pro Clincher Road Rims

DESCRIPTION

Open Pro is the latest version of Mavic Open rims, and as such is the most advanced evolution...

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 69  
[Jan 11, 2021]
No.41


OVERALL
RATING
2
Strength:

Have built up a number of these with mixed success. They are well made and the tolerances and fit are good. The materials used ... could be improved.

Weakness:

For weaknesses, they tend to be very pliable (soft) laterally that while it makes the build easier, there is a weakness in overall stiffness. The braking surfaces seem to wear quickly, especially in wet conditions. Once metal is removed from this area, the rims get even softer. Re-truing a well used rim is a challenge. Typical of Mavic rims is a propensity to corrosion. Have seen the double eyelets literally fall apart due to salt and galvanic corrosion.

Price Paid:
Too much
Purchased:
New  
[Nov 12, 2013]
Richard

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Bullet proof + good specs + good price = great value

Weakness:

None that I know of.

These are great rims. I've ridden thousands of miles on them for the past 8 years.

I think I know why some complain about cracks and spoke creaking noises. My guess is the spokes were not properly tightened with a tension meter. I had creaking noises with Open Pro rims too, until I got a tension meter and realized that some of the spokes were loose. When I tighten them all to the right tension (or close to it), no more noises.

Here's what I think is going on... These rims are real strong for their weight. They don't deflect easily, so it's easy to have a pretty true wheel with spoke tensions that are not even. That means some spokes may be too loose (so they will creak, pop, etc.) That also means other spokes will be too tight, taking too much of the load. I suspect those are the spoke holes that might have cracked for some riders. On a lighter, weaker, more flexible rim, those mismatched tensions would make the wheel untrue, so it's less likely to happen (the rider or mechanic would notice and adjust the spoke tensions). But the Open Pros are stiff enough that they can appear true with a greater variation of spoke tensions.

As an example, I had a spoke break on a stock Trek front wheel (32 spoke), and it was immediately so untrue that I couldn't ride it. On the other hand, I had a spoke come VERY loose on an Open Pro rear wheel and I hardly noticed -- the wheel stayed true enough to ride well. (I have no clue how long it was loose; it might have been for several hundred miles.)

So long as you use a tension meter properly (or make sure your mechanic does), my bet is you won't have any trouble with these great rims.

[Apr 15, 2013]
Rob Jacobs

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

Overall a fairly good wheel

Weakness:

Prone to buckling, constant truing and cracking.

Mavic Open pro wheels are generally a good performing wheel (running mine with Shimano Durace hubs) but I find they constantly need truing, dishing and don't like the odd pothole or the odd railway/Tram track. I keep them as trued as possible but find they get a bump in them which is hard to pull back. I have noticed minute cracks appearing in both wheels so I have taken them off and gone back to my Reynolds Solitude. I also found Mavic Askiums to be better. So will look for more durable rims and change them.

[Aug 27, 2012]
Don

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Extremely durable

Weakness:

not particularly light and not aero at all

I have Open Pros build on Campy Chorus hubs with 32 Wheelsmith 14/15/14 double butted spokes. Wheels were build by WS certified mechanic at my local shop. I weigh 170-180 depending on the season and I have probably 25,000 miles of New England roads on this wheelset. Wheels have stayed true with minor occasional touch-ups. No eyelet pull-out or cracking. Braking surfaces are getting pretty worn. Need to rebuild the rear wheel due to incessant spoke creak and with some rounded off nipples, I just can't balance an silence the wheel anymore. I'd keep riding the rims but it's not worth respoking so I'll replace the rims as well.

I'm thoroughly satisfied and plan to buy the same rims again. I don't believe you can beat the strength/weight balance offered by these. As all around training wheels, they're da bomb!

[Mar 23, 2012]
Soundtallica
Commuter

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Good workhorse rim. Very tough, yet light enough to liven up the acceleration of a heavy bike. Traditional looks make it good for modernizing a vintage-styled bike. Bulletproof: I've mountain biked on these with cross tires and they've never gone out of true

Weakness:

None.

Excellent workhorse rim. I use these on my touring/cross/all-rounder steel bike. They roll decently well, and come in under 2000 grams which is very good for its type. They roll well, and are bulletproof, as I've subjected them to bad roads, dirt, and even decently technical mountain bike trails They've never gone out of true. Great wheels.

Similar Products Used:

Cheap Alex rims, Sun rims

[Jan 30, 2012]
john
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

12000 miles without truing.

Weakness:

None for my riding style...perhaps a bit heavy for racing.

Rims are built up on phil wood hubs.
36 hole 3 cross. I have ~12000 miles on them. These are the straight silver rims not the anodized ones. I weight more than 220 lbs and I ride city streets with potholes and all that crap.

Similar Products Used:

Every brand since 1970 Weinmnan , wolber , superchampion etc.

[Jan 19, 2012]
andulong
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Strength:

Nice ride, average weight, looks classic.

Weakness:

Cracks that form at eyelets after 7-9 months of use ( 2,800 - 3,600 miles)

This is my third Open Pro / Ultegra wheel. The first was a great wheel that I used for several years until I damaged it in a huge pothole. I bought a replacement and it would never stay true. Had it in the shop countless times for truing and it was a never ending chore. Eventually the rim developed cracks at several of the eyelets (after 7 months) and the store warrantied it for me and gave me a new wheel. The new wheel was true from the start and I never had to have it trued at all. But after 9 months of use the cracking at the eyelets started and that brings us to today. I do not know what to do with this wheel. Performance Bike is awesome and will probably warranty it again. I do not want to have to go in every few months for a new wheel. I know there are better, longer lasting wheels out there. I weigh a whopping 148 pounds and ride approx 5,000 miles per year but do not abuse my equipment. I want to like this wheel and do until those dreaded cracks appear.

Similar Products Used:

Mavic CPX 11, Mavic CPX 33

[Oct 02, 2011]
James Wallace
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Good price, durable, look nice in black with black spokes, stay true

Weakness:

could use some better quality control, need a warranty department that isn't rife with gallic arrogance

After about 3,500 miles of mixed training on mountain roads and rollers, the rear rim made a pop and a three inch long piece of the rim popped out just below the line left by the brakes. They where laced to a set of Dura Ace hubs on a Litespeed Titanium Classic.

I'm not heavy, 185 and they blew out on the rollers, not after a pothole or anything that could have induced it. I was running Vittoria Corsa CX Kevlars. I am an aircraft inspector by profession, so examining metal is my profession. The center of the failure had discoloration and crystallization. so there was a manufacturing inconsistency. Never even bother to attempt Mavic warranty, I don't need the physic energy drain dealing with arrogant twits.

Replaced the dead rim the the same. They do ride well and where solid up to the failure and ran true. Now 3,500 miles with a defect is actually pretty good, so I do not necessarily say it is a bad selection on the rim as a whole. Never had any of the clicking noises other complained about.

Similar Products Used:

Mavic Aksium

[Feb 01, 2011]
khjr
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Strength:

Builds up very round and true

Weakness:

Click, click, click, click, click, click,..

I've gone through 2 Open Pros on my rear wheel. The first cracked around the eyelets after around 5K miles, and the second has lasted 10K miles thus far - round and true the entire time with no adjustment required. Unfortunately, the second one developed the clicking sound that the Open Pros are notorious for. I've lived with it for the past 7K miles or so, telling myself that coping with the irritation will eventually make me a better and more tolerant person. Perhaps not...

[May 09, 2010]
Andrew Evans
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Strength:

light
anodized braking surface gives good stopping power and resists wear very well
tires mount easily

Weakness:

eyelets crack, leading to rim failure

It was great while it lasted.

I bought a 28-hole Open Pro and laced it to my PowerTap SL hub. It lasted a couple years (about 7000 miles) before one of the eyelets cracked internally, putting the entire spoke tension load on the inner diameter of the rim. (The eyelet transfers spoke tension to the outer diameter, closest to the tube.) That led to the inner wall cracking and deforming under stress.

I weigh 160 lb. I'm pretty easy on wheels.

Similar Products Used:

DT Swiss RR 1.1
cheapo Alex rims that came on my 2006 Roubaix (which have been trouble free)

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.