Bontrager R1 Road Tires - Clincher

DESCRIPTION

  • Light and durable 60 tpi casing
  • Tread profile helps give low rolling resistance
  • Lightly textured tread design
  • Wire bead affordability

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 15  
[Jun 18, 2021]
frottive5


OVERALL
RATING
5
Strength:

best item in the market rotunda west roofers

Weakness:

limited stock in the market

Purchased:
New  
[May 25, 2021]
donzparker25


OVERALL
RATING
5
Strength:

Great tire! I am still using it til now.

Weakness:

Nothing noted. roof replacement strongsville

[May 24, 2021]
bobbrencher01


OVERALL
RATING
5
Strength:

I want to have this kind of product.

Weakness:

Take your chance to view roofing tampa.

[May 17, 2021]
Charles Howarth


OVERALL
RATING
2
Strength:

These tyres came fitted to my Trek Domane SL4. They are pretty cheap.

Weakness:

The ride was harsh and wet grip did not inspire confidence. I replaced them with more expensive tubeless Challenge Strada Bianca and they transformed the ride and my confidence in the wet.

Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
2020
[Nov 07, 2020]
Justinbarbs


OVERALL
RATING
1
Strength:

Awful tyres, they came with newly purchased Trek Elmonda. They have no grip at all in damp or wet road conditions, give way even on straight roads that are wet. Really poor overall, although ok (ish) in very dry conditions, I would recommend changing immediately

Weakness:

Extremely poor grip in damp or wet road conditions

Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
2020
[Jul 07, 2018]
archer61


OVERALL
RATING
1
Strength:

Owning new bike for one yr and these tr1 tires that came with it nothing good to say.

Weakness:

Had new trek bike just one yr. that came with these r1 tire. Maybe a few hundred miles. I always check tire pressure before riding out. Tire gave out going completely flat just before curve causing me to wipe out pretty hard into the curve. Glad I was wearing helmet. Wish I had one for shoulder. Not happy at all. Also noticed as others state not good unless road is dry. Looking fir another brand.

Purchased:
New  
[Jul 26, 2015]
a parseeker

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Quiet, fast rolling.

Weakness:

Flats

These came with a rental bike (Madone 2.1) from Richardson Bike Mart in Frisco, TX (suburb of Dallas) that I rented to do a metric century ride. At km 20, the rear tire exploded creating a gash about 1.5" long at the crown of the tire. The tire had disintegrated from inside out. Fortunately a very kind gentleman gave me a ride in his pickup to RBM's store in Richardon where they promptly replaced the tire. I completed the 97km ride without further incident.

I have ridden 1000's of kms on various tires such as Hutchinson Secteur 28, Vittoria Open Corsa and Open Pave's, Conti GP's and can say I was surprised at how quiet and fast rollling it was given its price point. The blowout appeared to be due to a manufacturing defect and not from wear-and-tear as the tire was in good condition.

Given the low cost of the tire, it may not be the most durable or the fastest, but I don't think I would argue with the price/performance. If, however, you value ride time vs downtime, consider spending a few bucks more. Otherwise this would be a good tire on a second bike or second wheelset.

[Sep 13, 2014]
Ozzie
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Firm , responsive , excellent puncture resistance high wear resistance .

Weakness:

None I can think of.

These came on My 2014 Madone 3.1 I run them at 125 PSIG in Portland Oregon on the road as well as around town My greatest fear was flats from all the rock and glass We have here , I have logged several hundred miles on these without a cut of any kind hill climbs , fast descents , hard braking (without locking up My wheels.) I am impressed and will certainly look at these when it comes time for new tires.

[Aug 26, 2014]
Bruce
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Strength:

Quite smooth.

Weakness:

Recommended inflation by factory store was 100psi. Very soft. Min.110psi

I agree with another reviewer. These tires are very poor for a $1900(CDN) bicycle. I've put about 1500km (930 miles) on them. Front tire has a bulge which has burst and back tire has worn through. I hear other guys saying they get up to 5000+ km and sometimes miles out of their tires. Not impressed with brand.

[Aug 19, 2013]
Scott
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Good, inexpensive starter tire.

Weakness:

None yet.

I have 700 miles on the R1's that came with me 2.0 Domane and the only flat I've had so far was from breaking a valve stem trying to inflate the front tire. We have some pretty rough chip seal here in North Texas.

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.