Continental Gator Hardshell Tires - Clincher

Available At
Best Price At
Available At

DESCRIPTION

If you log more miles commuting to work and around town than some pros do in training, the Continental Gator Hardshell Road Tire is the answer.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 19  
[Nov 30, 2020]
ffriedland


OVERALL
RATING
4
Strength:

Size 28. Thinking about 23's to save weight. First flat at 2730 miles on the front. We really have crap roads and I'm always riding over trash, rocks, etc. I'm at over 3200 miles now and just rotated back to front which was just starting to flatten, but still has the wear dots showing strong. . These have high rolling resistance, making them ideal for training as you have to work harder. But so far I estimate I have saved over 2 hours on the roadside. I flat fairly regularly in Conti 5000, and frequently in Vittoria Corsa G+, like every 400 miles.

Weakness:

Heavy and high rolling resistance.

Price Paid:
35
Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
2019
[Nov 20, 2020]
ythz


OVERALL
RATING
4
Strength:

This was recommended to me and so far so good.

Weakness:

Not at all for now. manifest your dreams and desire

[Nov 19, 2020]
bessiewatts18


OVERALL
RATING
5
Strength:

I got this item from my previous buyer too!

Weakness:

Try to visit https://rochesterian.us

Purchased:
Used  
[Nov 12, 2020]
ethan101


OVERALL
RATING
4
Strength:

Good looking tire. best tea for sleep

Weakness:

Not so Puncture resistant.

[Oct 29, 2020]
ColeSh


OVERALL
RATING
3
Strength:

The Gator Hardshell is a very durable, puncture-resistant and comfortable tyre, at relatively high pressure it is yielding and comfortable for long rides. x470 motherboard

Weakness:

When it comes to a high-speed training session or 50+ mile chain gangs this would not be my first choice but in terms of a winter training tyre, club runs and for committed commuters, this is an excellent tyre. Atlanta Music Photography Pricing

[Sep 22, 2020]
burgrat


OVERALL
RATING
2
Strength:

Nice looking and riding tire.

Weakness:

I purchased a pair of 700x28c Continental Gatorskin Hardshells with the hope of puncture resistance and a better ride. I previously have ridden Specialized Armadillos (700x25) with no issues and literally no flats for over 2000 miles. I thought I would mix it up in the hope of a smoother ride with the Gatorskins, but no sure if there would be any improvement. Just going off online reviews and feedback. Plus I got a better deal on the Gatorskins. So on the first ride, FIRST RIDE, of only 9 miles on road and bike path (no dirt or any offroad), I got a puncture on the rear tire. JFC! Seriously?! The ride was ok, but I noticed the following morning the pressure was about half normal (maybe 40psi). That afternoon, completely flat. The culprit was 2 small thorns into the center meat of the tire. 2 separate holes, about 3mm apart right in the thickest center portion of the tire. These are small but hard thorns, they were not goatheads, but similar. Any normal tire would have punctured I'm sure. Probably not the Armadillos, and not if I had a tire liner. I am disappointed in that these tires are supposed to be puncture resistant. I am riding on normal, smooth (ie nice) pavement and a dedicated bike path. Maybe this was a one off event, but it certainly does not give confidence in this tire. I did patch the tube (it was brand new as well, a Bontrager) and will ride again. I will give more feedback if anything comes, but I'm hoping I am flat free for many miles to come. Unfortunately, not confident that will happen.

Price Paid:
$80/pair
Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
2020
[Sep 11, 2020]
haydengutiw


OVERALL
RATING
4
Strength:

Super smooth on my commuter bike, pretty fast for 28mm excited to test the durability off-road.

Weakness:

Way too heavy

Price Paid:
56
Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
2020
[Mar 06, 2018]
Chiefnumpty


OVERALL
RATING
5
Strength:

I use 700 x 25mm on my city hack bike and also for light touring. I find them a very resilient tyre (ride well at pressure) and virtually bulletproof. I use for them for peace of mind rather than anything else.

Weakness:

They have no tread and although they performed very well in the Jura mountains, they're not a tyre to be used on tracks (i.e. anything other than tarmac and they lack grip). Not a cheap tyre, but having used them, I won't be changing.

Price Paid:
£34.99
Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
2016
[Nov 27, 2016]
Rod T

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Very Durable and "tough", better traction than they should have for such a durable tire, foldable

Weakness:

None! (For a great, all condition training tire)

Bought these after looking over reviews for similar tires on the internet. I was looking for a 25mm tire that would have very few, if any, flats.... and last for 1000+ miles..... without being "slippery" or having a "stiff" ride. I live in the Phoenix, Arizona area, and the roads, trails, and car drivers suck, suck, and hate. Don't get me wrong, there are adequate bike lanes, many paved and unpaved trails, and plenty of "decent" car drivers. BUT.... the bike lanes are full of debris, the bike paths are poorly maintained, and there are just enough haters to keep you staring in your rear-view helmet mirror... gods help you if you don't wear one!

Anyway, I have 700 miles on these tires so far (very little tread wear!), with no flats, which is pretty amazing considering the glass, sharp rocks, unrepaired cracks, 2 inch lifted "edges" on the cement bike paths, gravel roads, bullheads, cactus thorns.... you get my point.
Sometimes I hear small rocks launch so hard from my tire that they sound like a ricochet from a small pistol as they rocket off into a curb, wall, or just into space... but I still don't have any cuts in the tread!
The traction factor: Excellent when on dry hard-surface, good when wet, good in gravel and dirt. Like I said, MUCH better that I expected from a "durable" tire.
If these tires continue to perform this well, I will definitely buy them again!

[Oct 16, 2016]
Matt

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Durable

Weakness:

Heavy, difficult to install (for me, anyways).

I have a few thousand miles combined on both the 28mm and 25mm version of this tire on two different bikes. Three tires in total, though I did just put a fourth 25mm on my single speed bike, which previously only had the Hardshell on the rear.

I have one puncture in those miles, that being from a nail that went through the tread of one of the 28mm tires and came out through the sidewall, very close to the rim. That tire is still in use today; a testament to the durability IMO. I've picked shards of glass out of them with tweezers more than once, but none of those caused any more than a cut in the outer layer of tread.

I have 2 of the 28mm with wire bead and one of the 25mm in wire bead, in addition to one of the 25mm with kevlar bead. They were all pretty difficult to install for me. The 28mm tires required me to let them sit in the sun for a while to warm up before I could get them on the rim, even with levers. The kevlar bead tire was a bit easier to install, but still required levers. That one is brand new, so it may become easier over time (as I've found most tires do) to remove/reinstall. Overall, I'd buy these again any time. I'm a "fast commuter" and put in about 60 miles a week (3 days commuting per week) and am at the mercy of train schedules, and having a reliable tire is foremost in my purchasing decision. If I have a major failure, I'll miss my train, and will be in a world of hurt. I trust these to get me there and back again.

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.