Continental Grand Prix 3000 Clincher Tires - Clincher

DESCRIPTION

ASC(R) (Activated Silica Compound) technology balances reduced rolling resistance with the highest possible grip. Silica tread rubber delivers increased dry adhesion for better cornering and braking with zero detriment wet weather traction. Five-ply casing of Polyamide nylon further reduces rolling resistance and tire weight for faster acceleration and better handling. Natural rubber layer over the tire's sidewall improves the tire's scuff resistance.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 125  
[Apr 07, 2021]
fritzsara5225


OVERALL
RATING
5
Strength:

This is one insightful post, I must say. Im having issues though when I view this on my mobile phone. Other texts don't appear and I cant get the whole page to fit perfectly in the screen. Thoughts?

[Apr 07, 2021]
wilnewell712


OVERALL
RATING
5
Strength:

Amazing! This just came in minutes ago and you've already made a post about it! Way to go for keeping us updated daily. I mos def will recommend this to others.

Purchased:
Used  
[Mar 28, 2021]
jeffbozo


OVERALL
RATING
4
Strength:

Very predictable. Never felt like they where squirming below me. Last long for how much stick they give.

Purchased:
Used  
[Jul 17, 2007]
NCTYKE
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
Strength:

No flats and handle well

Weakness:

Wear quite quickly and not the fastest tires

Pretty durable no flats in the first 1100 miles. Rear tire flatted within 800miles and had to switch to front. OK in the wet and handle very predictable. Seam a little slow to accelerate and not that fast. I am however 200lb +

Similar Products Used:

Michein pro race light,
Continential ultra sport

[Nov 22, 2006]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Durability, durability, durability.

Weakness:

Rolling resistance, grip, and weight. Depending on your rims, they can be a little difficult to mount.

After year's of use, and trying out many different tires and brands, this is still my number 1 pick for daily riding. They are incredibly durable and are a great choice if you mix road riding with an indoor training, which usually kills the life of a rear tire. I always get at least 2k miles out of these with very few flats.

Now the negatives, or I should say the tradeoffs. If it is going to rain, or I know I'm going to be bombing down swithcbacks, I'll use another tire with softer rubber; these are not very "grippy". These aren't the fastest or lightest kids on the block, either.

Still, ounce for ounce, the best option out there for dealing with all the glass and other crap on our public roads.

Similar Products Used:

Too many to name.

[Aug 17, 2006]
Greg
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Corners like your on rails. Great stopping power.

Weakness:

So far, none.

Excellent product. It wasn't until I had to make an emergency turn, that I learned how well these things grip. I have a few cuts, but no flats. I am now constantly pushing them on training rides and am always amazed at the grip. My previous Specialized tires would never have held on in the same conditions.

Similar Products Used:

Specialized.

[Aug 02, 2006]
Jim R
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Long lasting, comfortable ride, few flats.

Weakness:

A bit pricey at $50 per tire.

Great tires that last a long time and hardly ever flat.

I pump them up to 125psi even though they're only rated to 120psi. they last over 2000 miles (rear, front lasts longer) and I typically only flat once perseason.

I'm a clydesdale (6'1" and 215lbs) and these tires ride comfortably and are dependable. I don't know what else you can ask out of a tire.

Similar Products Used:

Panaracer Straduis Pro
Hutchison
Michelin Pro

[Jul 22, 2006]
allgoo19
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

Good sticky tread and wears good where it has enough rubber.

Weakness:

Lousy quality control. One spot starts showing the inner belt through the rubber within 1000 miles.

I don't buy brand name premium priced tires very often. This is the first time I tried Continental because I heard people saying good about the brand in some online forum and I was very disappointed. I'll never buy another Continental again.
I had been using store brand tires before this tire, mostly from Performance and quite happy with them. I didn't keep record but I'm guessing well over 3000 miles on each tire, with minimal flat as long as the pressure kept high enough.
This time with Continetal GP3000, I kept the record, because this was my first brand name tire, so I was curious. Little before 1000 miles mark I started noticing something black across the orange colored tread(it was on the rear wheel, for the record). I thought it was just stain it picked up on the street. It kept growing bigger and bigger instead of going away. After while, it started showing the thread of casing, probably Kevlar? Honestly, I couldn't belive what I got for spending nearly three times the price of other store brand tires in the past. Just before I started writing this review I found some other users had the same experience and I'm very glad that I wasn't the only one. I also hope that my review helps people from wasting money. Buying an expensive tire doesn't always mean you are getting something better.
Next time, I'll check this review site before I buy any tires, specially if it's an expensive one.

Similar Products Used:

Series of cheap store brand name Japanese made tires.

[Jul 19, 2006]
Bob
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

No cuts, handle well.

Weakness:

After 870 miles in less t han 2 months, the rear tire is damned near fully squared off. I got 1600 miles on the Michelin Pro Race 2. I don' believe in switching up with the front tire, as the front tire is the one you don't want anything happening to!

Amazing that there is but the tiniest little cut in one of the tires. I have had all kinds of other tires with major cuts riding the same roads.

Similar Products Used:

Vredestein Fortezza TriComp, Specialized, Michelin pro Race 2, Gatorskins (that was a while ago!)

[Jul 19, 2006]
Bob
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

No cuts, handle well.

Weakness:

After 870 miles in less t han 2 months, the rear tire is damned near fully squared off. I got 1600 miles on the Michelin Pro Race 2. I don' believe in switching up with the front tire, as the front tire is the one you don't want anything happening to!

Amazing that there is but the tiniest little cut in one of the tires. I have had all kinds of other tires with major cuts riding the same roads.

Similar Products Used:

Vredestein Fortezza TriComp, Specialized, Michelin pro Race 2, Gatorskins (that was a while ago!)

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.