Continental Grand Prix Force and Attack 700c Tires - Clincher

DESCRIPTION

Sold as a pair only. A front and rear specific combo.Weight: f 190 grams / r 210 grams.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 15  
[Mar 26, 2015]
Steve

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

Fast, Good road "feel", easy to change

Weakness:

Not very durable - Tire cuts and flats easily. Two flats in the course of a week (200mi.) Tires properly fitted, inflated and ridden on relatively clean roads.

Won't buy again. I expect greater dependability for the price of this set.

[Nov 22, 2011]
James
Commuter

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Roll fast stick good. Front

Weakness:

Durability rear force tire 800 miles. Tread missing 2" long area. And the fact that they are sold as pairs only.

All around good tire.

[May 13, 2010]
troy Tully
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

grip, light, rolling resistance

Weakness:

They do seem as if they are wearing quickly

I had a pretty old pair of 2002 tires that I have been riding on for a very long time but it was time for an upgrade. I could instantly notice much better handling and a much smoother rolling resistance.

Similar Products Used:

redstorm

[Oct 10, 2009]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

good reviews (elsewhere)

Weakness:

pick up sidewall damage all too easily.

put these on my winter bike, looking forward to the benefits of well thought of tyres. however, i have managed to destroy both inside 1 month (600 miles). i'm 210lbs so i guess i give tyres a good work out, but both front and back have developed side wall failures at 110 psi.

i think continental have over-rated this tyre!!

Similar Products Used:

shwalbe stevios, gatorskins

[May 25, 2009]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

Grip, low rolling resistance, looks

Weakness:

Picks up cuts from gravel and punctures in wet once a bit worn!

Bought these as owner of my lbs said they were the best tyres he'd ever used. They look great, grip great - even in the wet and give great feel. However they do ride a little harsh and wear out very quickly. They're quite suseptable to cuts - which they would be as their a soft race tyre. I got 2 puntures on the rear, both on a wet bit of roadwhen the tread was wearing thin at 1400 miles on my first rear, then 800 miles on my second (I must have ridden the second pair harder hey?) The second punture rote the tyre off as it bulged. You pay your money and take your choice! For racing where grip is a priority they're great - you just change them when they wear out! If you intend to use them in this manner and can afford to change the rear every 1000miles and front every 1500 then buy them. For all rounders the GP4000 would be better. I don't why so many people complain about them as if you read Continental's guide they're not recommended for training of Spotives!

Similar Products Used:

Gatorskins, GP4000's, Michelin Pro Race 3's
Vitoria Open Corsa/Open Pave
Michelin Krylion

[May 05, 2009]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
Strength:

Very nice handling on the front, with superior grip. The 22mm width gives you a chance to feel a slightly lighter rolling resistance over the 23mm profile which is more standard for most riders.

The rear tyre doesn't really have anything over any other conti tyre...

Weakness:

Very poor wear, puncture magnets, expensive for what appears to be poor longevity (1500miles max on a set, 1000 on the rear if you baby it)

One of the worst sets of tyres ever!

Front side walls are weak - mine caught a piece of glass just of the side of the main tread which effectively sliced the side of the side wall open leaving it un-rideable following a flat.

The rear tyre did about 1k miles before flattening on its tread so becoming poor at cornering.

Both tyres picked up numerous flats during the minimal life span (max 1.5k on the front) which became a real challenge on patience, for what was supposed to be a high end race tyre (given the price - GBP 60/pr).

Stay well clear of these! The GP4000(s) is a much better tyre with just as good rolling and grip characteristics, so a clear alternative choice

Similar Products Used:

contiGP4000, gatorskin, vittoria corsa

[Mar 25, 2009]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

Ride well.

Weakness:

Sold as a set. Expensive but on par with other high end tires.

This review is for the 2008 model. I enjoyed riding these tires. I got them in October 2008 and had no flats in 6 months / 750 miles. However, I had to replace the rear [Force] after I apparently skidded it [I don't remember locking up the brakes] and a contact patch sized piece of rubber wore away down through the first set of threads. This is a shame since the tire wear indicators seem to be only about 1/2 way warn down and I do remember skidding on them.
The front tire [Attack] is still in great shape.
I replaced the rear with a 2008 Grand Prix 4000.

Similar Products Used:

Original Continental Grand Prix foldables with the brown sidewalls. I Put > 4000 miles on one of these with no thread exposure.

[Mar 14, 2008]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Black Chili really seems to work,
Great cornering,
Fast handling,
Strong construction,
Easy install,
Sexy graphics.

Weakness:

No complaints yet.

THis review is for the 2008 version. I received these today and replaced Pro2 races. First I was struck by the immediate increase in steering responsiveness. The difference in diameter of the two tires is sufficient to affect the geometry perceptably. Then I went on a 50+ mile climbing ride. I fell in love. These are clearly stickier than the competition, and the cornering and descending was the best I can remember. I found the ride compliant, yet the sidewalls are now completely protected. I am looking forward to pushing these to the limit. Noticed lower rolling resistance.

Similar Products Used:

Pro2 Race, Vredstiens, Vittorias

[Feb 09, 2008]
mikefly01
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

Nice feel and handle. Grips well doing sweeping downhill curves up to 45mph.

Weakness:

A little pricey. Not sure if the 22mm Attack makes any diff than having another 23mm Force on the front rim.

As a reasonably newbie road bike rider (~12 mos), I have somewhat limited experience but my impression of the Attack/Force combo is very favorable. I rode about 2000 mi last year over a 10 month period of time. During the 1st 4 months, I went through three Bontrager Race X Lite tires (all punctures) and was pretty frustrated. Since (~1500 mi), I have been on the Contis and have had one puncture (glass) but otherwise great performance. The feel is very nice and much prefer them to the stock Bontragers that came with the bike.

I ride recreationally and average 17-18 mph over rolling hill routes of 15-35 mi. I have inflated these tires consistently at 110 psi even though they are rated to 120.

Similar Products Used:

Bontrager Race X Lite 700x25 - Std equip on 2006 Zurich.

[Jan 05, 2008]
Jeff D
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
Strength:

Smooth, fast, confident, and flat-free.

Weakness:

Rear tire worn out in 1000 miles. Front looks almost new still.

I really liked GP 4000s, which lasted 2400 miles with frequent rotations, so thought I'd try these. Like the GP4Ks, they are very comfortable, smooth, fast, grip very well, and are a joy to ride. But I have worn the rear down to threads in only 1000 miles...that's 2 months! I weigh 165 and ride hard on good roads, but baby my equipment. Such a short lifespan doesn't justify the cost. BTW, not a single flat in that time. Anyway, I'm going back to GP4Ks or Michelin Pro Race (3000 miles last set).

Similar Products Used:

Conti GP4K (similar, but can rotate)
Pro2 Race (fast, less comfy, flat prone)

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.