Continental Grand Prix Supersonic Tires - Clincher

DESCRIPTION

Continental Grand Prix SuperSonic: Continental Grand Prix Supersonic. Lightweight, high pressure race day tire...

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 36  
[Mar 12, 2011]
jij
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Blazingly fast.
Supple, smooth ride.
Super-light.
Nice sound.
The best. 'nuff said.

Weakness:

Punctures, yes, but worth it.

Best tyre I've ever ridden. Yes they're prone to punctures because they're thin. But trust me, it's worth it. I can pedal 2 gears higher because of the extra speed.
The ride is supple and comfortable, and they made a nice pattering sound on the tarmac. You can run them at higher pressure as they more comfortable.
Beautiful. A source of joy.

Similar Products Used:

Conti Attack/Force, Veloflex Corsa, Vittoria Open Corsa

[Dec 14, 2009]
Robert
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Fast and Light.

Weakness:

No puncture protection.

I've got the 20mm front & rear and I love them. They go to 160psi but I run them at about 150 because that's the max for my wheels.

Great tyre and makes an instant transformation if you've been riding anything else. The lower weight on the rims makes acceleration effortless and the higher pressures available with the thinner tyre make them roll very nice. Combine these with the supersonic tubes and you've got a tyre/tube combo under 200g!

However: As Conti state, there is zero puncture protection and just about anything will give you a flat. I'd hesitate to use these on anything except a smooth fast criterium/TT circuit where you can take a lap out and get a wheel change. You certainly wouldn't want them on longer races on back roads. I've had one flat so far (about 300km of racing and riding to races only) that was caused by a bit of bark on the road!?!? stuck into the tyre and sliced it.

Similar Products Used:

Nothing

[Aug 23, 2007]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Fast, low rolling resistance, sticky rubber for the turns, super light, ultra high pressure.

Weakness:

Thin and difficult to mount on all but the narrowest of rims. At 45-50 bucks a pop and <1000 miles per set they are not cheap, but the go fast.

I decided on these prior to reading the reviews on this site, something I rarely do, but they were vertually the only 20cm tire I could find without going to tubulars. Unlike some of the others I've zero problems with these since mounting them. I ride on some semi-rural and farm roads in Middle Tennessee/Kentucky, and road debrise has never been in issue in the 500 miles I've put on them. I weigh about 185-190 and run the tires between 135-140 psi. I feel it gives me the right balance of low rolling resistance and small amount of insurance against punctures. That being said, if I were to race these I would have a fresh set mounted and ready to go, and I would crank the pressure up above 160. These tires are remarkably sticky too for thin tires. I ahve never hesistated to lean into high speed turns or bomb downhills. I have a set mounted on super light Zipp 217/100 for climbing and a set on R28A3's with bladed spokes for the flat fast stuff and these tires work great on both. They were however a struggle to mount on the Neuvation's, but they slipped right on the Zipp's with almost no effort.

Similar Products Used:

Ritchey Road Force, Maxxis Fuse, Conti GP 3000

[Aug 28, 2006]
Brett Kelley
Commuter

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Excellent grip. Surprisingly good flat resistance (I've only had three flats in about 500 miles of riding). Excellent weight savings.

Weakness:

$49 for a tire... for a bike?!??! I used to buy tires for my car that cost that much each. But you must not doubt der German qualitat!! Expensive but worth it.

So I was about to invest $800 in a set of wheels that would be approximately 200g lighter than what I am currently running on (Supergo "Korso" branded Neuvation wheels), but read some reviews on the 175g Supersonics, and then bought one for the rear to try out... I was amazed immediately at the weight savings without having to get those $800 wheels! I now run these badboys on front and rear.

Similar Products Used:

1990s Continental Grand Prix 700x18 and 700x23--lightweight and good, but much heavier than today's Continental offerings.

[Aug 28, 2006]
Brett Kelley
Commuter

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Excellent grip. Surprisingly good flat resistance (I've only had three flats in about 500 miles of riding). Excellent weight savings.

Weakness:

$49 for a tire... for a bike?!??! I used to buy tires for my car that cost that much each. But you must not doubt der German qualitat!! Expensive but worth it.

So I was about to invest $800 in a set of wheels that would be approximately 200g lighter than what I am currently running on (Supergo "Korso" branded Neuvation wheels), but read some reviews on the 175g Supersonics, and then bought one for the rear to try out... I was amazed immediately at the weight savings without having to get those $800 wheels! I now run these badboys on front and rear.

Similar Products Used:

1990s Continental Grand Prix 700x18 and 700x23--lightweight and good, but much heavier than today's Continental offerings.

[Jul 24, 2006]
Jamie
Triathlete

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Super light, high pressure, fast-fast-fast!

Weakness:

No puncture resistance, wear easily.

I bought this tire based on reviews. I put them on the bike and rode a few miles to try them out. They seemed fast. Pulled them back off the bike and waited for race day. Laid down my fastest time ever. Beat my goal by 8 minutes on the 56 mile half-ironman course. Yeah, they are thin, watch for debris in the road. But, you have to risk alot to win. Hell, with the 8 minutes I saved over my ETA for my goal, I could have fixed 3 flats! Continental did great with this. DOn't be a tard and train on it and stack miles, race it or don't buy it.

Similar Products Used:

Continental Force/ Attack, Michelin Pro Race, Hutchinson Carbon Comp (crap)

[Aug 22, 2005]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Roll Fast High PSI Grip in the corners Low weight

Weakness:

Dont like the grey tread 20mm front is hard to mount They wear fast, im at 500miles of racing on them and they are near the end of their lives, but they are race tires and that is what I expected of them.

Awesome race tires. I run a 20 in the front and 23 in the back. Never had any problems with punctures or cornering. Raced an 80lap superweek crit in the rain with standing water on them. Guys were sliding out all over the place but I had no problems.

Similar Products Used:

GP3000 Pro2 Race Bontrager Race Lite Silica

[Jul 31, 2005]
Mike T.
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

They look very sturdy and very well made.

Weakness:

None that I've found.

I use these tires for riding and training on an indoor board track. So far they have been perfection but then we don't have any road hazards either. They are a minimalist tire - thin and high pressure. I put 120psi into them.

Similar Products Used:

None

[Jul 30, 2005]
Piles
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Like everybody else, these fly, so lightweight.

Weakness:

Very low profile. 2.5mm less than Michelin prorace and therefore not as comfy

Unlike most of the previous reveiwers, I love these tyres. 800 miles on a pair and only one puncture in the rear. I use these to train on and have had no problems at all. I dont know if my weight and pressure i use has anything to do with it but these tyres are the best. 160 pounds and 100psi. Im going to continue to use these and nothing else will be on my bike.

Similar Products Used:

Maxxis Legere. - Not as durable

[Jun 04, 2005]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

Fast when inflated.

Weakness:

They dont stay inflated.

Unless you can verify for certain that there has never been a bottle broken on the course, or that there are no sticks, stones, leaves whatever, pass on these tires. Thanks to these tires (I use the term loosely, they're more like condoms) I blew my A race for the year. Flat w/ 3 miles to go in a TT enroute to my fastest time ever on the course. To their credit though, when they were inflated, the were the fastest thing I've ever ridden, and the bike was going scary fast...but you can't win if they dont hold air. And these dont.

Similar Products Used:

Trojan, Lifestyles.

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.