Kenda Koncept Tires - Clincher

DESCRIPTION

  • All-purpose road tire
  • Sizes: 650, 700 x 23c
  • Kevlar bead

  • USER REVIEWS

    Showing 1-10 of 37  
    [Jun 05, 2016]
    jon

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Strength:

    100k a week commute and no punctures for 3 months , so far so good .
    so ok for 1200k with little wear on the streets of Brighton which are bad.

    Weakness:

    none so far

    they came with bike

    [Nov 03, 2014]
    Toad Miller

    OVERALL
    RATING
    2
    VALUE
    RATING
    2
    Strength:

    Red, Soft, grip, cheap, tire for my indoor trainer

    Weakness:

    Soft, grippy, heavy.

    Honestly only have them as they came on new bike at some time and I put them on trainer wheelset for indoor. These are not a performance tire.

    [Oct 31, 2014]
    George Taylor

    OVERALL
    RATING
    1
    VALUE
    RATING
    1
    Strength:

    probably cheap

    Weakness:

    no grip, rubbery yet brittle and stiff

    Received these on a bikesdirect bike which was a great deal so I knew that they skimp where they can and didn't expect quality tires. I got a flat in the first 50 miles. It was a pinch flat which I almost never get as I'm very careful about installation. The bead on these feels really sharp. I'm patching it but will change out asap.

    [Aug 02, 2011]
    alexcomp
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    1
    VALUE
    RATING
    1
    Strength:

    absolutely none -him him him him him him him him him him well the red stripe is cool but it "wavers"

    Weakness:

    hea him and him and him and himvy, sidewall separates

    I bought an expensive bicycle on the Internet. It had very high quality powertrain components and a carbon frame. The bicycle was purchased on eBay from Bottechia - USA. Unfortunately, in order to keep the cost of this assembled bicycle down the vendor used very low quality wheels and tires.

    These Kenda Koncepts are heavy and BOTH have failed with less than 500 miles. In both cases the sidewall separated - I'm very glad that I inspect my tires regularly as I don't like to think about the possibility of a blowout on a 40 mi./h descent. I'm a firm believer in "you get what you pay for". At $13 a pop shouldn't expect much however I had every right to expect a better quality tire on a bicycle costing $1800. Shame on you Kenda and Bottechia - USA. Additionally, my local bike shop mechanic told me that it is impossible to true the Vuelta X RP Pro wheels. Stay away from them also. A wheel starts out as a strip of metal that is formed into a circle and joined. If there is a pronounced overlap at the join point you will have a "bump" and it can't be fixed.

    There is a lesson here about buying a bicycle on the Internet consisting of very high quality powertrain components at a price that seems too good to be true. The components were primarily duraAce and work very well. In the background there are dirt cheap components in order to meet a price point. These Vuelta wheels and Kenda tires are gone now - replaced with a very nice set of dura ace wheels and tubeless tires. It would have been nice not to have to spend over $500 in a wheel and tire upgrade.

    Finally, my riding is all on the road and the roads that I ride are 95% good quality with a little shake and bake thrown in but nothing that should have caused both tires to fail in such a short period of time. (Dictated using Dragon NaturallySpeaking version 11 - if anything in the previous review doesn't make sense, chalk it up to lack of proofreading)

    Similar Products Used:

    A him and himnything I've used is better than this rag

    [Jul 11, 2009]
    Justin
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    3
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Strength:

    Life (for me @ 6-2, 180lbs)
    Puncture resistance

    Weakness:

    Rolling Resistance

    These tires were delivered new with a bike I purchased on ebay. This was my first serious road bike, so I can't compare performance confidently to other road tires. I average 1500 miles per year, and this tire lasted me two seasons (~3,000 miles) until the rear bead finally punctured and tore. The tread was well past worn, but I was trying to get all I could out of them. Between the front and rear I think I only had about 7 flat tubes during the two years, so not bad. Not a tire I would have chosen for my full carbon, with ultegra bike, but you take what's given to you. Good for a commuter or recreational cyclist.

    Similar Products Used:

    My new Vittoria Pro Slicks are much better.

    [Jun 28, 2009]
    Jakerock
    Commuter

    OVERALL
    RATING
    1
    VALUE
    RATING
    1
    Strength:

    Good traction, very forgiving ride @ 110psi, natural rubber feel.

    Weakness:

    Not good for brakeless city riding... I imagine sprinters would really tear these up too.

    These came with my new Kilo TT, a track bike that I use on the street in NYC.
    I dont skid for fun, but do "skip stops" to slow the bike down as it has no brakes.
    I rotate my skid patches regularly, my rear tire wore down to the thread in one small spot after only about a month of riding. Front tire has been retired in favor of changing out the tires as a pair, but it is still in nearly perfect shape!

    Similar Products Used:

    Armadillos, Michelin Lithion

    [May 07, 2007]
    Anonymous
    Commuter

    OVERALL
    RATING
    1
    VALUE
    RATING
    1
    Strength:

    So far wear and puncture resistance is good.

    Weakness:

    Very Poor Traction.

    These tires suck in the rain!, traction is completely lost on slight inclines and on any slick surfaces.

    Similar Products Used:

    Would not want to try anything similar to this product.

    [Feb 25, 2007]
    Dan
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    2
    VALUE
    RATING
    2
    Strength:

    Can't think of any

    Weakness:

    wear quickly
    low psi
    high rolling resistance
    puncture easily

    I wore these tires out in about 3 months and only about 600 miles. They are very sluggish and don't have very good road feel. I also found that they were very prone to punctures. I was glad when the side wall tore so I had an excuse to buy a new brand.

    [Oct 23, 2005]
    Atomic_Frog
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    3
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Strength:

    Cheap

    Weakness:

    Sluggish, feels like high rolling resistance

    For $15, that's not bad. If you've never ridden other tires, you wouldn't be disappointed. Look on the inside and there's the occasional rubber void too. There's a reason why they're cheaper... In a straight line, constant motion, they're half decent. HOWEVER, they don't have good road feel. Very sluggish when out of the saddle or when trying to accelerate compared to my previous set of Hutchinson's. These things cost about 1-2km/hr at least. But well, they're cheap... if you're doing short-distance commuting, it's a pretty decent deal

    Similar Products Used:

    Michelin (various), Specialized Turbo, Panaracer, Continental, Hutchinson (Fusion Comp, Kronos Gold, and others), Vittoria (various)

    [Jul 24, 2005]
    Anonymous
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    3
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Strength:

    Very grippy. Yellow tires look cool on my yellow EPX Carbon rig. Cheap. Light.

    Weakness:

    Wear superfast. Feel a bit too grippy (feel slower than other tires I have tried). Fairly low max pressure. Would be best if you have really smooth roads (will wear better) but then you can use higher pressure tires.

    Review of the version without black strip in center. I also am a big fan of inexpensive but high quality road tires. I can usually get kevlar bead tires for $25 or less, often for even $20 or less. People who claim to get 3000 miles out of a tire don't impress me. I'd rather buy them cheap and change them often than end up on my head or in a bush. Bought these about a year ago and finally threw them on about a month ago. They are very grippy, almost a little too much so. (Don't feel as fast as other tires, feel like I am "hearing" them stick). That said, they have a good cornering grab and have yet to do anything unusual despite some rather hairy rides recently. They wear VERY quickly. I bought the ones without the black center strip. If you can get those, I would try them instead as mine have squared off in just about 700 miles. Also, max pressure is 110 psi. If you ride on good roads, try VREDESTEIN or VITTORIA as they go between 125 and 160. (I run about 125 to 135 on those). The difference of high pressure is noticable in speed.

    Similar Products Used:

    Just about everything. Current fave is VREDESTEIN FORTEZZA. About $25, very fast, high pressure and wear very well.

    Roadbikereview Newsletter

    Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

    THE SITE

    ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

    VISIT US AT

    © Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.