Kenda Kourier Tires - Clincher

DESCRIPTION

  • Smooth rolling center section
  • Optional K-Shield for flat prevention

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-8 of 8  
[Oct 12, 2015]
Mike B
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Inexpensive
Fast Rolling
High Volume
Good Grip
Versatile Terrain

Weakness:

A bit heavy

I stumbled across these by accident. While building up my Surly Stragglers, I was courious about the max tire size I could fit and found these (700x42s) laying around the garage. I was considering some Schwalbe Big Bens or Clement X'plors, However after logging some miles I am rethinking that. These are fast rolling tires with a nice profile for cornering and though not supple, have enough volume to take the edge off most routes. Though these particular tires are probably 4 or 5 years old I have put on about a 150 miles on them the last 2 weeks and have been really impressed. Yesterday I did 55 miler of which at least 30 miles were either trail or gravel and never felt like I was taking a beating. FWIW I would add that my tarmac speed was between 16 & 20mph ( for 26 lbs steel bike) It goes without saying I'll ride these until they fall off. I just ordered a set for my Wife's All City Space Horse.

Similar Products Used:

Lots;, Schwalbe, Continental, Panaracer,

[May 07, 2010]
Erik
Commuter

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Good grip. Good tread design. Good tread wear. Good on wet roads

Weakness:

Bead on tire doesn't properly seat and tires don't sit on wheel right, making it look like wheel is out of true.

I have a Schwinn Midmoor which the tires were on when I purchased the bike. I've had the bike a little over a month now and I've noticed that my tires seem to be very slightly bulging. It is not at all noticeable. Which is goos because the roads where I live have some smooth spots on them

[Apr 09, 2010]
Midmoor82
Commuter

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Good handling, great grip

Weakness:

would like if the sidewall had a silver or red stripe on it.

The tires that came with my bike are the Kenda Kourier. They handle pretty well. They are very quiet tires, especially on rough roads. On very smooth surfaces, they make a very light humming noise, but I guess all tires will do that. I like the tread pattern and design of them. I wish it had like a silver or red stripe on the sidewall to make the tire look cool. But, other than that, I really like this tire and hopefully, they will do a good job in wet weather, as I have not yet ridden them in it.

[Jan 11, 2010]
David
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

Limited bike riding means I can't really compare, they gripped okay, think they're economical

Weakness:

Once they reached that limit, hopeless, pierced by small bliunt pebbles!

The tires came on an entry level Avanti Hybrid, and performed wonderfully for about 6 months, not one flat. Then after an estimated 2000 km , with very little apparent wear I've gotta say a spate of punctures - about 10 - in less than one month destoyed my faith. I've replaced them today.

Similar Products Used:

None that I've noted

[Nov 26, 2007]
Jim Hewitt
Commuter

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5

Bought new bike wtih Kenda Kourrier w/KShield. Very impressed - nearly 4000 miles on set with very few flats.
However, when I tried to replace them, I got barely 200 miles before bulges - replaced and same thing, but tire burst.
Original tires show K-192-004 on side; poor replacements showed K-192-001 and -002. Maybe the later version of the tire is the best: I would buy more if I could tet the -004 versions, but wouldn't touch the others.
My ratings applies to the -004 version ONLY!

[Sep 04, 2007]
Chris
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2

I have only 300 miles on these tires (700x40)and a belt is separated. I was able to make it home (12 miles) with no further trouble. Up until now no complaints. No flats and treadwear seemed decent. I am very careful with my bike - no curb hopping, jumping, or off-roading except for the occasional grass or smooth dirt path. Maybe a fluke?

[Nov 22, 2006]
Anonymous
Commuter

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Durability, flat resistance, price

Weakness:

Haven't found any yet. And frankly at this point they owe me nothing...so I will say NONE.

I completely concur with the ghanson's review. This is a great tire...esp. for the money. I have had not flats (with the Kshield version) after several hundred miles of commuting. Glass, goatheads faze it not.

[Jul 14, 2006]
Anonymous
Commuter

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Dependability,Wet traction,Long life,No Flats.

Weakness:

none

Its funny to see a review section about a bicycle tire,but I must say Kenda Kourier is my favorite.I bought my Raleigh in June of 2005 and have used it everyday as a commuter and general purpose recreation bike.
So far, I am the only rider in my group of friends who has yet to be stranded with a flat!
The tires are just now beginning to show some tread wear and they have survived broken car glass and unknown constuction debris left in dirt alleys which I navigate on a mostly daily basis.
I use the bike (and Tires) on my daily 6 mile RT from home to work and back almost everyday on a busy and debris ridden expressway which I was asking for instant airloss.No problem encountered as I write this.
I have seen my friends and Co-workers walking their bikes into work with their dreadful flat tires and having to take a few minutes extra time at the Dept.Store on their lunch hour to purchase another cheap tube so they can get home.
I feel lucky so far.
I didnt even notice my brand of tire untill I did a thorough cleaning last weekend and made a mental note of the name "Kenda Kourier".
I would recommend this tire to anyone who needs a dependable multiuse tire hands down !

Similar Products Used:

none

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.