Maxxis Detonator Tires - Clincher

DESCRIPTION

With its reliable grip durable tread and affordable price tag the Detonator is well suited for Winter training Summer racing and all your rides in between. The Maxxis dual compound tread uses M-shaped grooves to offer a great combination of traction and speed with great water dispersal. Silkworm puncture barrier provides bead to bead protection. 700c x 23mm. 60 TPI casing. 120 max PSI. Folding bead. Available in a various colors. 235g.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 41  
[May 29, 2021]
ATX870


OVERALL
RATING
5
Strength:

OEM on My Merida Scultura Endurance 5000. 1000km of road and light gravel ridding 32mm and not a puncture. I like the ride feel and Roll, absolutely nothing to complain about could not be happier.

Weakness:

None that I have encountered, they just work.

Price Paid:
OEM
Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
2021
[Apr 30, 2021]
skoemzie


OVERALL
RATING
1
Strength:

They're wide. That's about it

Weakness:

Extremely prone to punctures. Very thin. Had a small stone (not glass or thorn) puncture the tire and the tube twice on the same ride.

Price Paid:
Came with new bike
Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
2021
[Feb 09, 2021]
jeffbozo


OVERALL
RATING
4
Strength:

Like the dual composite. Very little wear after 1800 miles. Good traction in wet conditions. With 120 psi the rolling resistance is low.

Purchased:
Used  
[Sep 06, 2020]
Edwy


OVERALL
RATING
2
Strength:

Bouh bike new came with these tyres three punctures in less than 300km. Two on same day. Ride only bitumen or bike paths usually bitumen or concrete. Do not recommend. Buying new set better quality

Weakness:

Every thing about them

[Jun 15, 2016]
Titus
Commuter

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Price, rolling resistance, weight, little wear.

Weakness:

Lower grip with high pressures.

Interesting that everyone is complaining about punctures.
I run this tires for almost 6000km now - on the road of course and occasionally in the forest. I had maybe 3 punctures until now but this is very acceptable...
Very fast tires for the road. I use the 26" 1.5 version on a mountain bike modified for road use. You can feel the difference in effort (lower effort) compared to other brands.
I use them mostly in the city.
Side grip is a little low but that is just normal for this size and tread.
The wear is very decent - i had tires that wear faster but the grip was worse. I used them every summer for the past 3 years and they are not even 50% tread wear.

Similar Products Used:

Schwalbe, Irc, Continental.

[Mar 02, 2016]
Randy Snelling
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

I have had two sets of these and am completely satisfied having put over 2000 miles on each set. No problems with punctures until later on in the tires life.

Weakness:

none really to speak of

have had two sets of these and am completely satisfied having put over 2000 miles on each set. No problems with punctures until later on in the tires life. I would recommend these tires to the recreational rider with no reservations.

[Dec 02, 2014]
Stephanie Boartight
Commuter

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
Strength:

Look pretty, roll well, reasonable grip

Weakness:

Cut easily and puncture easily, not suitable for urban riding or on sharp gravel.

I got these on my brand new 2015 Whyte bike just 7 weeks ago and in that time I have had 5 punctures, they seem to be OK in the dry and actually roll really well but in the wet you can almost guarantee a puncture. When I took them off today to replace them with Gatorskins the tread was full of cuts - I can't have cycled more than around 100 miles in the time I have had the bike but they were in very poor condition.

I would not recommend these, buy something more robust.

Similar Products Used:

Continental Gatorskin 700cx23

[Jan 08, 2014]
vic

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

Price

Weakness:

I have had 5 flats with these tires in about 200 miles of riding.

Not recommended.

[Apr 04, 2013]
yone

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Good grip

Weakness:

hard to put on rims, worn up fast comparing with other tyres I used.

I have this tyres for 2 months (around 300 miles). No punctures at all. But, they worn up fast, especially rear tyre.

[Jul 10, 2012]
JOSH
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

cool colours.... good grip

Weakness:

fitst ride 35kms 3 puncture flats

DO NOT BUY THESE TIRES.

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.