Maxxis Xenith Hors Categorie Tires - Clincher

DESCRIPTION

Cant miss value on greatTires. Lightweight folding bead, M201 Sport Competition casing with a dual compound slickTread. 62A inner compound provides long wear and rolling resistance, 55A outer compound for cornering grip. 60TPI. Great for fair-weather racing! Type: Front or Rear Pressure:To 130 PSI Weight: 250g (700 x 25c)

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 23  
[Jun 07, 2010]
NE_fsrxc
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Lighter than advertised! I've weighed them at roughly 210 grams a piece. Supple casing and smooth rolling. Grippy and look pretty cool on your hoops. So far no punctures. Haven't had long enough to thoroughly test yet.

Weakness:

None so far unless you like lower inflation levels. They seem to roll a bit slower at >115.

I bought these on the heels of the Maxxis Columbiere of which I'm a big fan. The HC's are smooooth. At first I thought they seemed to roll a bit slower than the Columbieres, but I decided to up the inflation from my usual 115-120 PSI to upwards of 125. The ride stayed almost as supple as with lower inflations but the rolling resistance was noticeably reduced. These tires are great! I have about 120 miles on this pair and so far I really like them. Grippy, very smooth, quiet and roll fast now that I've inflated them a bit more.

Similar Products Used:

Specialized All Condition Pro, Maxxis Columbiere, Vittoria Open Corsa

[May 29, 2010]
A Clemons
Triathlete

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

very fast! very puncture resistant! highly recommended!

Weakness:

none

when i got my bike for my birthday last august these were they stock tires. they are really fast and the only time i got a flat was because i accidentally kicked the stem of the tube. so it wasn't the tires' fault. i have been 50 mph down hill with no wobbling or shaking. i have about 2000 miles ont these tires and they have barely worn any in the front and the back is still round.

Similar Products Used:

serfas

[Apr 08, 2010]
Dargo200
Commuter

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

They're about mid range on price but for what you're getting it's value for money.
Low rolling resistance, handling, light.

Weakness:

None that I've come across.

With twice the amount of TPI than your average training tyre (120 instead of 60). Higher than average pressure (130 PSI instead of 100ish). And with a weight closer to race tyres (230g) it all adds up to one thing, the best training tyres I've ever owned. These things are fast, durable & handle well in all conditions.

Similar Products Used:

Conti 4000GP, Michellin lithion

[Mar 01, 2010]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Pretty supple for the durability, dual compound rubber (SiO2 -- softer on the outside for cornering; C based center tread -- better durability, but harder), high pressure capability 130 PSI

Weakness:

expensive (kinda), once they are old they will flat all the time (~2000 miles maybe?)

I've run these as front tires for two years with superb results. I ride them in the front because of the puncture resistance (GP4000 rear for sticky icky power response).

They really never flat until they are just totally worn out, low rolling resistance, and super grippy. I ride in a college town filled with broken bottles and gnarly potholes, I can see all the marks from glass in the tire, but still only 3 or 4 flats in the two years of abuse.

I have seriously ridden these in snow with success. I don't even know how many thousand miles I put on them, but they finally gave up and started getting flats from small stones and sand (lame).

Overall I would recommend these to anyone who needs a low resistance daily training tire. You CAN race them, but there are better, more supple tires for that. Excellent excellent excellent tire for daily training rides!

Trust me I ride the piss out of these tires and call them a success!

Similar Products Used:

GP 4000, Vittoria Rubino slick, race, and pro, Gatorskins, Specialized all season, bunch of other stuff I can't remember.

[Jan 16, 2010]
larry crook
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

great value!

Weakness:

none.

I have used this tire for 4yrs+ along w/ courchevel and vittorias. found hc's best for price- great ride, wear, rolling resistance and weight. cut issues and leaks are not this tires fault! great tire for all on budget wanting high performance tires.

Similar Products Used:

vittoria, michelin.

[May 30, 2009]
malikgp
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Nice smooth ride, great contact with the road, very fast, puncture resistant on gritty NYC streets

Weakness:

none so far.

I replaced the Specialized Tarmac Expert 2009's default tires (Specialized Mondo S-Works) with the Maxxis Xenith Hors last week.

Unlike the Mondo's which punctured at least once a week on NYC's gravel/glass/metal-laden streets, the Xenith Hors have rolled over all obstacles like a champ.

In addition, the rolling resistance of these tires are also significantly lower than the Mondo's. I'm able to sustain higher speeds and attack climbs much easier than before.

Lastly, while these tires have the puncture resistance I've experienced with Specialized Armadillo's, they are far less stiff and roll much easier. Definitely a must buy!

Similar Products Used:

Vittoria Rubino Pro
Specialized Mondo S-Works
Specialized Armadillos

[Sep 06, 2008]
Brian Frykman
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

best cornering traction, confident!

Weakness:

wears quickly at the expense of superb traction. they lasted a little over a month of very heavy use

put these on my bike to replace my continental 4000's after they had worn out. Installation was easy. First ride was shocking how grippy they were, actually picking up tiny grains of sand etc. In the corners they were perfect. Raced them in dry conditions on an 8 corner, technical criterium, and they felt great. I could lean in, be more aggressive in the corners and they felt fine! I would say this is a superb crit tire, but does wear quickly because of that

Similar Products Used:

Continental 4000 S, Michelin Pro 2, Kenda Kaliente(the worst).

[Jul 25, 2008]
drewmcg
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

ride; puncture resistance; grip; low rolling resistance; easy to fit over rim

Weakness:

quality control

Gave this tire a 5/5 last Aug ('07) based long-term use. Mounted a new one two days ago (to replace a different brand of tire that had shredded the day before), pumped up to 125lbps psi (rated to 130), and the tire blew (rear wheel) 8 miles into the first ride, on a clear, asphalt shoulder. Gash in tire casing required the dollar-bill trick to allow me to limp through the next 22 miles of the ride.

Similar Products Used:

several other Hors Categorie; Michelin Krylion; WTB Solera; Continetal GP3000

[Jun 25, 2008]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Strength:

Good looks, good feel.

Weakness:

puncture resistance.

I got these tires with my new bike and was stoked after looking them up on there website. They look cool and feel good on the road but I had a flat on my first ride about 12 miles out so I stopped and changed the tube which was really thin. I thought well maybe it was a pinch flat who knows. I went home and the next day or so when I went to go for another ride my front tire was flat from the same ride. Two flats in one ride. I have had tires go over a thousand miles with no flats. Anyway I changed out that thin tube so now I had two thicker tubes in both tires. I went and did a 42 mile charity ride a few days later and what do you know in the last 5 miles I got another flat. I don't want to buy new tires but these tires seem to be really sucky when it comes to puncher resistance. I have them on brand new Easton Vista SL wheels with rim tape. All I can say is I wanted to like the tires and will give them another chance but on the next flat they are going in the trash.

Similar Products Used:

GP 3000, Serfus secca, Michelin, Hutchinson's

[Jun 15, 2008]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Light weight and low rolling resistance. Very fast. I am fairly light at about 166 lbs

Weakness:

Not the best grip in hard cornering. After 1 year and about 3,000 miles, my rear tire developed a wear hole in the sidewall. Brake pad placement was fine and not rubbing tire. Weakened sidewall. I'm buying another set though.

Great riding tire. Feels super light on climbs. Nice 130 psi pressure. What a difference in feel versus my Michelin Krylium Carbon training tires.

Similar Products Used:

Vittoria Corsa EVO CX and KX. Michelin Krylium Carbon tires

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.