Michelin MEGAMIUM Tires - Clincher

DESCRIPTION

  • Double-action tread balances efficiency and grip
  • Two-tone tread rubber with black center,red outer with black shoulders
  • 33 tpi casing
  • Foldable bead or steel bead

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 13  
[Dec 20, 2020]
jeffbozo


OVERALL
RATING
4
Strength:

Very nice tire for the money. So far they have been puncture free (I ride through a lot of crap dodging traffic), provide plenty of grip, and they look nice on the bike.

Purchased:
Used  
[Sep 24, 2006]
Vitix2
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
Strength:

*Extremely low rolling resistance, which made it seem lighter than it actually is.
*Decent handling and adhension.
*Good looks.

Weakness:

*Very poor tread integrity

I've always had great luck with Michelins, and until Vredestein started being offered in a wide variety in the U.S. I swore by Michelins. In fact, I still do. However, I have been was disappointed in the flat protection offered by the Megamium 2s. I mounted the pretty blue version on my fix gear, which I generally use for off-season training and in-season power training. On my third ride, my rear Megamium was totally ruined by what looks like it should have been a relatively small glass puncture.

I've been riding 3,00 or so miles for about 17 years now, and I've never seen a tire (particularly a Michelin) become totally decimated by a small piece of glass. Of course, glass hit the wrong way is almost certain to result in a flat. However, the Megamiums totally crapped out. The tire slit about a half inch, and the few beads of wire/kevlar, or whatever the protective band under the tread is, it did little to stop the glass from penetrating all the way through to the tube. The glass did not just puncture the tire, it went all the way through the tire. Luckily I was only going about 10 mph as I approached a light, but I can only imagine how the tire would have destructed had I been rolling along at a decent clip. I realize that "glass happens". However, the hot knife through butter thing erroded my confidence in this tire.

After seeing how the tire handled the glass, as I was changing the tire, only then did I really get to look at the stuff between the outer tread and inner portion of the tire and see how flimsy it seemed.

Needless to say, I'm done with the Megamium. I don't ask much in the way of performance from tires that I mount on my training fix. Just that they are relatively stout, not ridiculously heavy, and have respectable grip. In fact, I usually look for discount ties because I have such few demands. Well, this is a case of being pennywise and pound foolish. Changing a flat on a fix is truly a pain in the arse, and since you can't stop as easily as you can on a freewheel road bike, you've got to have confidence that you can can at least ride a flat tire down to a reasonable speed.

On the flip side, it seemed lighter than it's advertised 260 grams, rolled like nobody's business, and was a good looking as tires go. The lack of rolling resistance was really exquisite.

Maybe it was just a freak incident, but I doubt it. Nevertheless, I don't have any confidence in the Megamiums and would advise you to beware.

Similar Products Used:

* Michelin Supercomp HD
* Vredestien Fortezza, Volante & Riccorso
* Panaracer Stradius & Cat 1
* Performance tires
* Vitorrias
* Continentals

[Jan 26, 2006]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Durability, flat resistance, grip, price

Weakness:

weight

These have been excellent tires. Very durable, very flat resistant and good grip. They are a little wider than most 700X23's. At 276g they are a little on the heavy side but not bad for a durable, trustworthy, training tire.

[Jan 10, 2006]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Good long distance training tire Good performance in cold and rain Good price, decent tire

Weakness:

They weigh more than zero, cost more than zero, get flats if you roll over nails, not pro level racing tires

I put one season on Megamium2, and just bought a replacement set- I like 'em. I'm riding 50-60 mile training rides with Century and Brevet goals- I'll trade some weight for smooth handling and reasonable durability. Megamium2 looks wider to me than rated, but they coast downhill as fast or faster than anyone I've met on the road. They are predictable in summer, rain, freezing rain, and below freezing. I ride good roads, but have noticed they will pick up debris in the rubber compound- so wipe it off after riding over crud. No flats so far (good luck plays in) but I have squared the rear tire off pretty well after about 2200 miles- no complaints about that!

Similar Products Used:

Vittoria tubulars

[Nov 24, 2005]
Mr. Versatile
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Low rolling resistance, flat resistance, smooth riding, high mileage, reasonably priced.

Weakness:

Heavy, very wide for a 23mm tire.

I like this tire. Although a bit heavy and wide for supposedly a 23, they roll easily & ride very well. I'm close to 200# & I easily get 2000 mi. out of a set. To be fair, I rotate them at about 1000-1200 miles. Grip is adequate, but not terrific. All in all...a great "all purpose" tire. In the last 7-8000 miles, I've had 1 flat.

Similar Products Used:

Continental GP, Michelin Pro Race, Michelin Carbon

[Aug 27, 2005]
smokva
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

-durable -puncture resistant -comfortable

Weakness:

-prone to cuts (but not through the threads) -heavy -wider than rated (this might be even strength)

I bought these as replacement for GP3000 and I'm an happy man since :) Megamium is an very durable clincher, you get many miles on them. Puncture protection is made exceptionaly well...I don't remember I have ever punctured one. I destroyed a sidewall on one when I hit the pathole at 40 kph...it was more an trench, workers were puting some cables....anyway I hit it very hard and seen it only a second before so I was able to lift the front end up. I think it would have broken my fork...it was some 30 cm deep. The rear I have destroyed had some 4000 km and it looked to be in it's first half of life. New rear has 3000 km and it is looking great too. I don't see how can one wear the front. These tires are on the heavy side but I don't care much about that. They are even something wider than rated...I think that 23 mm is more like 25 mm...something I didn't like at first, but now I'm glad it is so. Outside (top) layer is prone to cuts as others already reported but doesn't get through the threads. Local roads where i ride are in extremely bad condition...many patholes, debris, glass...but no problem for Megamium. I have 90-95 kg and keep tham at 8,5 bars.

Similar Products Used:

Continental GP3000

[Apr 05, 2005]
bigsprinter
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

**CHEAP. I don't like to pay more for my bike tires than I do for my car tires. **Very puncture resistant. I weigh 195 pounds and very, very seldom get a flat with these tires. **Durable. With my weight, I can burn through many tires on the back wheel. Not these, they hold up exceptionally well.

Weakness:

**Don't ride as well as higher-end tires with more supple casings. **a bit heavy, but not too bad with the kevlar bead. **rubber is pretty soft. Even though glass and debris rarely makes its way through the casing, it chews up the rubber pretty well.

Great Training tire for the $$, especially if you hate flats.

Similar Products Used:

Continental GPs, Michelin Pro Race, Specialized Pros.

[Jan 21, 2005]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Durable, long lasting. Inexpensive.

Weakness:

No special weaknesses for what they are designed for---training.

I went to these from Continentals and have never regreted it. Main use is as a training tire. I weigh 170 lbs and averege about more than 5,000 miles per year. I do not rotate tires. The front tire now has about 5,000 miles on it with plenty left. The rear tires last me about 2,000 miles---perhaps they could go more, but they are pretty worn by then so I change them to be safe. I have had 2 flats with these--one from a nail, and one from a very small piece of flint in a very worn rear tire. Wet weather grip is adequate, though not the best. Cornering is again adequate, but not really race level. They seem to ride hard compared to Contis, but last longer than any comparable Conti I have used. Nice tire for training and long rides.

Similar Products Used:

Continental 2000, Conti 3000, Specialized.

[Sep 22, 2004]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Strength:

Well made

Weakness:

"Understeer"

My first ever folding tyre. Once I figured out how to get it looking like it might actually fit on the rim I was impressed with the build quality. It seems tough enough though not particularly light. It was easy to fit and gives a reasonable ride but perhaps a little harsher than I am used to. My first time out on it and the roads were wet but it wasn't raining.I didn't feel safe on it taking corners at speed. It always felt like the front was running wide like understeer on a car.

Similar Products Used:

IRC Triathlon, Conti gp3000

[Aug 11, 2004]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Flat Resistance Price Weight is reasonable for training

Weakness:

Squeaky Not very grippy

Overall, this is an excellent training tire. Cornering and grip is not great (although I have used them in crits and had no trouble with sliding out), but the flat resistance is incredible. I ride on some pretty crappy roads, and I've only had one flat, which I think was because of the rim, not the tire.

Similar Products Used:

Vittoria, Bontrager

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.