Vittoria Action HSD Tires - Clincher

DESCRIPTION

Fine file tread. For racing.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 19  
[Mar 27, 2021]
jeffbozo


OVERALL
RATING
4
Strength:

Price, colors, durability, hold pressure to 135psi

Purchased:
Used  
[Apr 21, 2008]
nathan
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

durable and predictable

Weakness:

none - maybe a bit heavy, more resistance

These have been very durable for the 1500 miles i've put on them, i even won a race with them. I always felt safe with them going on long rides and long downhill sections with sustained speeds of 30-40mph. I think i had one flat from a thorn on the back tire.

Similar Products Used:

maxxis hors categorie

[Oct 03, 2007]
Kelly Augustine
Triathlete

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Strength:

Seemed to grip ok on decents. Since I live in Phoenix, I never had the opportunity to try out on wet streets.

Weakness:

Durability. Rear tire developed sidewall tear after less than 200 miles

Since I am relatively new to the world of cycling and triathlons, I can't comment on all of the properties of a road tire. However, I have only riden on these pieces of junk for less than 200 miles and I've already had a flat on the front and the back tire has a nice tear on the sidewall along the entire circumference.

[Jan 21, 2007]
Harbear
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

Seemed durable. No flats.

Weakness:

Sluggish. Noisy.

These sluggish sides of ham came with my 2005 Felt 60 (NOS). Halfway into my rides I would look back to see if rear tire was flat or losing air. The road noise was worse than a Fiat x19. Changed out to Vredestein Fortezza Roads and will review after I've logged some miles. I've had Vittorias before but thos product is a dud.

Similar Products Used:

Panaracer. Vittoria. Vredestein. Michelin and from the gool ol' days, Inouye Rubber Company.

[Sep 21, 2005]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

No punctures in the little riding I've done on them.

Weakness:

Rubber cracked all along sidewall and tread starting to seperate from the casing. Less than 200 miles and they are going in the garbage.

These tires came stock on my Felt F65, I've put about 150 miles on them and they are all cracked along the casing right below the tread. In fact, it looks like the tread is starting to come off the casing in some spots. I have some Michelins coming today and I will be scraping these tires. My LBS agrees that they need to be replaced and they have ordered a similar OEM quality tire for me but it hasn't come in yet. I'll probably just use those as spares.

Similar Products Used:

Vittoria Rubino Pro

[Oct 11, 2004]
cjohnson12144
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Extremely durable.

Weakness:

I don't corner hard on descents, so I don't know how these slicks grip in those conditions.

These 25c tires came stock with my Bianchi Strada. More than 3000k later, they're just beginning to show signs of serious wear. Very smooth, low resistance, only one puncture flat in all that time (I've had a couple of stem blowouts, though).

[Oct 09, 2003]
Jeff
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

These tires had a strengh?

Weakness:

read the text

These are stock on My Bianchi and felt ok going down the road but if you have ridden lighter tires you can tell the difference in weight when climbing or accelerating. They also wear poorly, there are areas the tread had split and they get a real bad flat spotin the contact area in about 1000 miles. I am 146lbs and run 110psi. At this weight you can certainly get a better wearing tire. I will be hunting for axial pros they gave me outstanding service on my other Bianchi, 3500 miles and still running them with NO flats!

Similar Products Used:

michelin,irc,bontrager

[Jun 10, 2003]
egimondi
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Strength:

Rides nice when inflated.

Weakness:

The "Puncture Resistance Belt" is actually a punt recruiting belt.

400 miles, 5 flats on roads and greenways. Incredibly similar experience as other Vigorelli owner in this section (gash in rear, front sidewall showing signs of stress, even 100 psi). Considering the very positive reviews from some written in 2000-2001, I wonder if the rubber in these simply doesn't age well, making remaining stock not a good deal at any price (and not worth replacing with same tire).

Similar Products Used:

Generally, Nashbar closeout tires (which I've had amazing luck with)

[Jun 21, 2002]
Americano
Commuter

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Good flat resistance. Predictable grip.

Weakness:

Center flattening, tread separation at 1300 miles

Grippy, predictable, and fairly durable tire. These tires came on my new bike that I received in January, and actually held up pretty well for 5 months. I put about 1300 miles on them in this time mostly commuting to work. But had to replace them last night because the tread had begun to separate on the rear tire. The rear tire did become somewhat flat in the middle about 500 or 600 miles ago. My commute goes through an area where there frequently broken glass, but I never got one flat in either tire during the whole 1300 miles. There were several nicks and cuts but that is to be expected if riding through glass frequently. I don't race so I can't comment on them from that perspective. But I can be somewhat aggressive for a recreational rider. The tires never once did loose traction in a turn. I've pushed them through some corners pretty fast at some pretty good lean angles and always felt confident. My commute is along the bike path at the beach where sand is a common occurance. They always were very predictable.

[Jun 17, 2002]
BartN
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

Look nice

Weakness:

Tear in sidewall after 30 miles

Maybe I am just unlucky, but these tires came on the new road bike I bought two days ago, and they have both been replaced. The rear tire was cut by a piece of glass after 25 mile on the very first ride. OK, that happens. However, after 6 miles on the next ride the sidewall of the front tire tears. As I said, maybe just unlucky, but two new tires in 30 miles, one with a tear in the sidewall?

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.